We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Authentic Hanoi Hotel
Ranked #206 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not pleasant”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed in a second floor room looking down on the street, over a 2 stage stay we lucked out and got the same room twice. The aircon was not very efficient and the room stunk of cigarette smoke. The breakfast room was small and crowded. The breakfast choices are geared towards an Asian clientele, certainly not Western tastes, though the staff did cook eggs when asked on our 2nd day..they just don't let anyone know that this option is available. After being out in the heat since 8am we returned to the hotel to refresh about 11.45am only to discover that our room had not yet been made up, so we had to wait another 20 minutes till it was done. We ran out of toilet paper and had to request more. We organised a late checkout until 3.30pm but found ourselves locked out of our room at midday. We saw the poster for the 10th Floor Panorama Restaurant..what a joke, there is NO restaurant, instead it is a conference room and not a very big one either.The hotel is in a good location but for older visitors the many steps at the entry are a bit of a problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuthenticHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Authentic Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you very much for your kind information.
First of all, we would like to say " SORRY" for the inconvenience caused for your stay.
We have the nice restaurant on 10th floor with the lovely view. But we offered our travel agent the guide training. So we have to moved to the first floor. So it caused the crowd and overload because we hosted a lot of guests. So we are really sorry for that.
For aircon, we already renovated all after your stay. So there will be not any issues more.
Looking forward to host you again and offer you the best services.
Best regards
Authentic Hanoi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    97
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
69
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brookmans Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
625 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This must be my third visit to the Authentic in the last two years and they continue to maintain good standards throughout. It’s close enough to the old quarter of Ha Noi for an evening stroll around the busy streets, yet far enough away (about 5 mins on foot) to enable you to escape from it all at night. The breakfast is a nice buffet and all you need. The free wifi is fine. Get a room at the front. I have had 502 twice now and it’s great because it’s far enough away from the lifts, it’s at the end of the corridor, it looks out over the street and it’s fairly quiet. One tip. Close the curtains when you go out for the day. The room gets the sun and, if you don’t, it will be like an oven when you return (as will any hotel room that faces the noon sun). If you ask the staff at reception to ask the housekeeper to leave the curtains closed they will ensure they do. Much better when you get back. 

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank breweruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuthenticHanoi, Public Relations Manager at Authentic Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you very much for your stay at Authentic. We are really happy to host you 3 times and hope to serve you more and more in the future.
We will remind our housekeepers and also receptionists to close all the curtains in our hotel rooms.
Looking forward to your soon stay
Best regards
Luan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Authentic Hanoi hotel is good located close to Old Quarter and Kiem lake. The rooms are nice and gives a good view to he lake in the upper floors. Room service is standard and not overwhelming. Air Condition in the rooms is quite weak. Staff ist friendly but not more. Breakfast is ok but not overwhelming and breakfast room mostly very crowded. Restaurant on top floor is mostly closed. But there are many good options of restaurants in the Old Quarter.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaBrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuthenticHanoi, Public Relations Manager at Authentic Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you very much for your information. We really appreciate your kind information.
Because we offered Panorama Room for the guide training on your stay so we have to arrange the second restaurant for buffet breakfast.
Relating to our aircon system, we have just renovated and just finished. Hope you can sympathize for the hot days up to 40C.
And thank you again for your kind information and hope to see you one more time
Luan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed here as part of a group in October / November 2013. The hotel looks narrow from outside but in fact is very spacious inside. We had a 2-stage stay and I had two different rooms - both were large, bright and very well finished. Cleanliness is excellent and staff couldn't be more helpful. The breakfasts were excellent and the hotel organised trips for us with no fuss or hassle.
Best f all is location - sitting on the edge of the Old Quarter, this hotel is an ideal base for exploring this wonderfully crazy city!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEGraphics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuthenticHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Authentic Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you very much for your good review about our service.
We just try our best to offer the best service to all the guests.
Best regards
Luan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Authentic Hanoi Boutique Hotel is a new and very nice small hotel in a super location in the Old Quarter of Hanoi. After being on the road for nearly 24 hours our group was welcomed very cordially by friendly staff, who made sure we received our rooms in a jiffy so we could unwind and start enjoying our trip. The room was clean with a few amenities such as tea/coffee, the bed excellent; the bathroom spotless and had nice toiletries. The only setback was the lack of a window so I could not see Hanoi – I believe the building set-ups in Vietnam just don’t allow for a window because the neighboring house is built right next door. Because the location is so great it was possible to stroll down to the lake and also to enjoy some of the local restaurants nearby – the first encounter with Hanoi Soup was a lingering sensation and our group made sure, we had this soup on many occasions. There is not much to say about the buffet breakfast at the hotel - it was good and sufficient. We were very unfortunate with the weather as it rained and was miserably cold in March and yet we had hot water to take showers and the hotel itself was fairly warm.
All in all, the hotel is nice and clean, offers a plentiful breakfast and is absolutely sufficient for a 2-day stay and most important; it is a good place to come to after endlessly long flights.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianneVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in multiple places through out our trip in Vietnam. This place is very new and super a compacting. The amenities are a little small but the rooms are comfortable. The beds and pillows are great and the air conditioning is fantastic. The staff struggle with English a little but are super accommodating and always do there best to meet your needs even when they don't understand you. The location of the hotel is great plenty of great food and things to see - shopping etc near by. After staying in a 'fancy' hotel in ho chi min I would have traded to go back to the authentic in any day of the week. Would stay again if I return to Vietnam.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

There was no window in the room and it was very small. Furthermore, the room was not well cleaned with stains on the pillow case and the bed sheet as well as in the corner of the bathroom. The quality of the breakfast was also below average with a limited variety of food, with shortage of the food - with slow top up. The only positive is the location close to the lake and in the old district. Definitely I think it should be easy to find better value for the price in Hanoi.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sissiburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuthenticHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Authentic Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you very much for your useful information.
We already took action right after receiving your feedback. So we guarantee that the same problems will never happen again.
Looking forward to your other stay to test again our service and facility
Best regards
Luan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Merci Hotel
Hanoi Merci Hotel
#164 of 586 in Hanoi
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Viet View Hotel & Spa
Viet View Hotel & Spa
#112 of 586 in Hanoi
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antique Hotel
Antique Hotel
#431 of 586 in Hanoi
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Focus Boutique Hotel
Hanoi Focus Boutique Hotel
#158 of 586 in Hanoi
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
0.2 mi away
Thang Long Opera Hotel
Thang Long Opera Hotel
#142 of 586 in Hanoi
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Authentic Hanoi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Authentic Hanoi Hotel

Property: Authentic Hanoi Hotel
Address: 13 Ly Thai To Street, Hoan Kiem District | Hanoi Old Quarter, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Authentic Hanoi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warmly greetings from Authentic Hanoi Boutique HotelAuthentic Hanoi Boutique Hotel is conveniently located at the edge of Hanoi's Old Quarter. The hotel was named from the great King in history of Vietnam – Ly Thai To King, in the heart of the capital Hanoi thousand years of civilization and the ancient turtle tower, adjacent to the tourist attractions, Embassies, the vital organs of government, and commercial center The front of the hotel is opposite to Hoan Kiem Lake. The back of the hotel is opposite to Red River. You can visit Night Market at the weekend, visit this shopping area and Water puppet show...With 71 boutique rooms, 02 meeting rooms and 02 restaurants, Authentic promises to offer the best services to the customers.Besides, Authentic Hanoi Hotel also offers the tours packages visiting Vietnam. So we can support us to have a wonderful trip to Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Authentic Hanoi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing