We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mai Charming Hotel, among the best in Hanoi.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mai Charming Hotel & Spa
Ranked #50 of 626 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is an excellent hotel. Great breakfast with friendly staff, fast wifi for free, nice receptionists, good room service. Honestly we couldn't of expected anything more from the staff and services here, it was fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaiKeong2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for Mai Charming Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We booked three nights here on seeing a good discount on a hotel comparison website. The hotel is in a good location and most of the main attractions are all within a 10 to 20 minute walk.

The staff are fantastic, especially Mai on reception who was very friendly throughout our stay. There is a free breakfast included on the 7th floor, which is very limited but you can get tea, coffee, omelette and a few other bits, fine for what we paid. There is free wifi on all floors.

BUT!! The building next door is being redeveloped into a hotel and the builders hammer and drill from 08:30 until 18:00 each day! You can hear it throughout the hotel and is constantly annoying. Mai was very apologetic and telephoned the room on the Saturday morning to warn us again, so the staff are lovely.

Such as shame for a good hotel at a great to have to have this racket next to them. I'm sure it will lose them business. We have another 5 days in Hanoi after our Halong Bay cruise. We would have stayed here but we cannot take the hammering and drilling, sorry Mai Charming Hotel.

It should be 5 stars for the price paid and service received but the building work is very annoying!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jame5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mai Charming B, Owner at Mai Charming Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Jame 5 !
Thank you so much for your kind feedback which is genuinely appreciated as we use this to review what improvements we can make to our product and service. I am delighted to note that you felt that you were looked after by our team in general very well and this is absolutely central to our service ethos.

I have noted that your problem has been finished ( The buiding next door has been finished repair ). It's not apearing again in the future.
Please accept my sincere apologies about your problem. Please rest assured that this has been followed up with my team and I would like to send you a separate private email to reinforce this. I very much hope that I can persuade you to consider trying us once more.

Thanks & Have a good day with your family
Kind regards

Management Team of Mai Charming Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We was loved the Mai Charming Boutique Hotel. It's located in the heart of Old Quarter (for Hanoi center) but an easy walk to the lake & water puppet show. We had a room upgrade on arrival,a complimentary a cup of Vietnamese Tea. The room was a good size for a hotel’s center. the bed was unbelievably comfortable & nice. A feature I personally find helpful because hotels in Hanoi tend to have smaller rooms compare to the Hochiminh city.
I had breakfast every morning at the 7 floors with some bread, sausage, fresh juice, fruits and hot foods. … with a lot of choice. Room rate 35$ per night is reasonable price for us. and there’s the option of ordering a la carte if you prefer that. The final, what really made my stay at the Mai Charming hotel was the service.
Would go to Hanoi just to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerala t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I had a wonderful stay at Mai Charming boutique hotel on Feb 2014. The welcome on arrival was warm and inviting; when I booked on the telephone the receptionist had asked if our stay was for a special occasion and we were advised that we had been upgraded to a Deluxe city view. the hotel is charming, small and lovely, the rooms are comfortable to the extreme - every little thing is anticipated and provided. The staff is helpful, knowledgeable, friendly and completely wonderful. Breakfast was a joy with Pho Ga – Pho Bo is very good.
Wonderful place to stay, it feels like home.
Thank you so much to all staff at this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chibao2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed at the Mai Charming hotel for 7 nights in one of the classic rooms 303. Arrived in Hanoi in the morning to be greeted by one of the hotels drivers. This is the best way to get into the city from the airport. At only $18 this was a bargain. Greeted at the hotel by the lovely "MAI" (receptionist). was offered a tea which I gladly accepted as it is cold here this time of year. Was offered an early check in which was great. Room was very nice and quiet which I really enjoyed. Beautifully decorated room with everything you may need on your holiday. If you were wanting anything else the hotel was more then happy to accommodate. All rooms here have breakfast included which is also a plus. on the 7th floor over looking the busy streets of Hanoi. A great way to plan your day.One of the best aspects of this hotel is the massage services that they offer at there spa "The Orchid" a wide range of services and at great prices. On the first couple of days of my holiday I booked in for 5 treatments at 1 hour long each. Great treatments and great service. I would recomend this hotel to anyone that would like something close to town but not in the hustle and bustle of it all. Only a 10 minute walk to the night markets but basically anything that you need is on the front door. Thank you Mai Charming hotel for a very relaxing stay and look forward to coming back soon. Big praises goes out to Mai. Such a lovely lady and an asset to the company

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as street can be noisy
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melbotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I'm at this hotel now. I booked a "classic room" through Expedia for $18/night. Neither the hotel nor Expedia advised me that "classic rooms" don't have windows, but David (cool guy) was able to find me a room with a window for no extra charge.

The breakfast is good enough.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked this hotel at the last minute because we needed to stay in Hanoi an extra night due to Vietnam airlines changing the date of our flight to Dong Hoi and our previous hotel did not have any vacancies. The decor of the hotel is great and the reception staff are competent and friendly.. However we had two rooms and there were maintenance issues with both. For one room we reported a strong sewerage smell which was remedied with cinnamon. The downlight in this room literally fell down and they just pushed it back up, I am sure it will just fall out again. The other room had a leaking toilet. The breakfast was OK but fairly basic. One room was facing the road which was quite noisy but the other was at the back and was quiet. The hotel was potential they just need to improve their maintenance.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper dont get a room facing the road.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chrise98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Helios Legend Hotel
Helios Legend Hotel
#164 of 595 in Hanoi
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Glance Hotel
Hanoi Glance Hotel
#63 of 595 in Hanoi
557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Chic Hotel
Hanoi Chic Hotel
#60 of 626 in Hanoi
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Suite Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Avatar Hotel
Hanoi Avatar Hotel
#20 of 626 in Hanoi
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Family Holiday Hotel
Family Holiday Hotel
#58 of 626 in Hanoi
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Charming Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Charming Hotel & Spa

Address: 29 Hang Bong Str, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Mai Charming Boutique Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 626 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: £16 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mai Charming Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter, newly renovated Mai Charming Hotel is only few footsteps walking away from the famous centered Hoan Kiem Lake - This super location getting a popular destination for domestics and foreigners who like staying in the town centered hotel with all the dining and entertainments surrounded. Boasting 35 sumptuous rooms and suites each furnished with elegant interiors mixed with locals traditional styles, Mai Charming Hotel & Spa provides our guests with the comforts of home and the sleek services of a five star service in a three star hotel. With the strength of a hotel with spacious rooms, the hotel provides the home away from home for the families with teens or youngers, couples, business men and groups of friends. Room amenities include comfort bedding and linens, flat screen TV's with multi-channel cable TV, coffee/tea facilities, refrigerator, complimentary wireless Internet access in all hotel corners and more. Included in the room tariff is a delicious breakfast where the best breakfast you can have in Vietnam will be found. Whether your travel to Hanoi involves business or pleasure, our friendly staffs can accommodate the most discerning guests. We are pleased to offer accommodations for short and long term stays. Check your email from the comfort of your room, catch up on the day's events with the complimentary Vietnam News, and receive calls in your room with your own phone. Allow our staff to book dinner reservations, pick up theater tickets, and stock your fridge. We are happy to offer suggestions on what you can do and see in and around our neighborhood and our fair city. Whether in town for a day, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of our Mai Charming Hotel & spa awaits you. Mai Charming Hotel & Spa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mai Charming Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing