We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overselling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rising Dragon Legend Hotel
Ranked #53 of 588 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overselling”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This hotel has an overselling/overbooking practice.. so it's luck of the draw for you. If you get a chance to stay at the hotel, 'grats. If not, you'll be shunted to a crappy, run-down hotel and be expected to pay the full price of the original hotel, unless you kick up a fuss.

The hotel we were moved to had blown bulbs and broken furnishings, and the reception insisted on charging us for bottled water even though we'd paid Rising Dragon prices (where water is also complimentary).

We stayed two nights and moved out after.

The hotel manager handled our complaint and offered to give the first night free or to claim the difference between the original hotel and the replacement accommodation. We decided not to pursue the matter as money wasn't the issue. In this case, principle was, and by then we had already felt violated and lied to. The staff will not tell you that the hotel has been overbooked. Instead, they'll provide many diverse and inconsistent reasons on why a room isn't available, which is infuriating when you're starting out on a vacation.

Good luck. Hope you have a better experience than we did.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JelloBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    74
    9
    8
    1
See reviews for
43
128
46
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one month, but by the end of my first day every staff member already knew and continued to remember my name. Vey welcoming and helpful staff with great english. They helped book weekend trips to Halong Bay and Sapa
The room is great with comfy bed, nice tv, good shower, air con and a safe. Delicious French toast (and other options) and fruit breakfast
I would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This hotel is an excellent value for money.Even if you pay more,you would't get anything better.Great location,close to everything.But even more importantly the service is at an outstanding level.Welcoming,friendly and helpful staff.They not only provided us with all the information we needed,but also arranged the tours we were interested in at fairly discounted prices.
The rooms are clean,newish and very comfortable.Also,it is quiet to sleep at night.
The breakfast is very good,one can choose various things from the menu.Plenty of fruits and juices.Free tea and coffee are available all day and night,at any time.
We would most genuinely recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Hanoi.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elisaveta5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel for the price. It is located in the old quarter and is close to many attractions in the city.
Upon check in the staff sat with us and explained all to see and do in the city and were extremely helpful.
The rooms are clean and well equipped, the only negative aspect is the bathroom is quite small and you don't really get a window or view. If that doesn't matter to you then definitely stay here. It's also located on a very busy street, yet once you walk in you can't hear all the street noise.
I recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I book Rising Dragon Legend Hotel on Booking, with window and twin bed room. But when I arrived at hotel after 8 hours bus, the reception told me they don't have room and ask me to go to another rising dragon. I insisted I don't want to change they finally gave 2 rooms, one is single bed without window. I told them this room is down graded so they should not charge the same price on booking, they replied this is bookings problem not them!!! Though the room is still acceptable but I will not choose this hotel any more. Their breakfast is good, staffs are also good, but reception is really bad!

Room Tip: The room with window and twin bed is acceptable, this room facing the street, maybe a little bit noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anping Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

For $40 you can't expect a 5 star hotel, but it wasn't doing too badly. A very warm welcome and a lovely clean hotel. We stayed in room 401 and initially it is very nice. We were upgraded to a family room, but one wall had damp and the toilet did not flush. We reported the toilet and they tinkered around but left it still not flushing (this late at bed time). We were only staying one night so hope it has been fixed for the next travellers.

With a small amount of extra effort it could have been a five start rating.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AndreaandHaydn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed at hotel from 24th to 26th Dec. The suite room was perfect with comfy bed, large window. the room accompanied with a balcony was perfect and we could have cofee here each afternoon while seeing the street down there. Great manager who was helpful,he recommended us the A class Opera cruise for 2day one night. We liked hotel location, just a short distance for local restaurants, the lake nearby. Enjoy this place and would stay again!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keanzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 mi away
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
#117 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rising Dragon Grand Hotel
Rising Dragon Grand Hotel
#135 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#25 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rising Dragon Palace Hotel
0.0 mi away
Old Quarter Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
B&B Hanoi Hotel
B&B Hanoi Hotel
#11 of 588 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Dragon Legend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Dragon Legend Hotel

Property: Rising Dragon Legend Hotel
Address: 55 Hang Be Street, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 588 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rising Dragon Legend Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hanoi, ancient Hang Be street still keeps the beauty of an old Hanoi’s culture and image , on which Rising Dragon Legend Hotel with over 25 spacious rooms in Western-style design is appeared as an elegant and luxury pearl beautifying the charming of the street. Furthermore, the pattern are carved precisely on natural wooden furniture in accordance with refined curtains and pure silky bed linen will make you easily fall into sweet and peaceful sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rising Dragon Legend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing