We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hanoi Lucky Guesthouse
Ranked #231 of 591 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disgusting customer service!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We arrived at 10pm only to be told that although we had paid for our room we would not be staying in the hotel. We told the boy on reception that we wanted to stay in the hotel as that was the one we had paid for. he then went on to tell us that he had a group of hotels and wanted to put us In a better one. Again we asked for an explanation as to why we couldn't stay here and he would not give us one. Before you know it he has called a friend, who arrives on a motorbike to take me, my partner, 2 backpacks, and 2 rucksacks to lucky house 2, which he assured us was much better than this hotel. We arrive at Hanoi glory hotel - not the one he had said - and we still had no explanation of why this was happening. Feeling cheated we refused to stay at the hotel and walked back to the hotel, to a very smug looking man. I told him I wanted a refund as we had been lied to and he laughed as he then handed over a key for the room. This is terrible customer service and not what you expect when you arrive to a hotel. Originally I had booked for 4 nights, but I received a refund for the following 3 nights as I refused to stay somewhere like this. This place seems to get good reviews; it's a shame my experience was negative. Management definitely need to speak to the boy on reception.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    52
    25
    14
    19
See reviews for
14
102
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Tam the best girl I ever meet. And very good team. We stay here some days and and all staff very friendly and help us every information, we was been at Sapa and Halong, it was very nice, beautiful view. Thank you Hanoi lucky 2 for this organisation. I suggest the hotel for all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trancongthuong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed for just 1 night and arrived to Hanoi blindsighted with not much idea of what we should see and do. The staff were fantastic at helping us and pointing us in the right direction. Peter advised us on the trips to Halong Bay, booked them for us and sorted out transport to pick us up and drop us off from outside the hotel which was perfect. Hannah was so lovelytoo, she took us to a street food place and showed us how the vietnamese eat the food too. Overall I would strongly recommend this guesthouse, we could not have asked for more friendly people.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria_H752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here four nights, superb location in old quarter. The room was cramped but everything worked well, wifi was better in reception area where free tea and coffee were always available. Staff are extremely busy and friendly and helpful although a bit pushy to use their travel bookings for Sapa, Halong Bay, etc. Excellent place to stay and value for money. Can exchange cash there as well at a decent rate.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KimHanhLy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

My brother and I stayed here for 1 night which was just perfect. Staff was really helpfull (especially Tam!). After a long trip from Sapa to Hanoi we arrived at 03:30am, which was way earlier than expected, and we did not book any hotel. We knocked on the door in the middle of the night and they offered us a matress, pillow and blanket right in front of the reception. So hostile! We got breakfast and a shower afterwards. They didn't charge us at all! But of course we gave a big fat tip.
Tam and the other Lucky Guesthouse staff members; THANK YOU!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elmer v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

It is great value for money and the staff is really helpful! First Tam helped us really good in arranging our trip to sapa. When we got back from our trip we arrived really early at 3.30 in the night but we didn't book a hostel. The night guard let us in and offered us a bed and breakfast at no costs!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Timo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paterne Racan, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

when we come to here so surpprise all service here, they are so friendly and comfortable invite us break fast, drinkl Tea, Coffee so much, the room very clean, wifi strong, we booked halong bay and sapa with they, oh so good price and quality really perfect, Mr Peter show for us some options that right and share for us experience some agency outside they not good, not ensure everything when we are book some service at there.Because they dont know us where come to with they. we understand that rigth.we so so love stay here and we are so sure stay here again.

Room Tip: the room inside that better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank save322014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2
#175 of 581 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Lucky Guesthouse 2
Hanoi Lucky Guesthouse 2
#283 of 591 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posh Hotel
Posh Hotel
#9 of 591 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Apple Homestay
Hanoi Apple Homestay
#101 of 591 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Evergreen Hotel
Hanoi Evergreen Hotel
#84 of 591 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Hanoi Hostel
Little Hanoi Hostel
#11 of 362 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Lucky Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Lucky Guesthouse

Property: Hanoi Lucky Guesthouse
Address: 14 Bat Su Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 591 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hanoi Lucky Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing