We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in central Hanoi”
Review of Galaxy Hotel Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Galaxy Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #267 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 7 November 2011

The key positive regarding the Galaxy is its central location. You are walking distance from everything worth seeing in the centre of this fascinating city. If you came to the hotel for the food, room size or the internet, you're missing the point. Breakfasts are fine, then you go out and explore this great city. Food like you've never experienced before, history like you never got in school, the list goes on...

Love the traffic. Every time you cross the street you take your life in your hands, but somehow you survive. Always remember, these are the people who took on the United States, Australia, and a few other countries, and won.

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PsychOMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

Be aware do not stay at the Galaxy, staff do not speak english the rooms are dirty and smell of sour food the bed linen is dirty white not white and clean the carpet is stained in the room there is nothing in the room except 1 sachet of coffee and tea 1 shampoo and 1 soap if you want anything it cost such as sugar, and when we arrived we ate in the cafe as there restraunt was closed and the sandwich we ordered had mould on the crust and when we advised them they just simply cut of the crust and gave us back the sandwich we advised them we did not want the sandwich we still had to pay for the sandwich which cost $12.00 US the staff was not helpful when we asked where anything was they were unable to give any advise the breakfast was uneatable it was the worst hotel we have stayed in only lobby and rooms airconditioned and when we asked how much something was before we orderd we were told a price but when we had to pay it cost more such as a beer or a drink DO NOT STAY AT THE GALAXY

Room Tip: the rooms were dirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne40007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

The Galaxy has a great location, but not much else. Rooms are small and we had trouble with the Internet. Breakfast is not geared towards Americans and was OK, at best. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We would look for something different next time in Hanoi.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donandbobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

> Large rooms in good condition - the one we had was a little dark
> Noisey road outside
> Decoration was a little tired
> Helpfully staff - very "business like"
> It had computers we could use for the internet however they charged 1000VND per minute

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Stayed here three nights (booked by tour company). The first night we had twin beds in a small room. After doing an overnight on Ha Long Bay we went back to the Galaxy and got a larger deluxe room. The accommodations are acceptable but the key to the cabinet containing the safe costs $1US/night and when I asked for a map of the area around the hotel I was told it would cost 11,000dvn, not exactly great customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jerrya94501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Nice hotel with a great location in the Old Quarter. Had a large, clean and well equipped room overlooking the Hanoi traffic - the picture window provided a great introduction to the beehive that are Hanoi streets. Across from the hotel was a park that also provided a myriad of local activity going on constantly. Breakfast was basic, not as good as most others in our stay in Vietnam & Cambodia. Staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjb30b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The hotel was a standard hotel. Nothing spectacular stands out about the hotel. I guess I could say they provided a free buffet breakfast, and they were within walking distance to all the "Old Quarter" sites. The hotel was clean, staff were friendly, restaurant had good food. It was a little pricy in my opinion ($90/night with all taxes), but not outrageous for the location.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ems622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.3 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#96 of 599 in Hanoi
2,341 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel Hanoi

Address: 1 Phan Dinh Phung St. | No 1 Phan Dinh Phung Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £37 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Galaxy Hotel Hanoi 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Galaxy Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Galaxy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing