We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Touristy”
Review of Old Quarter

Old Quarter
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.00*
and up
Morning Tour of Hanoi
Ranked #2 of 278 things to do in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Hanoi’s lively Old Quarter comprises nearly 40 streets packed with shops selling all kinds of goods, each street named for its primary good or service.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,220 reviews
436 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,045 helpful votes
“Touristy”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Yes it's nice just to walk about and see the different sights and shops, restaurants etc. but for some reason it didnt seem 'real' it felt was highly geared towards tourism and may hav elost its charm to please the tourist industry.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Saintlysinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18,437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,240
    6,313
    1,507
    258
    119
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Awesome Old Buildings!”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Vietnam. Beautiful Old Hanoi Quarter Vietnam... ! I went with my partner and we had an absolute blast. Some friends had recommended we get a tour because they started getting tours in the last half of their trip and said it was better. We went with Kim Tour on a couple of different days. The old Quarter was amazing. We bought some special silver pictures from a little hole in the wall shop. Gorgeous! The old buildings are really what I loved though. Awesome.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Hectic, but fascinating for a few days”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

... And then I found myself wanting to escape the traffic and fumes. But it was god fun, lots of street food, lots of interesting restraints, plenty of bars to watch the world go by.. Cheap living.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank appyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Awesomely cool place”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Very peaceful and relaxing ! Heaps of good priced restaurants... Great place for a romantic getaway...... A few too many tourists.. but the locals in general are very lovely. The hawkers can get a bit annoying though.. Just drink more cheap beer :)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So Much Fun”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I can't believe how much fun my friends and I had during our walking tour of Old Quarter, Hanoi! There was just so much to do and see! I think my favorite part was strolling through the old shops and markets. The smells coming from the food were so delicious.
I can't wait to go back, hopefully for a much longer visit next time. You can easily spend just a couple of hours shopping around the market and then another couple of hours just wandering around the many streets and taking in the sites. This is a trip I'd highly recommend to anybody! Thanks Kim Tours!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Old Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing