We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality in the centre of the Old Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Green Diamond Hotel
Ranked #160 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A very friendly hotel with helpful staff, headed by the wonderful Ms Gam, perfectly located in the centre of the historic Old Quarter, and close to literally hundreds of shops, bars and restaurants, and only a couple of blocks from the lovely Hoan Kiem Lake and its beautiful island temple.
We had a problem with our original room, Room 301, whose aircon struggled to cool with the extreme heat outside, and the aging unit on the balcony was noisy, which presented sleeping issues on our first night. However, Ms Gam promptly arranged for us to move to Room 202, which was perfect - cool and quiet.
There's a nice simple breakfast provided in the downstairs dining area, and the rooms have a bar fridge with drinks at virtually the same prices as you'd pay outside for beer, soft drink and the essential water. And there's a generous selection of complementary snacks left each day.
When booking, you can arrange to be picked up by a car at the airport for, I think, $US18, which massively simplifies the task of getting a taxi and finding the hotel in the maze of Old Quarter streets, and they can also organise a car to take you back to the airport. They will also supply you with alternative options for cruising Halong Bay. The cruise we went with was just sensational, and they will hold your luggage for you if you're returning to Hanoi afterwards. We sent a lot of emails to Ms Gam re bookings for cars and cruises before we arrived in Vietnam, and she always responded quickly and effectively.
There's no elevators, but the staff will happily (basically insist!) on helping you carry the heavy bags.
A very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Unless they've done a complete refit to the aircon unit in Room 301, I'd avoid that room. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reichman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greendiamondhotel, Người quản lý at Green Diamond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Dear Peter and Barbara,
Thank you so much for taking your time to share your experience regarding your stay at Green Diamond hotel.
I am so delighted to hear that our service and facilities have been up your expectation. Your kind words will be passed on the entire staff to encourage them continuously keep up their good job.

We are looking forward to an opportunity welcoming you back!

Kindly regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed four nights at the Green Diamond Hotel recently. A fantastic hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The location was great and the offered airport shuttle service was efficient and reasonably priced. The room was comfortable and had all the facilities we required as well as good air conditioning. Breakfast was also good. We also booked tours to Ha Long bay and Sapa through the hotel. They gave a good price and helped with our luggage storage during these trips and even let us shower at the hotel between the trips and after when we were leaving hanoi.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarnieD85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greendiamondhotel, Front Office Manager at Green Diamond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Stephen & Marnie,

We would like to thank you for choosing our Green Diamond Hotel in your recent trip to Hanoi. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your trip in Viet Nam so much.
We hope from your feedback via Tripadvisor site, our future travelers will have right choice for their staying in Ha Noi.
Thank you once again for sharing your experience and hope to see you in very near future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

the location is perfect. good staff. close to the night market. good breakfast. the rooms are value and clean. the speak english and try to do the most for the guest. a lot of shops around. we stayed there 3 nights

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilana059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greendiamondhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Green Diamond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Ilana,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your experience regarding your stay at Green Diamond hotel.
I am so delighted to hear that our service and facilities have been up your expectation.

We are looking forward to an opportunity welcoming you back!

Kindly regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

"Just what the doctor ordered" - we very much enjoyed staying at the Green Diamond: very friendly and flexible staff (especially Ms Gam, who supported us to organize our sightseeing trips), a large and comfortable room and bathroom, complementary snacks, and so on. Also the transfer from and to the airport worked perfectly.

We look forward to our next stay at the Green Diamond!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Disappointed_2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greendiamondhotel, General Manager at Green Diamond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Valued guests,

Thank you for spending time writing this wonderful review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and services.

Once again, thank you for choosing Our Green Diamond Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindly regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Good location in the old quarter near pubs and markets. Very clean. Friendly staff. Could not fault it. We stayed in another hotel round the corner for the same price but it was no where near as good as the green diamond.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greendiamondhotel, Front Office Manager at Green Diamond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Paul,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your experience regarding your stay at Green Diamond hotel.
I am so delighted to hear that our service and facilities have been up your expectation. Your kind words will be passed on the entire staff to encourage them continuously keep up their good job.

We are looking forward to an opportunity welcoming you back in very near future!

Kindly regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Good location (5 min walk to the lake) and very nice staff. There is no elevator in this 3 floor building but someone of the staff took our bags up. While we were on a halong bay cruise, we could leave our luggage. Breakfast is good and staff speaks very well English. The rooms are good and clean but we slept in two different rooms and the matrasses of the beds of the second room were really old, we could feel all the wires...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Elisebize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greendiamondhotel, Người quản lý at Green Diamond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Valued Customers,

It was our great pleasure welcome you at Green Diamond hotel recently. Thank you so much for your kind words toward us regarding our location and our helpful staff.
Since the guests satisfaction is our utmost desire, we all try our best to make your stay more enjoyable.

We are looking forward to an opportunity welcoming you back.

Kindly regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The Green Diamond hotel is located in the center of Hanoi. It is close near the beautifull lake / park. In 2012, the building got beautifully renovation into a hotel. It has three floors but unfortunately no elavator. In December, January, February it can be cold and rainy. Due to the lack of "heating" people wear sweaters and thick coats. The staff is very nice and willing service. The rooms are nice, clean, and for me (I was alone) large enough. A stay in this "Green Diamond Hotel" I can recommend to you especially.

Room Tip: Are you older? Request a room on ground floor or 1st floor. Hmmm you're young, go to the 2nd or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WajahAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greendiamondhotel, Front Office Manager at Green Diamond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

It is our great pleasure welcoming you at Green Diamond hotel. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and the service quality was up to your expectation.

Thank you so much for your kind words on Tripadvisor. We are looking forward to seeing you soon!

Kindly regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Parkson Hotel Hanoi
Parkson Hotel Hanoi
#163 of 600 in Hanoi
266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
#158 of 600 in Hanoi
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2
#149 of 600 in Hanoi
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
#138 of 600 in Hanoi
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.3 mi away
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
#97 of 600 in Hanoi
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Diamond Hotel

Address: 96 Hang Bac Street, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £17 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Green Diamond Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greeting from Green Diamond Hotel and warmly welcome to our hotel! On behalf of our Green Diamond Hotel’s management, I am very honor to send our honest thanks for choosing Green Diamond Hotel in busy Hanoi Hotels industry. Green Diamond Hotel is recommended from one traveler to other visiting Hanoi by own offering cozy & stylish accommodation. Moreover you our hotel also is recommended as the ideal place for both business and leisure travelers. Just 3 minutes from our hotel to the Hoan Kiem Lake – the heart of Hanoi Old Quarter, amid the Water Puppet Theatre, Ho Chi Minh Complex, restaurants, bars, shopping’s area, and banks. Our hotel also is known as the reasonable prices & guarantee high quality of services. Our first requirements of any staff working at Green Diamond Hotel are the kindness, friendliness and helpfulness that will make your perfect trip in Hanoi. We are on hand to ensure every traveler has a uniquely memorable stay, and a fantastic Hanoi experience! We are looking forward to hearing from you shortly! Best regards, The management of Green Diamond Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Green Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing