We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Interesting”

Fine Arts Museum (Bao Tang My Thuat)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$68.00*
and up
Half-Day Hanoi Motorbike Tour
More Info
US$64.00*
and up
Half-Day Hanoi City Tour by Scooter
More Info
US$87.50*
and up
Private Full-Day Hanoi City Tour
Ranked #21 of 277 things to do in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum was opened in 1966. Though in need of updating, some interesting artifacts are on display in its three floors organized chronologically.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Always Interesting”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This was my 4th visit to Hanoi in 7 years and each time I have visited this Museum. It's in a rambling old French villa and has lots of fine exhibits. The museum shop which is a little hard to find is well worth looking for/buying at.
At $1 (20KDong) this is a bargain and being very close to Craftlink, KOTO and the Temple of Literature all in Van Mieu makes a lovely day out.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beaumaris32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    362
    108
    15
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Surprising museum”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Quite a surprise to find such a good fine arts museum. Well worth a visit, and close to the Opera House.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Second half was much better (in my opinion)”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I loved the second part of the gallery with the painting and carvings made from different materials. It was unique and the gallery was in an attractive building. The first part didn't really interest me, more contemporary.

Is it worth a visit?.... Yes, but not if time is limited.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cluelessduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walt Disney World, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Art Museum”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

A very comprehensive collection of Vietnamese art, from ancient to present times. Many different media are represented - painting, sculpture, posters, etc.

The Fine Arts Museum is across from Van Mieu (Temple of Literature) and the two can be combined, although that would make for a tiring day. Or, save this for an impossibly hot or rainy day. If you're visiting in the summer you'll have your pick of both!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank msinwdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“must-see if you're in Hanoi and you love art”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I really enjoyed visiting this museum. There was so much amazing art in there across the entire span of Vietnam's history. I was really impressed, not only by how gorgeous much of the art was, but also how unusual and unique to Vietnam. There were many images combining imagery of both war and nature. A few soldiers crossing a small footbridge in a huge steamy green jungle, for example. Another popular theme was the inclusion of modern elements in what seems at first to be a very traditional painting. Village scenes scattered with communist flags. Fishermen casting nets with freighters and smokestacks in the background. I especially loved the lacquer engraving and lacquer painting in the main building. The use of color and composition by Vietnamese artists is spectacular. It reminded me a lot of Klee, one of my favorite artists.

I would have to agree with some of the reviewers who commented on what a shame it was that the building itself is probably not very kind to the art. It didn't appear to be very well climate- or humidity-controlled. Also, the official policy is no photos at all, without the museum director's express consent. I really wish they at least allowed photos without flash. There was so much art I loved and would like to remember. They didn't seem to be enforcing the policy very strongly though, so if you have a camera with a discreet setting, you should be able to quietly sneak in a few shots.

There is a cafe on the premises, but I didn't get a chance to check it out. Also free lockers next to the ticket window. Tickets 20,000 dong. Quite a bargain! I might go back to check out their applied art exhibit since I didn't have time to view that. Which reminds me...they started kicking people out as early as 4:45pm, even though closing time is supposed to be 5pm.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank nlgenxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fine Arts Museum (Bao Tang My Thuat) also viewed

 

Been to Fine Arts Museum (Bao Tang My Thuat)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing