We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy Market”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dong Xuan Market

Dong Xuan Market
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.00*
and up
Morning Tour of Hanoi
Ranked #75 of 276 things to do in Hanoi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Though not quite the same since a devastating fire in 1994, this famous market is nevertheless a landmark trading post.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Busy Market”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had our bikes so make sure you have a chain and padlock and remember we're you left them as the market is very busy, I used to visit Hanoi on business and just love the place, everyone is so friendly, a bike is a must try and go with the flow of traffic, but keep your eyes looking ahead never look backwards regardless as others will move away from you from behind, best rule I found.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    99
    170
    69
    35
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An experience of real Vietnam, not 'tourist Vietnam'”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

After reading the reviews below I changed my plans and decided not to visit the market but by chance we ended up in its territory yesterday so we decided to take a look. I'm glad we did. A busy and bustling place filled to the brim of all sorts of goods.
I believe that when you travel away from home it is to immerse yourself in the life and culture of the destination. The tourists below clearly dont share this ambition and have clearly come to Vietnam with their eyes closed. If younwant to experience the sights and smells of Vietnam then visit the market. Dont go to the people's market and expect it to be just like the very comfortable 5 star hotel you just left.
those who complain that it is a wholesale market - it is - and if you had read the text above then you would have known that.
Personally it is nice to go to an area of Hanoi selling something different not aimed at tourists.
Recommended for an hour's excursion - if you are not a pompous tourist that is....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank yummycustard22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Star707, Sydney
Level Contributor
435 reviews
174 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 797 helpful votes
“We were warned!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Because we were staying at a top end hotel, we didn't give much credence to the warning that this "Walking Market" was just a series of streets of stalls offering pretty tacky and poorly constructed goods. We thought they just wanted us to buy things from the hotel boutique. We arrived soon after dark when they put up the barricades that said Walking Street. The motor bike riders simply ignored these signs with as much contempt as they rode through red lights in the rest of the city. So the first barrier to deal with was the safety issue. We hadn't found our 'Hanoi feet' when we undertook this outing. So now we had motor bikes in restricted walking environments and a range of poor goods to deal with. It seems that the sellers were not that interested in entering into the socially stimulating practice of bargaining, or at best were half-hearted about it. We were so relieved when it started to look like rain. The sellers started to erect tarpaulins and do battle with the wind that had risen. This made us feel better about grabbing the first cab and heading back to our hotel where we holed up, having first grabbed a bottle of French Merlot, a Baguette, some Brie and sliced ham off the bone. There are just some travel attractions that need to be be allowed to mature in the bottle for longer before consumed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Star707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
445 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Real disappointment”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Having walked through the Old Quarter we stopped by to purchase some flip flops for the kids. Got nowhere haggling and the prices were over-the-top. Never been to a market in the Far East were there has been so little interest in selling anything. In fact that was the thing we noticed most about Hanoi. Eventually bought some flip flops on the street for the same amount as the market. Doing any shopping? Wait until you're out of the city.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhilandRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Arriving Hanoi/hotel around 9am and our train to Lao cai was at 8pm so decided to kill some time visiting Dong xuan market since most of the other attractions were closed on Monday. Tried asking the stall owners for the price of an item and getting a reply of "no sell". Decided to leave as there was nothing to do there. Found out later they only sell in bulk, so if you wanna buy stuff just dont bother to go and do your shopping at the many shops around old quarter.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank eva865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dong Xuan Market also viewed

 

Been to Dong Xuan Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing