We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Staff in Vietnam!”
Review of Skylark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Skylark Hotel
Ranked #89 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“The Best Staff in Vietnam!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The staff at the Skylark were excellent! They were friendly and understood whatever you needed to know. So, anything you needed, wanted to organise or find out, they helped you immediately and sorted every detail in a swift, calm and friendly way. Their English was outstanding and they would make any call to price transport, travel times, book for you - and everything was done easily, they were prepared and could accommodate any change. Even when there were plenty of people at reception, all was sorted smoothly and you never waited.
I travelled all over Vietnam during January, staying at similarly ranked hotels, and I found this hotel to be by far the easiest, calmest and friendliest to stay at. It's a beautiful hotel at a fair price - and you can walk to anything in the old town in Hanoi from here, too!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    158
    38
    10
    4
See reviews for
89
157
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My family & I had a pleasant stay at Skylark hotel whereas the deluxe & executive room was comfortable, clean & tidy. We do enjoy our dinner at the hotel restaurant & the food was good + the price was reasonable.
The hotel staff were friendly & helpful...especially Mr. Hung Hoang & Mr. Mai was so kind to organized the entire tour during our stay at Hanoi. Appreciated & thankful to Mr. Hung, Ms. Mai & the hotel team members had arrange us with wonderful & reliable private tour package of 5D/4N trip to Halong Bay, Tam Coc & City tour which my family & I really enjoy the trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayChoo_cfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osan, South Korea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights as part of a Halong Bay Cruise package that we had booked. Overall, the rooms were great and the staff were friendly. Our first night, we stayed in a room that was near the elevator and we heard almost everyone that came to and left our floor. The bathroom had a window that led out into the hallway, which we thought was a bit strange. The second night, our room was much better as it was away from the elevator. We weren't too impressed with the food at the restaurant, but overall it was a decent place to stay and close to the old quarter.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praia Grande, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Hotel was clean and good. Food was ok and typical of the buffets we had in Cambodia and Vietnam. Only issue we had was one morning, going to grab a water and it was rice wine. Someone had left their bottle and forgot it. Front desk gave us a new water that was sealed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRBray123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The actual stay at the Skylark was excellent....the room was good .....the breakfast was good and the staff very accommodating. However, the stay had one bad spot...a bad experience with the management. Inspite of our firm booking and immediate confirmation by the hotel....over a month in advance, we had to face the predicament of not having a room when we arrived It appeared they had given out firm booked room to another possibly 'walk-in' guest. They put us for one night in a neighboring hotel, a hotel not to our liking. Upon our taking up this matter with the management (more than once) and noticing our irritation, they were forced to accommodate us at the Skylark the very next day.

So..watch out future guests...you could face a similar situation tomorrow upon arriving at the Skylark Hotel in Hanoi.....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r_kaimal2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The good part of the hotel is the location, the price, and the size of the room which is very large. The staff is also very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend booking a taxi/airport transfer through them which the service is good and cheap.

On my last night, there was a rat in the room which I did not manage to chase out of the room. The rat came in through the wall panel. Eventually, it went under the bed and disappeared. For the price, I am not too unhappy with it but travellers who mind this must take note of the infestation.

The next morning, there were droppings that appeared in the bathroom and coffee/tea making area but it may not be due to rat because of the size. I informed reception at checkout but they were rather nonchalant and did not offer any compensation, apology or compensation. See Pictures attached.

Conclusion: Save for the rat, it is really cheap, and really good value for the price. But if you want luxury, the 5 star reviews in no way implies luxury, rather it is value for money for the price.

Room Tip: Park facing is very noisy from heavy traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SHIROSHIROSHIRO13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed at Skylark hotel for about 3-4 nights and was very impressed by the standards of the rooms and quality of service provided. Staff were very friendly and helped me and some friends with directions around Hanoi (including places to eat and see). The best part about the hotel was that its located some distance from the main tourist areas and also right next to the extensive night market. The breakfast was a nice little addition. Overall, no complaints at all about Skylark hotel and i would recommend it to all travelers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmitMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
#72 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boss Legend Hotel
Boss Legend Hotel
#94 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Ann Hanoi
The Ann Hanoi
#66 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Viet View Hotel & Spa
Viet View Hotel & Spa
#107 of 580 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Lotus Luxury Hotel
Golden Lotus Luxury Hotel
#148 of 580 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.7 mi away
May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skylark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skylark Hotel

Property: Skylark Hotel
Address: 15 Phan Dinh Phung Str,, Ba Dinh Dist., Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Skylark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skylark Hotel is located on Phan Dinh Phung street which is considered one of the most beautiful streets in Hanoi and attracts many tourists visit. Here, you not only admire the unique of ancient architecture, but also immersed in a lush green space, filled with trees. Walking along the street, watching falling yellow leaves, hear the church bells make your heart has many feelings. In addition to the 50 elegantly appointed rooms and suites, our Skylark restaurant and stylist X Bar are privilege places for any meeting at any moment of the day. The Skylark Health Club featuring with the unique roof-top indoor pool and the most up-to-date equipped gymnasium in Hanoi will give you the best possible conditions for complete well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skylark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing