We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Look”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hanoi Legacy Hotel - Hang Bac
Ranked #111 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth the Look”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at the legend for a few days in between our trip to Sapa, this hotel is well placed and value for money. Huge beds good breakfast and attentive staff. clean and comfortable. We have stayed at other hotels in Hanoi and this was dearer but you get what you pay for. Would recommend for position and friendliness. The rooms we had didn't have any windows but we coped.

Room Tip: Do your homework, read Tripadvisor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Des S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    105
    28
    6
    4
See reviews for
52
141
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a good choice for families too, has great location (close to the coolest places in the downtown), very nice rooms (we stayed in a double and in an executive room - 2 adults, 3 kids and it was just perfect), reasonable prices and amazing staff. If I would visit Hanoi again, that is not very likely, unfortunately, I wouldn't go for another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BZsofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This turned out to be the perfect chioce of hotel for our recent vaction trip to northern Vietnam. Initially the first two nights were included as part of a travel package including flights and after making contact with the management staff, ahead of the trip, I discovered that they could make all the arrangements for the sightseeing activeities we had planned to do on our trip. In this regard I have to highly recommend the Owner/Manageress, Ms Minh Hang Tran ("Me"), who made all the arrangements for our visits to Sapa (train tickets/tour), Ha Long Bay (Transport/overnight stay) and Hoi Ann; including all flights, transport, airport ransfers, etc. Everything went seamlessly according to plan (even last minute rescheduling due to changes in our Hoi An trip dates!) and this was a great contibution to making our Viatnam vacation trips one of our most pleasurable.
The hotel itself is perfect 3-star accomodation and ideal for a 2-3 stop over in the Old Quarter. It is set right in the middle of the hubbub of the "real" Hanoi and is a "real" experience. The rooms are very clean and serviced to high service daily, beds are large and comfortable, nice shower with planty of hot water, tv with full bouquet (of essentially vietnamese channals + BBC and CNN), good aircons, strong Wifi (no charge), nicely decorated, excellent shutters and sliding doors to keep out the noise and light (as necessary).
Breakfast was very acceptable, buffet and omlette service, for a perfect start to each day.. walk out of the front door and you are into the beautiful chaos of Hanoi.. savour it!
"Hugh" (probably Heu) the doorman deserves a special mention, as he could not do enough for us; escorting us to the cabin of the overnight train to Sapa and meeting us at the station the following morning (4am) to ensure we got back to the hotel as planned.
Another really nice touch was that they gave us a room (no charge) to sleep/wash/recover for the four hour (5am to 9pm) transition between our Sapa and Halong bay excursions.. that was really welcomed and appreciated. Additionally, the stored our main luggage for us while we went on our sightseeing trips to Sapa and halong Bay. Plus they extended our check out time whenever we had late afternoon flight connections (no charge). All really appreciated and contributed to my high recommendation of this hotel.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a superior room at an additional cost of US$15 per night. Well worth it as you get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresalegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great value for the money you pay. It's clean, the staff are super helpful and friendly and it's in a great location in the old quarter so you can walk to everything. What really stood out to me though was when I turned up at 8am after a 14 hour journey back from sapa they let me check into the room much earlier than usual! Amazing service! Definitely would recommend.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank hughannak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I just completed a two week stay at the Hanoi Legacy Hotel - Hang Bac (with Global Volunteers) and was most pleased with this choice of accommodation. By US standards, it is a 3 star hotel but I gave it a five star rating because it truly is the "best in its class". The rooms are large and spacious with an attached bathroom (with shower - no tub). It is clean and very comfortable. There is AC and lots of hot water on demand. The staff - from the doormen to the receptionist to the travel desk to the cleaning staff to the restaurant staff - were all so very warm, courteous and welcoming - never failing to greet you with a smile and a "hello, how are you?" Airport transfers can be easily arranged, the travel desk can help you with various tickets and tours, and the doormen can get you cab quickly. The breakfast buffet was limited but certainly more than adequate. And to add to all of that, the location of the hotel is ideal. It is in the midst of the Old Quarter of Hanoi - an easy walk to many sights, shops, and great restaurants (although you'll have to tackle that wonderful Hanoi traffic) and just a five minute walk from the north end of Hoan Kiem Lake. It can't get any better than that. So if you like "clean and comfortable", "warm and friendly", and a location in the midst of "all the action", consider the Hanoi Legacy Hotel. I will when I return to Hanoi again. An aside - there is no pool or gym but hey, if you want exercise, just get out and jog or walk around the lake!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewtravelerHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTH WALES
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights at hanoi legacy hang bac. Hotel staff could not do enough for you. We enquired about cancelling our train tickets we no longer needed, the receptionist sent someone to the train station and came back with a 50% refund. Room was a decent size (twin beds) there was no window but it was ok as it was very quiet given it is right in the centre of the old quarter... shower was brilliant and we had the best breakfast choice out of all the hotels we have stayed in whilst in vietnam. Would definately recommend this hotel.


Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BABSJNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Smooth transition from Hanoi airport arranged by hotel. Welcome was charming by staff who greeted us with a cup of tea brought to us in reception. Given a free upgrade to a suite, which was spacious with a large terrace overlooking a bustling street at the heart of the old quarter. Much more than we had anticipated and for the price!!!
Great location for Hoan Kiem Lake, wandering around the noisy streets and the restaurants especially ' The Essence' which was just around the corner.
All in all, the 2 nights here have been a great start to our 2 weeks in Vietnam.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi L'Heritage Hotel
Hanoi L'Heritage Hotel
#156 of 588 in Hanoi
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luxury Old Quarter Hotel
Luxury Old Quarter Hotel
#102 of 588 in Hanoi
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Essence d’Orient Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#28 of 588 in Hanoi
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Legacy Hotel - Hang Bac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Legacy Hotel - Hang Bac

Property: Hanoi Legacy Hotel - Hang Bac
Address: 108 Hang Bac, Hoan Kiem | 108 Hang Bac street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanoi Legacy Hotel - Hang Bac 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centre of Hanoi is Hoan Kiem Lake and at the heart of Hanoi, adjacent to Hoan Kiem Lake, is the Hanoi Old Quarter, the 36 Streets of Trades that once served the Kings of Vietnam. Now they serve the needs of the international traveler.The recently opened Hanoi Legacy Hotel, located in Hang Bac in the Old Quarter, offers international standard facilities together with the friendly and courteous service that today's travelers expect. Hang Bac means 'silver', and the silver service of the Hanoi Legacy Hotel assures the traveler of a truly memorable stay as they explore the wonders of Hanoi and Vietnam.Whether traveling independently, or as a family with children, the Hanoi Legacy Hotel offers comfortable well appointed rooms, all with complimentary wireless internet. With access to the the best of Hanoi's licensed travel agents, travelers can experience the best that Hanoi and Vietnam has to offer for a very enjoyable stay. Airport transfers are also easily arranged, just ask when making your booking.The Hanoi Legacy Hotel - located in Hang Bac in the Hanoi Old Quarter- echoing the silver service of days gone past for a truly memorable stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi Legacy Hotel - Hang Bac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing