We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“7 Night stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mai Charming Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mai Charming Hotel & Spa
Ranked #45 of 566 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“7 Night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed at the Mai Charming hotel for 7 nights in one of the classic rooms 303. Arrived in Hanoi in the morning to be greeted by one of the hotels drivers. This is the best way to get into the city from the airport. At only $18 this was a bargain. Greeted at the hotel by the lovely "MAI" (receptionist). was offered a tea which I gladly accepted as it is cold here this time of year. Was offered an early check in which was great. Room was very nice and quiet which I really enjoyed. Beautifully decorated room with everything you may need on your holiday. If you were wanting anything else the hotel was more then happy to accommodate. All rooms here have breakfast included which is also a plus. on the 7th floor over looking the busy streets of Hanoi. A great way to plan your day.One of the best aspects of this hotel is the massage services that they offer at there spa "The Orchid" a wide range of services and at great prices. On the first couple of days of my holiday I booked in for 5 treatments at 1 hour long each. Great treatments and great service. I would recomend this hotel to anyone that would like something close to town but not in the hustle and bustle of it all. Only a 10 minute walk to the night markets but basically anything that you need is on the front door. Thank you Mai Charming hotel for a very relaxing stay and look forward to coming back soon. Big praises goes out to Mai. Such a lovely lady and an asset to the company

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as street can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    74
    15
    9
    4
See reviews for
20
89
41
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I'm at this hotel now. I booked a "classic room" through Expedia for $18/night. Neither the hotel nor Expedia advised me that "classic rooms" don't have windows, but David (cool guy) was able to find me a room with a window for no extra charge.

The breakfast is good enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked this hotel at the last minute because we needed to stay in Hanoi an extra night due to Vietnam airlines changing the date of our flight to Dong Hoi and our previous hotel did not have any vacancies. The decor of the hotel is great and the reception staff are competent and friendly.. However we had two rooms and there were maintenance issues with both. For one room we reported a strong sewerage smell which was remedied with cinnamon. The downlight in this room literally fell down and they just pushed it back up, I am sure it will just fall out again. The other room had a leaking toilet. The breakfast was OK but fairly basic. One room was facing the road which was quite noisy but the other was at the back and was quiet. The hotel was potential they just need to improve their maintenance.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper dont get a room facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrise98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

I had a perfect week in this hotel. The room was lovely and the staff was very nice, friendly with a good english level.
The breakfast was good too, with a lot of choose :)

Very well located in the town, this hotel is near everything, that was so convenient !!

If I go back to hanoi, i will go there without hesitation !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel have a friendly staff, good services and fast internet. This hotel are located in the middle of the town and are quite convenient to walk nearby market and shop lot to buy handicraft. In addition, the breakfast prepared by the hotel are very nice. The room was little small but have all the facility with big TV, air-con, hot shower and clean room. A recommended hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sapenmackey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The staff were very kind and helpful everything was nice rooms were small but that was to be expected for the low price. but it was nice in the rooms with a big tv. Breakfast was also not to bad there was a nice view its up the top of the hotel and there are a man there to cook me an omelet. Only real problem I had with the place was the bed it was way to hard. But if you don't mind that it was a great place and a short walk from the main lake.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanoismile_11, Owner at Mai Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear guest ( Thomas S )
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments and for acknowledging the improvements we must to do in the near future.
We were happy to read that you really enjoyed our staff, restaurant and our location. It is indeed an asset for the hotel.
we are pleased to inform you that We have set up some good bed with comfortable in some room from today. Do you know that we are a small boutique hotel as same standard 3 star. we are trying to served special of services is friendly - polite - hospitality & always special.

We are looking forward to welcoming you next time and hopefully provide you a fully enjoyable experience.

Best regards,
Hotel Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

A well-presented boutique hotel meeting all expectations. Great service and attentive staff, although there were minor issues with a bit of mould in the bathroom, a very hard bed, and poor lighting. Not at all a problem though and didn't take away from our stay in any way as we felt we got great value for the price we paid. Location was very central and within walking distance of all major sights.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
The Landmark Hanoi Hotel
The Landmark Hanoi Hotel
#253 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angel Palace Hotel
Angel Palace Hotel
#69 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Merci Hotel
Hanoi Merci Hotel
#152 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
#116 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Hanoi Hotel
B&B Hanoi Hotel
#11 of 566 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.5 mi away
Asia Palace Hotel
Asia Palace Hotel
#34 of 566 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Charming Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Charming Hotel & Spa

Property: Mai Charming Hotel & Spa
Address: 29 Hang Bong Str, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Mai Charming Boutique Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 566 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mai Charming Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter, newly renovated Mai Charming Hotel is only few footsteps walking away from the famous centered Hoan Kiem Lake - This super location getting a popular destination for domestics and foreigners who like staying in the town centered hotel with all the dining and entertainments surrounded. Boasting 35 sumptuous rooms and suites each furnished with elegant interiors mixed with locals traditional styles, Mai Charming Hotel & Spa provides our guests with the comforts of home and the sleek services of a five star service in a three star hotel. With the strength of a hotel with spacious rooms, the hotel provides the home away from home for the families with teens or youngers, couples, business men and groups of friends. Room amenities include comfort bedding and linens, flat screen TV's with multi-channel cable TV, coffee/tea facilities, refrigerator, complimentary wireless Internet access in all hotel corners and more. Included in the room tariff is a delicious breakfast where the best breakfast you can have in Vietnam will be found. Whether your travel to Hanoi involves business or pleasure, our friendly staffs can accommodate the most discerning guests. We are pleased to offer accommodations for short and long term stays. Check your email from the comfort of your room, catch up on the day's events with the complimentary Vietnam News, and receive calls in your room with your own phone. Allow our staff to book dinner reservations, pick up theater tickets, and stock your fridge. We are happy to offer suggestions on what you can do and see in and around our neighborhood and our fair city. Whether in town for a day, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of our Mai Charming Hotel & spa awaits you. Mai Charming Hotel & Spa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Mai Charming Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing