We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Quarter

Old Quarter
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.00*
and up
Morning Tour of Hanoi
Ranked #2 of 276 things to do in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Hanoi’s lively Old Quarter comprises nearly 40 streets packed with shops selling all kinds of goods, each street named for its primary good or service.
Aqaba, Jordan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Our hotel was slap bang in the middle of the old quarter and we spent a lot of time wandering around it (including the Lonely Planet 2 hour walking tour which we highly recommend). You can buy absolutely anything there and if you can't buy it someone can probably make it. From live frogs to ghost money for burning at temples. Apart from the great souvenirs my children particularly liked the shoes. Fake or not, £8 for a pair of Nike Air trainers - they were chuffed! We ate street food and drank local beer. There is no hassling to buy things - some of the street hawkers are a bit pushy but all in all very polite when told that you didn't want to buy anything. The old quarter IS Hanoi and we loved it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17,995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,970
    6,178
    1,474
    255
    118
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“city life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Busy and bustling streets await as soon as you leave your hotel, but beware of bikes, mopeds, scooters, cars and other road vehicles. Walk bravely and you will be rewarded with amazing secret eats and places to relax and have a beer!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TalieTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
167 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“GREAT FUN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

You can buy anything and everything. But haggle, it is part of the experience, and the fun.

I love the bamboo lacquer ware, it is so practical

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank haysinarabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Facinating sights and smells”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Love the old quarter - you get a real sense of the local people and their day-to-day lives.
You can easily spend a whole day just wandering around - tasting the local food and enjoying the historical architecture.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charmaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Good fun wandering the maze of streets packed with more shops and restaurants than would seem possible. Swarms of motorbikes a bit daunting at first but you soon learn the method of crossing the stream. Think like you're a shark in a shoal of fish and let them move around you.
and never stop until you reach the other side. You can buy just about anything and if you try you can find quality too. Just remember brand name stuff that seems too cheap to be true, it isn't real. That doesn't mean it won't suit your needs though it's just that $40 North Face jacket isn't what the logo or labeling would suggest. I enjoyed the area very much, enough that I changed my itinerary to have another 2 days in Hanoi on my way out of country.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RockDr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Old Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing