We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with professional staffs”
Review of Pullman Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman Hanoi
Ranked #101 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Good location with professional staffs. Worth to stay either for business purpose or leisure purpose. Executive is good but it would be better if it could provide Heineken also. It is a bit pity that there is nil Heineken there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pullmanhotels.com
1  Thank Kanokpong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullman-Hanoi, General Manager at Pullman Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Kanokpong,

Thank you very much for your recent review to Pullman Hanoi on tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you have a good impression to our professional staff & our location, especially when you mentioned that our hotel is a place for either business or leisure purpose.

We seriously took note on your comment on the Executive Lounge services and we will have a deep insight on how to continuously upgrade the quality of service as well as the Food & Beberage offering there.

Thank you for choosing us as your venue while visiting Hanoi and allow us to have another chance to welcome you back.

Until occassion permits.

Yours sincerely,

Pieter de Weerd
General Manager
Pullman Hanoi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
There are newer reviews for Pullman Hanoi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

These guys have a note in the room asking to let people know about their hotel on trip advisor...I have no idea why. This is by far the worst hotel I have ever had the misfortune of staying in, for the following reasons.
1. Bag lost by concierge, it's our fault for not checking even though we were ushered straight into the hotel lobby.
2. Fridge and air con didn't work. Janitor was sent up to fix, spoke no English and grunted and gestured it was fine (it wasn't).
3. Pool staff unfriendly and there were no clean towels on the sun lounges. After our swim we were told we had to hand the towels back in there and couldn't take them to our room so it was a long and uncomfortable trip up to our room in the lift in our swimmers.
4. Toilet overflowed and we were moved to executive suite. It was exactly the same as our previous room with the addition of an executive lounge. When we went to visit said lounge we were turned away (rather embarrassingly as it was full of people at the time). There is even a note above our bar fridge saying please feel free to visit the lounge if you require anything.
Don't bother wasting your money, DO NOT STAY HERE! This is not a 5 star hotel, and I can't believe they can call them selves one. Trust me, this is a no go .

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullman-Hanoi, General Manager at Pullman Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Dan R,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Pullman Hanoi. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Pullman we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

The note in the room and also on our own Accorhotel.com reservation website asking to write a feedback on Tripadvisor is part of our reviewing system. It is a good tool to monitor where we must improve, and we therefore must accept that some of them might be harsh to read.

The doorman team has been reminded to be more careful with luggage as he must be aware that some of our guests are tired as they travelled a long way, and he must take charge of their luggage issues and make sure all items are accounted for.

As for the Air-Conditioning issue, we are very sorry to hear that it was not working as well as you could expect in such a hotel. As in many hotels in Hanoi, some of our technicians unfortunately do not speak proper English and we have recommended them to ask the assistance of another staff member more fluent in English when helping guests so there is no misunderstanding.

I have raised your comment to the pool team regarding their behavior and trust they will be friendlier in the future. I am convinced it is again more a English language matter, and based on your comments we have implemented a new procedure so that now guests can go back to their room with the pool towels.

Following the toilet issue, my colleagues of the front desk wanted to do a nice gesture and upgrade you to a Suite room to provide you with more facilities and a larger space to stay. Since it was a complimentary upgrade, they got confused as the Lounge access is reserved for guests booking Excecutive Rooms.

I do agree this is a fairly embarrassing situation and following your feedback, we have decided that all guests staying in an Executive Room being from now on will be entitled to the lounge benefit, regardless if it is an upgrade or not, hoping to avoid future disappointment.

Once again we are sorry that we could not deliver a service up to your expectations and would like to thank you for your comments which have helped us to emphasize points to work on and take the necessary actions to improve our guests stay.

We trust that you can experience some changes on the above mentioned issues should you give us another opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

We hope your next visit will be more pleasant than the previous one, we wish you safe travels.

Thank you very much and with best regards from Hanoi.

Pieter de Weerd
General Manager
Pullman Hanoi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This was our last stop on our 2 week honeymoon in Vietnam and it couldn't have possibly ended more terribly!
We have never been more disappointed!
It is marginally better today since day one, so I guess the Pullman Hanoi is lucky that we wrote this on day 4 and not day 1, and if we had not paid for our accommodation prior to arrival we would have left! I'm sure that if we hadn't paid prior to our arrival we would have been treated a lot better, but they already have our money!

1. We arrived by a transfer and the concierge were there straight away, which was lovely, they wouldn't let us near the car or our bags but then blamed us when there was a bag missing and said we should have checked the car and it wasn't their fault, this was a minimal issue and they in turn were very apologetic and for the next 3 days were very attentive to us. In the end, the concierge were this hotels saving grace!!!!!

2. Housekeeping laughed at my request of tweezers or where I could buy them! We showed them in our Vietnamese phrase book to make sure we were talking about the same item and she laughed again! We didn't say anything as it wasn't an issue, but it did upset me!

3. The 'engineer' was sent up to our room as the fridge wasn't working. We'd had stuff in there for over 2 hours and they were still hot. He arrived, said it was fine and stormed out! Again, we left the issue and hoped it would get better.

4. On the first use of the toilet in our room it overflowed spilling poo! We know this wasn't our fault as we hadn't used the toilet prior to this! By this stage we'd had enough!
We had only been in the hotel about 3 hours! I was in tears as this was our 'splurge' hotel on our honeymoon as it being a 5 star hotel!

We went to reception, they apologized and said they'd upgrade our room and give us some complimentary fruit. They upgraded us to the executive room. The room was exactly the same but we have an executive lounge to visit anytime and we were grateful not to have poo on the bathroom floor.

Then there was an issue with the air conditioning. Again, they sent the 'engineer' and he said maybe the filter was dirty and hopefully it will be fixed, 2 days later the air con is set on 5 degrees (by the engineer) and it's still 25 degrees in the room. At this point we can't even be bothered to complain.

Finally, on our last night, we thought we'd visit this executive lounge that we were told we could visit at any point if we needed anything, to be rejected upon arrival, citing our room was not privy to the use of the 'executive lounge'. I'm guessing the note in our room directing us to the lounge should be ignored! By this point we are so done with this hotel, there is no point in even telling them.

There were 3 positive things at the Pullman, so I must mention them as it wasn't all negative!
- the rooms are a good size and are clean
- the concierge were attentive and helpful
- the bar staff were friendly

But in all honesty, we can't wait to check out and we would never ever stay at a Pullman hotel again, we would never recommend anyone to stay at this Pullman hotel! This hotel has absolutely ruined the final few days of our honeymoon and it has soured our last few days in Vietnam!

I have stayed in so many hotels for both business & pleasure and many in the Accor group of hotels, but have never had an experience like this! Generally would notch it up to a bad experience, but there was just too many issues to not say something this time and warn those thinking about staying here.

So as per your request to let everyone know about our stay on Trip Advisor, here it is! If you are coming here for enjoyment, to celebrate or for any other reason than business! don't waste your money! DONT EVER STAY HERE!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
8  Thank MrsRendogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullman-Hanoi, General Manager at Pullman Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear MrsRendogg,

First of all, thank you very much for your detailed comments toward Pullman Hanoi subsequent to your stay with us.

Our sincere apologies that our quality of service did not meet your expectation, especially that was on your special occassion of honeymoon.

Concierge: We are glad that our Concierge has given a good impression to you. Meanwhile we have had a reminder to them that more attentive to details should be reinforced.

Housekeeping: We are so sorry that our Housekeeping did not answer correctly your request. Please kindly understand that this is only a matter of their limited professional English. Taking the point, we are going to have English training in a short distance future.

Engineering: We apology that the fridge & air conditioning system did not work well as you expected in such our hotel. We have an internal meeting with the team and they were reminded to be more attentive to guests' need and request. As always, they should have clearly explained the situation and the solution in order to keep guests assured that the incident was properly fixed.

Bathroom: Our sincere & deepest apologies for the issue. Our Housekeeping & Engineering were seriously reminded on the case to prevent such incident from happening in the future.

With regards to the Upgrade, I do agree this is fairly embarrassing situation. Following your feedback, we have decided that all guests staying in Executive rooms from now on will be entitle to fully enjoy Executive Lounge's benefits, regardless if it is an upgrade or not.

MrsRendogg, thank you very much anyway for your positive notes on our rooms, concierge and bar staff.

Again, we are so sorry for all the happening that you have clashed. We believe that you can experience the changes on above-mentioned issues should you give another chance to welcome you back.

Thank you very much for taking time to let us know your throught on Pullman Hanoi and until occassion permits.

Yours sincerely,

Pieter de Weerd
General Manager
Pullman Hanoi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

As we were tourists in Hanoi, I thought I might regret my choice of hotel, away from the French Quarter, but we found the relative quiet of the area, after a day's sightseeing, to be very welcome. The best points of this hotel? Two very helpful concierges at the front entrance, a comfortable bed, good bathroom and the room service menu was varied, well-prepared, reasonably priced and served promptly. The breakfast buffet is unimaginative but copious, but the thing we repeatedly had problems with was getting black tea bags for our morning cuppa! On arrival we found only one English tea bag, so I phoned up for more, thinking it must have been a housekeeping error. English tea bags arrived promptly, plus the usual number of all the other flavours; the next day same thing - only one English tea bag, but by now we had lots of bags of flavoured tea. It's a small thing to complain about, but it didn't seem to be accidental and I wonder why English tea is so precious?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolJ436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullman-Hanoi, General Manager at Pullman Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear CarolJ436,

Thank you for taking time to write about Pullman Hanoi on tripadvisor.

We are glad to know you have had enjoyable time in our hotel, considering your positive notes on the hotel's quiet surrounding area, the helpful concierges, the comfortable bed, the bathroom and the quick and well-prepared room services.

We also take note and appreciate your comment on the tea offering in rooms; and will discuss internally to make it more variant.

CarolJ436, again, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pullman Hanoi and allow us to have another chance welcoming you back when occassion permits.

With very best regards from Hanoi.

Pieter de Weerd
General Manager
Pullman Hanoi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here at the end of our holiday for two nights before we flew out. We had an upgrade but the aircon was stuck on 26 so we were moved to another room which was fine. It's a taxi ride to where the action is for shopping. All the shops around the hotel were hardware shops. We did walk to Koto restaurant which was great and the temples weren't too far. The bed was a classic Pullman bed, very comfy. The internet was good and the breakfast extensive. We swam in the pool too. All in all a good choice for a business trip but I would stay in the old town for atmosphere.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ang1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullman-Hanoi, General Manager at Pullman Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Ang1965,

Thank you very much for taking time writing about us on tripadvisor.

It is great to receive such a positive feedback, with your special notes on the Pullman bed, the internet and the extensive breakfast.

However we apologise for the air conditioner incident. We will have an internal discussion with our Engineering department to avoid this case happen in the future.

Ang1965, thank you very much for your review and we look forward to welcoming back when you have an occasion to visit Hanoi again.

Yours sincerely,

Pieter de Weerd
General Manager
Pullman Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pullmanhotels.com
1  Thank KenS014
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pullman-Hanoi, General Manager at Pullman Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I was there in business. This was my first time staying in pullman Hanoi and was impressive with the hotel staff. Everyone was very friendly and best of all, the room was big. Buffet spread was fantastic. The only setback was that I had the same buffet spread for continously 4 days and I get slightly sick of it on the last day. But the food do taste good.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thamfelicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullman-Hanoi, General Manager at Pullman Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear thamfelicia,

Thank you for your recent review toward Pullman Hanoi on tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure to receive such a positive feedback on our services. I will share your comments to my colleagues at the hotel and believe that it will serve as an encouragement to all of us.

Regarding the buffet, we will have a discussion with our Executive Chef so that the buffet can be upgraded to have larger variety.

Thank you very much again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Pieter de Weerd
General Manager
Pullman Hanoi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
1.3 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#69 of 598 in Hanoi
1,865 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#79 of 598 in Hanoi
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hanoi Daewoo Hotel
Hanoi Daewoo Hotel
#107 of 598 in Hanoi
391 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#42 of 598 in Hanoi
722 reviews
1.5 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#70 of 598 in Hanoi
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Hanoi

Address: 40 Cat Linh Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Horison Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £67 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within close proximity to government, diplomatic and business offices and a 10 minute drive to the traditional charm of Old Hanoi the hotel’s location provides easy access to discover the city. The Pullman Hanoi offers guests a choice of 242 recently refurbished rooms with the Signature Pullman bedding in Deluxe and Executive rooms, an all day dining restaurant and bar. Comprehensive meeting facilities for up to 700 delegates, a 24hr Fit Lounge and complimentary WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Prestigia, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing