We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID - Lie about room rates”
Review of Violet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Violet Hotel
Ranked #371 of 651 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Arrived in Hanoi after the overnight bus from Hue, no problems in the past two months sorting accomodation on arrival. Blatant lie about room rates - was told $5 inc. breakfast (pretty much what we have been paying all over South East Asia). Upon arrival at hotel told $9 each, no breakfast and offered two double beds between five people. Head to Hanoi Blue Moon Hotel (90 Cau Go) as they are much more accomodating. Also, beware taxi scam - always get into one with a meter!!!!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Trixie2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

We wanted to stay at the B&B Hanoi Hostel but they were full. Long story short we ended up at the Violet Hotel 18 Cau Go St where we negotiated a rate - 300,000 a night with breakfast. Room was average and breakfast pretty ordinary. All was OK until the second morning when we went down for breakfast and we were rudely told by one of the male managers that our room rate didn't include breakfast. He then went on to admonish the female staff member who had served us the previous day and we were told if we wanted breakfast we needed to pay 400,000 a night. There was no reasoning with him so rather than suffer further embarrassment we went out to eat which, by the way, was much nicer.
Later that morning I went back to reception and asked if I could book into one of the rooms that they had advertised on Agoda for 250,000 with breakfast. The receptionist asked why we wanted to move because our room was nice and included breakfast.! After telling her it apparently didn't she phoned the manager to check .... eventually we were told that if we wanted an agoda room it was at Violet 3 not 18 Cau Go St!! When I asked where Violet 3 was I didn't get a reply that made any sense. She then quickly offered a room on the top floor for 250,000 a night but no breakfast.
Obviously I would not recommend booking through agoda as you could not be sure where you would be staying. I might stay here again because of the location and the price but I would negotiate for the room only and view it before committing. If you are in Hanoi for only a few days I would recommend you pay a bit more and stay somewhere else where you are more likely to have a hassel free stay.
If you do stay here make sure you check the contents of the mini bar on arrival as we were accused of taking 2 cans of coke and 1 bottle of water.

Room Tip: Remember to check mini bar contents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were conned on the price and once in were to lazy to move. Violet 2 is at 37A Hang Thung Street, This hotel will vary its price and will blatantly lie about its rates. The best rooms on the front vary from $24 for four persons to $30 for two, breakfast included.
The male staff are from Faulty Towers but are even worse.
My photos would not load, they would have shown a bathroom that would fail a health inspection, the rooms are OK but the toilets bathroom and balcony's are disgusting. .
Breakfast is ultra basic.
Avoid or negotiate a deal at half price. Not for couples who cannot overlook the poorest cleaning efforts I have seen in 3 trips and over 13 weeks in Vietnam.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lloyd p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

I'm shocked to see the bad reviews for this place! For the price this hotel is in a great location in Hanoi, the staff are super friendly and go out of their way to help, they offer great deals for halong bay (always haggle to save a few dollars wherever you book) plus you get a good breakfast and a clean room. Great value for money, especially for backpackers!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manonanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Ripped us off by $70 US on the halong bay cruise went on a different boat than booked. Room had mould and cigarettes all through it. Hotel staff are useless and unfriendly I would recommend this place to my worst enemy

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kezandshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We got a room for $15 including breakfast , eggs, bread, tea or coffee.

We were very happy with the room although very small it was all we needed and so close to the old quarter and the lake.

The staff were friendly to us...they did try get us to book Halong bay.. But From reading other reviews on trip advisor and because of the weather conditions we decided not to go at all.
So we can not comment on the travel agents in the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonaKonaTron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

we stayed in 2nights , the guy try to sell halong for us over price.
Room are very poor, not confortable at all, very hot, bad clean and let mosquitos and bugs in. So is impossible to be in the room. This was the worst place in my 2day vacations in Vietnam and one of the must expensive one.
Many hotel around for good choice and same price

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 187david12345187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
2.3 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.4 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
0.7 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#98 of 600 in Hanoi
2,335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Violet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Violet Hotel

Address: 18 Cau Go Str., Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #371 of 651 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: £14 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Violet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Violet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing