We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasant Surprise (and cheap!)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rising Dragon Legend Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rising Dragon Legend Hotel
Ranked #49 of 566 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise (and cheap!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel was a pleasant surprise, being very cheap, clean, we'll located, offering a pleasant stay. I had a room without a window / view which made it cheap, but light came into the room through glass bricks in the bathroom. The bathroom was small and narrow, but the shower was comfortable. For one night, this hotel was excellent.

The staff were fantastic and spoke very good English, offering so much assistance with tour & travel options & bookings. The hotel doesn't look like much from the street, but it was like a little hidden gem.

Breakfast was included in the room price and offered a selection of eggs, breads, pancakes, fruit, juices, coffee & tea. Simplistic, but tasty.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    72
    9
    8
    1
See reviews for
42
128
45
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

You're at the center of the action when you walk out of the lobby - motorbikes, street vendors, shopping stalls, more motorbikes. 2min walk to the tourist info center. 1min walk to the street for shoe knock-offs and the puppet show theater.

Check-in process was fast - I was in my room in less than 5mins. Well-appreciated checking in at around 130am.

The double bed is actually 2 single beds attached together, but the middle bit wasn't bothersome. I asked for a room at the back, instead of one by the street so I can avoid the street noise (it can get really noisy in this location), so I expected my small window to be facing another window or a wall - true for my room (504). Common set up for hotels in the old quarter. Luckily, the building next to the hotel wasn't as high as my room and the hotel was only 6-storey high, so I did get enough daylight in.

Wi-fi access in the room. Complimentary bottles of water (only 2 bottles for my whole stay), closet, hangers, safe, tv, air conditioning unit, fridge, kettle.

Cleaning can be improved a bit: the tea cup I used in Day 1 was not replaced. Was there for 4 days. They also didn't change the sheets - I have no problems with this (save water!) but some people may be put off by this.

With hot, cold shower. With 2 shower heads and faucet - more than enough for a budget hotel. With complimentary toiletries - some of the bottles/boxes had tears on it or faded prints or logos though - proof, maybe, of much re-use? Apart from the molds on the sink where it meets the wall (see picture), the rest of the bathroom looked clean.

For breakfast, basic buffet menu and same menu everyday with bread , fruits, eggs, pancakes, noodle soup (which i don't recommend, better tasting ones on the street). I love that it's just enough to get me through the first 1-2 hours of the day before trying out street food before lunch. Coffee and tea available the whole day.

All the staff I encountered were attentive, alert, pleasant. They also maintained a good balance between being friendly/chatty and letting you get on with your day. No one forgot anything, made a mistake with a request or took too long to address a request - I called for a hairdryer (because I didn't check the drawers) and someone was up in 2mins.

I'm really happy with this hotel but would I stay here again? Definitely, but I'd also still look around for other hotels to see if I could save a few dollars.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back to avoid street noise. If you want to get some daylight through your window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

My husband and I planed to stay here for 2 nights but stayed 3 nights because of Typhoon Haiyan (thank you for finding a room for us!). Staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was perfect (esp. the baguettes and passion fruits). Perfect location: walking distance to Hoan Kiem Lake.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JoannaJ60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 403 and 404 (those 2 rooms on same level facing each other). When we arrived the staff showed us few rooms but we were not too happy as the wallpaper or paint was peeling off and bathroom a bit dated. The staff was really understanding and show us those two rooms instead. The rooms were really clean, yes the wall had still some spot were the paint was peeling off in room 404 ( just on few spots though). There is an elevator and the staff is always helpful and help you with your luggage. Breakfast was included too and very generous, fresh fruits,toast, coffee, and you can ask to have pancake (yummy) or eggs.... The staff was amazing at the reception but also in kitchen and at the front door! What a great team!!! We booked a one night tour on halong bay with David, the travel agent inside the hotel (with galaxy premium tour!) I gave David a headache as I was an annoying customer (previously had a bad experience on a tour on halong baie). David made me the promess that he wanted us to be happy, and even made us pay when we came back. David is so reliable and you can trust him! Thank you for that David we had the best tour ever! (i will put a review for galaxy premium).Flat screans tv, large safe, towels, shampoo, conditioner, comb, toothbrush were included. Be careful though there are many rising dragon hotel (which are good too but look at the location on the map). The location at the legend one is awesome! Awesome staff ;)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecile M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland Warsaw
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and we were very satisfied with this hotel. The hotel is very conveniently located not far from the market, it is very clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful, providing you with a lot of tips. The breakfast is not that varied but still it’s alright. The gentleman at front desk speaks perfect English. Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We chose this hotel for its location, and it was a great idea, as we got the chance to wander around and check out all the life around. The atmosphere was very good, with extremely comfortable rooms. Great hotel to be in if you're in Hanoi to travel around.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertaOSn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We highly recommended this hotel! The stuff is so kind, answer any question and did not let as carry our bags for a minute. We also booked there the trip to ha long bay and to sapa and it was perfect. The only bad thing we have to say is that the size of the rooms is very small, we didn't spent that much time in the room so it didn't bother us.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Avishay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Rising Dragon Grand Hotel
Rising Dragon Grand Hotel
#127 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
#107 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#37 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Classic Street Hotel
Classic Street Hotel
#144 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
#116 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Quarter Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Dragon Legend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Dragon Legend Hotel

Property: Rising Dragon Legend Hotel
Address: 55 Hang Be Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 566 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rising Dragon Legend Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hanoi, ancient Hang Be street still keeps the beauty of an old Hanoi’s culture and image , on which Rising Dragon Legend Hotel with over 25 spacious rooms in Western-style design is appeared as an elegant and luxury pearl beautifying the charming of the street. Furthermore, the pattern are carved precisely on natural wooden furniture in accordance with refined curtains and pure silky bed linen will make you easily fall into sweet and peaceful sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Rising Dragon Legend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing