We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple and humble”

Ho Chi Minh Presidential Palace Historical Site
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45.00*
and up
Private Hanoi Full-Day City Tour with Cyclo Ride
Ranked #22 of 276 things to do in Hanoi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Ho Chi Minh opted to live in this modest wooden house rather than the opulent Presidential Palace.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Simple and humble”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Simplicity and not the kind of residence I picture it to be. No wonder he was loved by his people. A place for all to visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TippyLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    804
    1,245
    632
    78
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We spent a very hot afternoon walking around the entire complex of HCM Mausoleum, Museum and Residence. Of all these things I would recommend the Residence as the best place to spend some time. The grounds are shaded and beautiful. There is not a whole ton to see here, but it is worth hanging out in the shade and checking out the well manicured grounds.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulhouse
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good insight as how lived Uncle Ho”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Various buildings where Ho Chi Minh lived and worked from 1954 until 1969. It reflects the simplicity and the humility of Ho Chi Minh. It is a good example for Vietnamese also. The parc is beautiful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne-catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ An interesting exhibit of how this powerful man chose to live. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

It was an eye opener into the humble beginnings of a man who was so powerful and influential in Vietnamese life for so many years.

Helpful?
Thank TravellingMouse2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“House on the stilts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

The gardens and home of Ho Chi Minh is a calm and beautiful reprieve from the starkness and cold cement structure of the Mausoleum. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained as well as the small lake with koi fish. The most interesting aspects of his modest home is the book collection and pictures of Lennon
What is unfortunate is the lack of time you have to view his home through the glass walls from outside. You have to stand in a single queue and walk at a fast pace along with all the visitors.
The structure was heavily guarded with soldiers in white uniforms that were adorned with badges and metals. Their were no sign cards that were informative. The vintage cars were interesting as they were rare and gifts from France and Russia. You cannot bring a camera onto the grounds. But they do allow a smart phone. My suggestion is to go there before 10am before the tourists arrive. I was there during the government holiday so it was almost all Vietnamese visitors. The most interesting aspect of the visit is to see the North Vietnamese's respect and admiration for their former leader Ho Chi Minh.

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ho Chi Minh Presidential Palace Historical Site also viewed

 

Been to Ho Chi Minh Presidential Palace Historical Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing