We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very restricted”

Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.00*
and up
Half-Day Historical Sites Tour of Hanoi
More Info
US$68.00*
and up
Half-Day Hanoi Food Tour by Motorbike
More Info
US$50.00*
and up
Half-Day Hanoi Motorbike Tour
Ranked #22 of 277 things to do in Hanoi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Every year many thousands of respectful citizens and tourists visit the final resting place of the country’s most notable historic figure.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, USA
Level 6 Contributor
459 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Very restricted”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

While the mausoleum itself is impressive, the ritual and constant reminders to keep your hands out of your pockets and keep your hats off detracted from the spectacle.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mikesflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,080 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,386
    3,167
    2,031
    338
    158
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“A piece of history”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We visted here early one morning and in all honesty did not have to queue very long. Whilst in the queue though we noticed a young girl sweeping up leaves and if one was to fall this was quickly dealt with - the grounds were emaculate and lovely to look at whilst waiting. Obviously this monument is very well guarded and you have to be so careful as you have to 'cover up' arms and not wear shorts above the knee. Went entering you are not allowed to speak and must keep moving which is watched over by the guards - all very smart in their white uniforms. Once inside you file past the body of 'Uncle Ho' but you are not allowed to stop for a second as you are ushered on. I found the experience to be very moving although regimented. Afterwards we walked around the grounds and then made our way to the one pillar pagoda. Well worth a visit as it's history that we remember.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Impresive”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

It is a huge place in a huge square. If you want to visit it you must come in the early morning. I met a man who offered me the posibility to go with him in his motorbike to show me and explain me about the history of Hanoi especially related with the US war, for 6 dolar I had a greatexperience for 2 hours

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pablo G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So-So Cal
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Grand and Ghoulish”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Come, comrades, and see the remains of our Dear Uncle Ho, laid to rest atop the grand mausoleum for triumphantly imposing his vision of Communist rule on one and all. Never mind he caused the deaths of millions of his countrymen in the process. This is typical of the hero-worship displays of totalitarian regimes throughout the world. Hey, he’s dead, and if you’re going to see him – stuffed and displayed like a trophy fish – you’re not. That’s about the best that can be said for this Halloween House of Horrors.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mvdljca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Part of any visit to Hanoi”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

You got to see Uncle Ho, but expect to walk around a lot and get directed on prescribed routes, plus no pictures. The museum on site is not worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing