We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something special in Hanoi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Art Hotel
Ranked #5 of 566 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Something special in Hanoi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

There really isn't much to complain about here. They were among the friendliest and nicest staff I've come across in my 6 weeks in Asia - and that's saying a lot. Charlie was top notch throughout and the utmost professional. We booked a 3-day cruise in halong bay through them and they arranged absolutely everything: airport transfers, baggage storage, cruise booking, etc. the best pho I had was here for breakfast surprisingly. They also had many options for western and Vietnamese breakfast - served promptly. Wifi was strong throughout the hotel and even in the room (unusual for Asia). My only complaint was that the laundry service they used lost my singlet and 2 pairs of socks and gave me someone else's. I gave back the clothes I got in error but my plane left early the next day and I wasn't able to get back my garments. Charlie at the front desk was very apologetic and handled it as best he could considering it was 11pm and I was leaving at 6am. I was reimbursed for a partial amount of the value of the clothing which was good enough for me, though I would recommend a better way of verifying clothes go back to the right person. Otherwise a great stay, and I will definitely go back there if I return to Hanoi one day

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,118
    171
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
208
609
133
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed at the Art Trendy in Hanoi for 2 nights at the start of March. The staff are very helpful and helped us to booked a cruise in Halong Bay and they were always looking for ways to assist. Their English was exceptional and made communication very easy. The hotel is modern with large rooms. The breakfast was tasty and they happily prepared more than one option if you were feeling especially hungry. We would definately stay at this hotel again if we return to Hanoi. Many thanks Josh and Marie

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Istvan and Maria from Hungary: We spent a week in this excellent small hotel. Great staff, Jenny, Kathy and the boys. We were welcomed with fruit and drink, moreover some suprise at evevnings as good night presents.They could help us in any cases. They arranged us a wonderful Halong bay cruise.The hotel is very clean, the breakfast selection is wide.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Istvan880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The staff were very attentive and helpful in taking care of warm welcome with drink and fruit as well as carrying luggages.

Hotel is located right at the heart of hanoi old quarter, making it easy for guests to go around.

Room Tip: Helpful staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dkc1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

From the moment we arrived we were treated with exceptional care and service. I was traveling with my adult daughter and we booked separate rooms. Both of our rooms were excellent. I was surprisingly upgraded to a suite at no additional charge and it was beautiful. My daughter's room was no less comfortable and exceptionally clean as well. The front desk staff spoke very good english and seemed to enjoy taking the extra time to chat with us giving us many useful and spot on tips for dining and getting around. Take their advice on dining, they know the best places and allow them to arrange your taxis for you as well. Hanoi has unscrupulous cabbies but the Art Trendy Hotel only deals with reputable drivers and the fees as small as they are can be paid in advance. We had booked nights on either end of a Halong Bay cruise so we stay there twice with the same great service. I was even allowed to leave a small portion of our baggage there before our departure for our cruise and they held it for me. Hanoi is a brilliant and surprising city and the Art Trendy Hotel was a jewel. Hotels are relatively inexpensive in Hanoi but don't let that fool you. When we booked our rooms we thought it couldn't be so easy and affordable but it is as advertise and definitely a great place to stay.
The day of our departure the staff almost insisted that we accept a breakfast that they would pack up for us to take along before our flight. We left very early in the morning and before the kitchen actually opened. We didn't want to put them out but accepted their offer. The staff arranged for a taxi to be at the hotel precisely at the appropriate time to get us to the airport on time for our early morning flight. They obviously know the routine much better than we do because by the time we arrived at the airport and realized as we woke up a bit more it was so pleasant to have breakfast with us. The food was packaged expertly and it was wonderful. Much better than what we may have grabbed at the terminal. (one dish was mango crepes just to give you an idea)

Room Tip: The views from either the street or the rear are not spectacular. Almost none in Hanoi really are co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtestafl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 2 nights beginning of March. Totally blown away by the staff; their welcome, hospitality, service, kindness and english spoken! The breakfast was great too... they have the best juice ever! (I wasn't sure on the flavour.. maybe mango?).
The room was great for the price, couldn't have asked for more. Bed and pillows very comfortable. Great shower.
Only negative... the fact that the hotel is in such a hectic city.... you don't need more than 48 hours in hanoi which is a shame as would have liked to have stayed in Art Trendy for longer! You may also not get best night sleep due to city noise but you will get there in all hotels in the centre I assume?
Staff really made the stay so pleasant. Cannot rate them high enough!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank florasharpley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

My third stay at Art and overall excellent, notwithstanding a couple of complaints that brings its rating down a bit (so 4.5/5).

The level of professionalism and service provided has, if anything, just gotten better...unsurpassed for this price & star range. (Better value IMO than the Elite chain.) Kudos to Jenny, Charlie, Cathy and the newest young lady (whose name I regretfully forget just now, please forgive me) for their attention and detailed answers to all my questions (Charlie esp. was brilliant), and special props to Jenny for her assistance in saving me time & money by booking a Jetstar flight to Hoi An directly on the premises. Also, when I forgot a USB device in my room's laptop, it was promptly delivered to me at no cost within a couple of days to my hotel in Hoi An...wow, now that's what I call service!

Apart from the wonderful staff/service, here are some key points you should know:

Room/Sleep - #604: quiet, spacious & bright room with pleasant view of neighbourhood; good mattress on queen bed...slept well! I highly recommend 604 (the larger 602 has 2 beds that fill just about the whole floor and has an awkward bathroom door)

Location - ideal, tucked away on quiet lane Hang But and within easy walking distance of everything in old town (and just 25 min. to the opera house)

Breakfast - limited but nicely done buffet including FRESH tasting fruit (unlike many other such star-rated hotels) with choice of pho OR eggs, even poached eggs now (thanks to my suggestion on visit 1?)...and they do eggs perfectly (no taste of oil/grease). Unfortunately I tried the pho one mourning and very disappointing -- tasted watery and I noticed other guests leaving unfinished bowls; so they need to address this issue

Areas for Improvement? - Apart from the pho, I wish ownership would get rid of that old, worn & dirty-looking brown carpeting they have on the stairs. (Mentioned this to the staff last June.) Unhygienic, and very at odds with the otherwise clean & minimalist image they're trying to present

Room Tip: Top floor 604 for quiet, brightness, view & ambience
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#13 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Art Hotel

Property: Golden Art Hotel
Address: 6A Hang But Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Art Trendy Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 566 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Art Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
uests with shopping Night Market (every friday to sunday) and banking facilities.We also offer all room with air conditioned,in room computer connect with wireless,desk, minibar and 24 hour room service. A convenient place of stay Golden Art Hotel it is Welcome to Golden Art Hotel Hanoi.A brand new hotel that opening 01st October 2012 features 25 luxurious rooms and suites. We offer convenience to our guests by providing elevators, restaurants, and other great amenities you can expect from a 3 star hotel. Offering fantastic value of money, it is located right in Very Quiet Street of Hanoi Old Quarter, approximately few minutes walk to Hoan Kiem Lake and the popular Thang Long Water Puppet Show and about 20 minutes by walk to Ho Chi Minh mausoleum.Indeed, in close proximity to the excellent attractions,convenient for good choice for couple,twin and familias travelers who like quite place to stay in Hanoi Old Quarter.We are young, professional staff who have a lot of experience in hospitality field, and we are friendly, easy going people, always listen and try to answer all of your questions, try to give you best things from our knowledge and understanding. An exceptional that has drawn much praise and repeat business Please come and find for your self why we are the first choice in Hanoi centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing