We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, not too fancy... Budget friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hanoi Lucky Guesthouse
Ranked #242 of 604 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Chile
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ok, not too fancy... Budget friendly”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Located in the old quarter, this hostal has all the ammenities one could need. It is ok, affordable, and well located, but don't expect any fancy rooms, ultra comfy beds or breakfast!! Would recommend it if your travelling on a budget, although you might find better alternatives in the same area for a bit more cash.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SoloViajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    54
    25
    14
    20
See reviews for
14
103
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at Hanoi Lucky Guesthouse for three nights and went to Halong Bay with Fantasea cruise for 3 day 2 nights booked through the hostel. The room was clean and had a balcony with a great view. Breakfast was simple but nice every morning and included in the room rate. Location is perfect, easy to get to Hoan Kiem Lake and also Bia Hoi joints nearby. The staff were excellent, especially Hannah. Definitely stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nistro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at the Lucky Guesthouse 2 for four nights. For the first night we had a twin room, and then a double room.

Room: Both rooms were very large and cleaned every day. The beds were comfortable, and both rooms had en suite bathrooms, AC, and TV. There is an elevator in the guest house, so being on the upper floors isn't a problem. Unfortunately we believe something was quite wrong with the air conditioner in the double room (502) as it was emitting a disgusting eggy smell that we initially thought was coming from the drains in the bathroom.

Location: On the western edge of the Old Quarter, so very hectic, but close to most of the main tourist attractions. Hoan Kiem lake is a fifteen minute walk away. There are restaurants and bars nearby.

Facilities: There are three computers for guest use. Breakfast is provided, and you can get free tea and coffee at any time. You can book tours, trains and buses through the guesthouse.

Staff: Really lovely people. Everyone is friendly and happy, and are very helpful with any questions you may have.

Cons: Organisation isn't their strong point - they are very busy and sometimes you may not get the room you've booked. Also, the smell in our second room wasn't great, we reported it but nothing was really done.

Overall this is a very nice place at a great price.

Room Tip: Avoid room 502 until they sort out the smelly air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Ehrmantraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The room was substandard with on the verge of dying A/C.
The location is very nice.

What I'd like to focus on here is the fact that the tours you can book from there are overpriced and usually are 20 USD higher than in most travel agencies in Hanoi.

The price jumped by 2 USD at the checkout, which is not acceptable by principle.

Go elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arylllies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this guesthouse 3 times in our week stay as we were off doing activities in halong bay and sapa. Each time they were able to store our extra luggage for free which was very helpful. They helped to book all our excursions - great advice and all at a reasonable price. All the staff were so friendly and happy to help. Free breakfast was basic but did the job. If you like strong coffee you'll be very happy - and you can have as many cups as you like. Rooms were ok, clean with good AC. Good value for money and would definitely come back and stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The room is very clean and comfortable bed, the wifi is very strong everywhere in that building, staff so flriendly and helpful, Special halong bay, sapa and Hoa lu - tam coc with price very cheap and quality that right, we think you go to halong bay 3days-2nights it that is better also you can go to visit Cat ba Island and halong bay torgether. we will stay here again and Hightly recommend Great 2 guesthouse.

Room Tip: the room outside it that is better have big window
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ski432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I had a great stay at Lucky Guesthouse. The staff english speaking staff, particularly Tam, were really friendly and was the perfect introdution to Hanoi, full of information and local knowledge. It was brilliant to get their trusty recommendations for tours to Sapa and Halong without having to search through the labyrinth of tour companies.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
#129 of 588 in Hanoi
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Lucky Guesthouse 2
Hanoi Lucky Guesthouse 2
#299 of 604 in Hanoi
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Evergreen Hotel
Hanoi Evergreen Hotel
#90 of 604 in Hanoi
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Happy Moon Guesthouse
Happy Moon Guesthouse
#20 of 371 in Hanoi
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Guest House
Hanoi Guest House
#4 of 604 in Hanoi
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Lucky Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Lucky Guesthouse

Property: Hanoi Lucky Guesthouse
Address: 14 Bat Su Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 604 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hanoi Lucky Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing