We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, slightly irritating staff!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Art Hotel
Ranked #5 of 563 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, slightly irritating staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights prior to a Halong Bay tour and one night following our tour in a "deluxe city view" room. Art Trendy organized our private car pick-up from the airport--quiet driver, clean car for 18 USD each way. The hotel itself is in a great location and very walkable to the tourist areas.

When we arrived, we were very tired from our travel to Hanoi that day -- our check-in process took a long time (apparently they need to register hotel guests with police?), and while the welcome drink and fruit were nice, we really wanted to check-in and crash. We were shown our room and given a very detailed explanation of everything in the room... kind of annoying when you're dead tired. Also, there isn't much of a "city view" from the second floor, but you do get all the sounds of the city. Bring earplugs. Had I known there was a "quiet" version of the same room, I would have requested that. The bathroom was in decent condition, and the shower was wonderfully hot and powerful. The room lock is a digital lock, and the in-room safe is electronic. The WiFi signal was also very strong in common areas and in the rooms.

Breakfast is included with the room, and was spot on. You selected a cooked-to-order item from the menu, in addition to a small spread of coffee, tea, juices, toast, etc. The kitchen isn't available the rest of the day it seems, just for breakfast.

Most of the staff was very nice and personable, the right amount of chit chat without overdoing it. Unfortunately, the gal running the hotel's front desk was overly chatty to the point of being a bit obnoxious. My husband and I found it very grating. Too helpful, too inquisitive, it was too much. THEN we were given a customer feedback form prior to our check-out, which my husband gladly filled out to let them know the staff attention was average, as we found one of the staff members to be irritatingly chatty. Not only did they read the comment card before we checked out, we were confronted in the lobby and followed down the street by one of the staff members about the average review, demanding to know why, and apologizing profusely for our disappointing stay (that wasn't the case as we did have a nice stay--very melodramatic). The very act itself called out why we marked the staff attention as average! Unreal. We left with a bad taste in our mouth and felt quite uncomfortable by this confrontation. We received a follow-up email later that day with a 15% discount offer and a list of apologies again.

Overall, the hotel itself is a fine place to stay if you can tolerate the staff's grating overattention to detail--it was too much for us to handle!

Room Tip: If you have a room facing the street, bring ear plugs. The hotel isn't tall enough for a "c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindseyRShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,117
    171
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
208
608
133
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Ask yourself what do you really want from your stay in Hanoi?

An excellent location.
A quiet and safe retreat after a busy day sight seeing.
An extended breakfast from 6.30 - 10 am.
Luxurious room.
Late check out.
Luggage storage and a free hot shower on that last long day.
Reliable and smooth airport transfers.
Value for money.
Most importantly knowledgeable and friendly staff who place you at the heart of your stay.

If the above meet your requirements you wont make a mistake by booking a stay at Art Trendy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank one-zingaro_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vina del Mar, Chile
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We made a reservation in advance for this hotel, but there was a mistake and Mrs jenny Phoung was extremly educated to ask for our help in solving the problem, at last they gave us a night in Art Boutique hotel of th e same trade an the other two nights here, but for that they did all the job of moving our lugagge and gave us an upgraded deluxe room for the last two nights. in both hotels service is absolutly exceptional, warmth and friendly, Charlie, Katy and others do thier job with great love to the customers and are always ready to comfort you. They get for you the tickets for an attraction or reservations, etc.. breakfast is enaugh to go all the day long without eating any more, in the room you have complimentary fruits, tea, coffee, water and the minibar.Rooms are very comfortable in any type and have Wifi and PC. Good night wishes with sweets put the crown to these exquisite hotels.

Room Tip: Sorry it has no pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mundoviajes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 x 2 nights with the hotel storing our luggage while we went to Halong Bay. We had a junior suite which was clean, quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was a good selection of buffet and order from the menu and I managed ok with gluten free restrictions. The fruit was particularly good. The staff were fantastic from the moment we walked into the hotel. Nothing is too much trouble and they go to considerable effort to care for everyone with a smile. Cathy in particular has a wonderful warm personality and efficient caring manner. It is a hotel that we would highly recommend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank helenb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed there two times in March 2014. The hotel is situated in a quiet side alley. Very friendly and helpful staff and very good breakfast. The first room with a huge window to the ally - was perfect. Furnished with love for the detail. Flowers on the bed, complementary water and fruits. In the second room (quiet deluxe room) same love for detail - BUT: there was a strange smell - like mould. We asked for another room - we instantely got another one - also a quiet deluxe room one level above. The smell in that room was less but recognizable. Seems to be a problem in some quiet - deluxe rooms to the back side. The rest was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MatthiasWag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at the Art Trendy for 6 nights in total so really got to know the staff and in our opinion this surely has to be the best boutique hotel in Hanoi. All the staff were great, genuinely friendly and cared about their guests, right down to the porters and cleaners.Jenny and reception staff all had excellent English but, more importantly, the ability to empathise with their guests. We arrived from a very early flight and as our son is living in Hanoi, he took us to a nearby cafe for coffee before checking in around 10am. We were greeted with cold drinks and fresh fruit and welcome smiles, and to our surprise they quickly got our room ready by 1030 and took our luggage up, so we could settle in and rest (this would be unheard of in the UK!). We stayed 5 nights then flew to Hoi An for 3 nights and were able to leave large luggage there till our return. We were greeted with genuine warmth upon our return and even had our room upgraded to the junior suite for no extra charge for our last night. As we met up with our son frequently, the staff even invited him to have breakfast with us and would not accept any charge for it. Charlie, Shiney and Kathy on reception were always ready to answer our questions and chat and helped out at breakfast to ensure an efficient serving up of the delicious mix of buffet and made to order food. The rooms we occupied were very comfortable and even looking onto street was not too noisy (apart from the cockerel!) as Hang But is a small side street. Thanks everyone, our favourite hotel stay ever.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

The service of the staff especially Charlie and Kathy is exceptionally good! They are very attentive and helpful-gave us good suggestion for restaurant and even go the extra mile by helping my friend to buy medicine from the pharmacy and even asked the bellboy to buy porridge for her! When we arrived early after the Sapa trip, they even arranged a room for us to wash up as soon as a guest checked out from the room. Room is so clean and well equiped with a laptop, umbrella, torch and even a safe box! What more can you expect from a 3 star hotel? Really value for money!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ngjudy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#12 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Art Hotel

Property: Golden Art Hotel
Address: 6A Hang But Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Art Trendy Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Art Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
uests with shopping Night Market (every friday to sunday) and banking facilities.We also offer all room with air conditioned,in room computer connect with wireless,desk, minibar and 24 hour room service. A convenient place of stay Golden Art Hotel it is Welcome to Golden Art Hotel Hanoi.A brand new hotel that opening 01st October 2012 features 25 luxurious rooms and suites. We offer convenience to our guests by providing elevators, restaurants, and other great amenities you can expect from a 3 star hotel. Offering fantastic value of money, it is located right in Very Quiet Street of Hanoi Old Quarter, approximately few minutes walk to Hoan Kiem Lake and the popular Thang Long Water Puppet Show and about 20 minutes by walk to Ho Chi Minh mausoleum.Indeed, in close proximity to the excellent attractions,convenient for good choice for couple,twin and familias travelers who like quite place to stay in Hanoi Old Quarter.We are young, professional staff who have a lot of experience in hospitality field, and we are friendly, easy going people, always listen and try to answer all of your questions, try to give you best things from our knowledge and understanding. An exceptional that has drawn much praise and repeat business Please come and find for your self why we are the first choice in Hanoi centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Golden Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing