We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good, but small room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel
Ranked #324 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Clean, well located, cheap/safe airport transfer even if booked at the very last minute, really helpful to book cheap tours (also last minute), good breakfast, were helpful to find my tour leader the first day.

Only thing is room very small ...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zosianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hongngochotelgroups, Manager at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at Hong Ngoc hotel. I am very pleased to hear about your general satisfactory experience at our hotel and your kind words are most gratifying and have been shared with the whole team. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

These issues (small room) does not represent our hotel standards and we are very disappointed to read that we hadn’t been able to satisfy your needs and expectations.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Management teams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a group. It was quiet in the evening but the neighbour's dog and rooster like to wake up early and bark and crow incessantly.

The location is excellent, central and walking distance to most attractions.

Breakfast is basic, the pastries are decent. No complaints, but nothing out of the ordinary.

Laundry... Expensive and they tag your clothes, so be prepared for holes.

Room Tip: Floor 5 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimbotomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hongngochotelgroups, Manager at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

First of all we would like to take the opportunity to personally apologize for the inconvenience and dissatisfaction regarding to the noisy outside your room and laundry.

This issue does not represent our hotel standards and we are very disappointed to read that we hadn’t been able to satisfy your needs and expectations. About laundry issues, You can be absolutely sure that we will discuss your feedback with the respective leaders to make sure to improve these areas.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be better than the previous one.

Best Regards,

Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here as part of a group tour. Room was small for the two of us, I made the mistake of dropping something under the bed, and I couldn't fit between the beds to get it out, real annoyance.
Room was right up the top of the hotel, slightly annoying having to carry luggage, but view and less street noise make up for it.
Very central location.
Breakfast included little pastries that were delicious.
Had an issue with hot water, couldn't get any out of the tap, and then they fixed it and I couldn't add any cold water. It was sorted, but annoying when in a hurry (had to shower in anothers room).

Room Tip: The higher you go, better view, and more chance of the much anticipated window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
Thank EffyGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hongngochotelgroups, Manager at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely important to us.

I have noted your disappointment in regards to the confusion relating to the hard bed and hot water. Please understand us for this hight season and this winter, it need more time to warm water because so many people use it while there was a storm appearance at that time which make power electric is not stable.

once again we would like to apologize that we did not meet your expectations and hope to get the chance to present you our new renovated rooms upon your next visit. We hope to see you again soon in the only privately run 3-star hotel in Ha Noi

Best Regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel in November 2013 and my time being was enjoyable as staffs are so helpful, they would help you anything you wishes, room was good, breakfast was very good and the location is the best in Hanoi. I definitely would stay there again when I visit Hanoi again. Don't forget to try spa massage in Hong Ngoc Hospital, on the 5th floor. You get free taxi go and back.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanikaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hongngochotelgroups, Manager at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing your feedback about our hotel on tripadvisor. It is such a delight to read our guests' satisfaction. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night in hanoi. The hotel is centrally located in the old quarter and within close walking distance to attractions which were the only positives. I had a twin single room which was located on the 8th floor but the lift only went to the 7th floor so had to lug a suitcase up 2 flights of stairs to the room. The room was cramped and dated with no hot water and the safe did not work despite contacting reception staff who were dismissive and unable to fix either problem. A friend had another room on the 8th floor in which the airconditioning did not work. Apparently there were no other rooms available. I would not stay at this hotel again and would not recommend it based on my experiences.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Melz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hongngochotelgroups, Manager at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to take the opportunity to personally apologize for the inconvinience and dissatisfaction regarding to the hot water in your bathroom and the safety box. We have checked your stayed with our hotel, you stayed in room (802) from 9 Nov until 10 Nov.

We have discussed to our hotel manager and be noticed that:
There was a storm (haiyan) in Hà Nội, we have to reduced power as goverment policy, so the hot water need more time comparing to normal.
Our night receiptionist English is not very good, so he did not understand your problem of the Safety box. Therefore, we are training our staff English skill at the moment.
To the problem of your friend who stayed in room (803), we did not received any reported about the airconditional, if we had had noticed, we would have fixed it right away.

Once again we would like to apologize that we did not meet your expectations and hope to get the chance to present you our new renovated rooms upon your next visit. We hope to see you again soon in the only privately run 3-star hotel in Ha Noi.

Best regards,

Manager teams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The best city hotel and very helpful and friendly staffs, break fast is very good , location is the best and easy to explore the part of Hanoi closer to Market , Lake, Temple, restaurants and good prices !
At the reception they can help you every thing like give you the idea to explore and draw the map for you and all lovely !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thousao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hongngochotelgroups, Manager at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at the our Hong Ngoc dynastie hotel. I am very pleased to hear about your general satisfactory experience at our hotel and your kind words are most gratifying and have been shared with the whole team.

This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

Thank you very much and best regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed two nights in the H. N. T. hotel, but not consecutive. Two times, we enjoyed the service, the breakfast, the environment, and not to forget, the location in the middle of Hanoi. So, I could recommend this hotel for your next stay in Hanoi, and I evenly could recommend the fresh fruit cocktail made by the bar tender.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HugoHermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hongngochotelgroups, Manager at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel to other Tripadvisors travellers and we look forward to your next stay.

Your valuable comments are well noted and we will look into improving with our team.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Prince Hotel
Prince Hotel
#331 of 599 in Hanoi
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hangmy Boutique Hotel
Hangmy Boutique Hotel
#207 of 599 in Hanoi
303 reviews
0 mi away
Hanoi Charm Hotel
Hanoi Charm Hotel
#49 of 599 in Hanoi
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2
#149 of 599 in Hanoi
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Lakeside Hotel
Golden Lakeside Hotel
#259 of 599 in Hanoi
11 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Merci Hotel
Hanoi Merci Hotel
#183 of 599 in Hanoi
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel

Address: 14 Luong Van Can St | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hong Ngoc 2 Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £20 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hong Ngoc hotel group, we are proud to provide one of the most exclusive hotels in central Hanoi.At Hong Ngoc Tonkin, we will offer you a drive back to the 19th century to explore the hidden charm of the Vietnamese culture. Located overlooking the glittering Hoan Kiem lake and the famous Water Puppet theater, Hong Ngoc Tonkin is an ideal choice for travelers looking to explore a highly exclusive experience in the historical, energetic entertainment and shopping areas. Our 40 guestrooms offer some marvelous view of the city and they all have a high contemporary design blending seamlessly with period architectural features. These elements have made Hong Ngoc Tonkin become a luxury hotel and a beautifully preserved piece of history. In addition, our restaurant has a superb reputation with a wide range of selective Western and Vietnamese cuisine and our Hong Ngoc spa is a serene retreat for effective therapy. We believe our unique and outstanding service will make this luxury hotel a destination in its own right. Welcome back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hong Ngoc Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing