We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centre of Hanoi”
Review of De Syloia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Syloia Hotel
Ranked #178 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Centre of Hanoi”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This subtle hotel is obviously popular with respectable locals who frequent the dining room. This is not surprising as the standard is very high and the service is elegant. The rooms are spacious, well presented and everything expected from the website. The streets around bustle with energy but are not challenging. As a party of twelve we were looked after in every way with total professionalism.

Room Tip: Try to get a more quiet room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reawla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    62
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
23
16
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This is a most comfortable, welcoming hotel. Because we were transiting through Hanoi on our travels, we had several stays over a short period. We booked directly with the hotel and had professional helpful replies. One of our group had flight problems and needed to stay at short notice and was immediately assisted. The hotel reception staff are outstanding and reflect the overall quality of the management of this attractive place.

Rooms are large and comfortable. The slightly more expensive rooms are very large with a pleasant sitting area. Breakfasts are good with a nice variety on offer.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris-AU2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

If you walk along the street you will probably overlook it. But you should pay attention.
A very nice hotel - excellent value for the money.
I had a very large and nice room, luxurious for the price. Location is very good: walking distance from the Opera House (500 m south).
Breakfast is also good: the coffeeshop is really cosy.

Room Tip: I had a front room in the top floor, and that was an excellent choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Out_of_Saigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed here for about two weeks recently. This is an excellent hotel based on room quality and price. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, as well as well maintained. The double paned glass keeps the place very quiet. The street in front of the hotel is not so crowded and very easy to cross (unlike another review reported). My only complaints are that the elevator seems very slow, although there probably isn't much they can do about it. The breakfast buffet is not great, and not much to keep you happy after the first day. Also, the layout of the eating area is a bit "unique". However, as one of Hanoi's first high quality hotels, it is amazing that it has held up so well - a real testament to the quality of the management and concept. I would easily stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
386 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Spent three nights during two stays here, the rooms are wonderful, you get fresh fruit and a fresh rose on the bed with chocolate. The bathroom is enormous. Soft drinks as a welcome reception. Large breakfast. Excellent in-house restaurant with live music.
The staff at reception are most helpful for whatever you need, they'll get things organised for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Hotel staff are friendly, helpful and provide great service. The rooms are clean and tidy and pretty spacious for Hanoi.
Restaurant downstairs is extremely popular and provides breakfast - we've also had dinner there a couple of times.
The ONLY drawback is that the suite we requested with a balcony (and was confirmed), does not actually have a balcony - none of the rooms do. However, for us smokers, there is the roof-top terrace - a very pretty area looking out towards the Opera Quarter.
Also has a good little exercise room - with a treadmill (pretty good one) and a electronic bicycle to work off the lovely meals.

This hotel really comes up trumps when compared to other hotels in Hanoi in the same OR higher price-range. I looked at several hotels in the past few days to see if I could get a balcony suite - in all of them, the balcony space takes away from the room space, so the De Syloia really is the best one for us. We will definitely stay here again when back later this year.

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet. The slight drawback is the location - close to the Opera House area, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryCleary_1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

What a wonderful welcome to our SE Asian trip. The room was excellent and very comfortable, staff extremely helpful and friendly with very good English.
We loved the breakfasts and the evening meals were amazingly exciting for us, fresh from the UK.
The lovely reception staff helped to arrange our many trips and travel arrangements. They even escorted us to a local pharmacy to help buy a specialist bandage.
We used this lovely hotel as our base for our travels in Northern Vietnam and it felt each time as if we were returning home. We would recommend the De Syloia very highly indeed.

Room Tip: All rooms we used were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
May de Ville City Centre
May de Ville City Centre
#190 of 586 in Hanoi
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#83 of 586 in Hanoi
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lenid Hanoi Hotel
Lenid Hanoi Hotel
#250 of 586 in Hanoi
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Lapis Hotel
The Lapis Hotel
#123 of 586 in Hanoi
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
#135 of 586 in Hanoi
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Syloia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Syloia Hotel

Property: De Syloia Hotel
Address: 17A Tran Hung Dao | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Syloia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your De Syloia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Syloia Hanoi
Hotel De Syloia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing