We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the place to stay in Hanoi!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rising Dragon Legend Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rising Dragon Legend Hotel
Ranked #51 of 566 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is the place to stay in Hanoi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

Me and my wife had the pleasure of staying at this hotel smack in the middle of the old quarter in Hanoi for 8 days. I did not know what to expect, but what a great surprise. The rooms are comfortable, clean and cozy, breakfast was included every morning and we hate very well. The staff will go out of their way to help you and make you fell like home. Davide Trung was especially helpfull in helping us book our trip to Halong Bay as well as Sapa. He found for us the right boat for Halong Bay and an amazing hotel for our stay in Sapa. We were taken in charge from beginning to end with a smile and a desire to please. The staff of The Rising Dragon Legend made a huge difference in our stay in Hanoi. I warmly recommend to book this place for your next trip to Vietnam.

Thanks again the David and the whole staff! We'll see you again for sure.

Best regards,

Stephane and Celine

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nancyd000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    72
    9
    8
    1
See reviews for
42
128
45
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ukiah, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

I felt completely at home here. All the staff are very accommodating and kind, they are truly like family. If you have a problem they are genuinely concerned with you. I lost my passport and they did everything in their power to get it back, without me having to ask. They always have a smile on their faces and you can't help but have a good day.
The location of the hotel is ideal. Walking distance of all the old quarter, and located near the beautiful Hoah Kiem Lake. Which is a great landmark if you get turned around.
The trips that they facilitate for you are absolutely wonderful, and they make sure you get the best deals. I was very happy with my day trips and overnight trips, and I felt completely at ease leaving my belongings at the hotel for 4 days.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

The Rising Dragon Legend at 55 Hang Be Street is ideally located with lots of wonderful sight and food to explore in the Old Quarter. Clean cosy room, fresh and fast breakfast to suit every taste. Coffee & Tea readily available. impeccable service from a young and friendly team. Trips arrangement was very detail and was impress by the arrangement of having a staff to send me all the way to the cabin of the train to SAPA. Will definitely return to stay in this "Home" again...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michaelwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed with Rising Dragon Legend (55) for 3 nights.
Rooms are modern, clean and comfortable.
Reception (especially the ladies) were very helpful, helped my hubby and me with directions, calling cabs and recommending the attractions.
They were kind to give us a room for quick shower on our return trip from Sapa.

Minus point for them when they transferred us to Rising Dragon Hotel (61) on the second night. Seeing the room they offered in this hotel, we quickly confronted that we are not comfortable with this arrangement (the rooms offered is smelly and i saw a lizard on the dirtied wall). However they quickly returned us a room in 55, guess there may be some disruption in the booking system (over-booked?) or they may be trying their luck in putting guest to a room of lower value (checked that 61 charges USD10 lower than 55)

Overall, pleasant stay made worth with the great service team.

Room Tip: Avoid the second level for a quieter morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JacquelineTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

I stayed at the Rising Dragon Legend at 55 Hang Be for two separate nights in October 2012 (There is another hotel of the same name on Trip Advisor at 61 Hang Be and I assume it is the same place).

Anyway, this is an excellent inexpensive hotel right in the middle of Hanoi Old Town. The rooms were modern, well decorated and spotlessly clean and the staff attitude, friendliness and helpfulness could not be bettered no matter how many stars the hotel.

Strangely, after my first night there was a guest complaining about the hotel due to some late night noise from a neighbouring karaoke establishment and because in his opinion the breakfast was poor. I guess everyone has expectation but if you want to go to bed early with a cup of cocoa don't stay in the middle of the old town. Yes there was music playing up until around midnight but only on my first night. As for the breakfast it was more than adequate with coffee, juice, fruit, bread in the buffet and separate hot dishes than can be ordered off the menu. If you want better then pay many times the daily rate at an international chain hotel.

I would definitely stay here again and have no hesitation in giving it a fulsome recommendation. Tremendous value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank geoffhoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

I believe they have a lot of branches but we stayed at the one in Hang Be.

+ new and very clean
+ cozy
+ very good service; very helpful and accommodating staff especially Ninh and Hay (not sure of the spelling, haha sorry) - they helped us with directions, finding a cab, and recommended places to eat and shop despite having checked out earlier in the day
+ very convenient location, right at the heart of the Old Quarter
+ good value for money
+ free brewed coffee/tea, 24/7!

- standard room might be too small for Westerners

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank krna82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanoi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

The staff are great; the place is clean, fresh and modern; and the service is exemplary. The reception and tour staff speak close to perfect English, so queries or tour requirements are completed with ease. Their complimentary breakfast is a great way to start the day and brewed coffee's on 24 hours. Also, it's only a minute's walk to Hoan Kiem Lake and right in the heart of the hustle and bustle of the Old Quarter. A definite for all my future visits. Thanks everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank joyce g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Rising Dragon Grand Hotel
Rising Dragon Grand Hotel
#125 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
#107 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#26 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Luminous Viet Hotel
Luminous Viet Hotel
#176 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Quarter Centre Hotel
0.0 mi away
Au Coeur d'Hanoi Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Dragon Legend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Dragon Legend Hotel

Property: Rising Dragon Legend Hotel
Address: 55 Hang Be Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 566 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rising Dragon Legend Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hanoi, ancient Hang Be street still keeps the beauty of an old Hanoi’s culture and image , on which Rising Dragon Legend Hotel with over 25 spacious rooms in Western-style design is appeared as an elegant and luxury pearl beautifying the charming of the street. Furthermore, the pattern are carved precisely on natural wooden furniture in accordance with refined curtains and pure silky bed linen will make you easily fall into sweet and peaceful sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Rising Dragon Legend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing