We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please do not book here, awful experience”
Review of Hanoi Oscar Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hanoi Oscar Hotel
Ranked #337 of 651 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I arrived at the hotel after a overnight journey and the lady at reception very kindly provided breakfast and a room at the top of the hotel so it Would be quieter to sleep and so was a great first impression however things were to change. The rooms were not as advertised and the air conditioning barely worked. The first evening there was very bad rain and we asked the hotel if we could order food, however they told us the restaurant they use had closed and that in fact every other food place in the local area had closed early(8.45) due to the rain. The man at reception offered to get some food for us and we gave him more than adequate money for this, he arrived back and did not provide any change, although we would have asked him to keep the change for his kindness. We then ordered a bottle of water which should have cost 10,000 dong, and gave him a 100,000 note. After 10 mins he had still not bought the change back, and when we asked him about this he denied that we had given him 100,000. We thought we may have been mistaken but upon checking we realised we had indeed given him the bigger note however he denied this, but instead had stolen our money. The next day we arranged a tour to halong bay through the lady at the hotel due to our previous positive experience with her when checking in. She persuaded us to pay extra for better quality and so we decided to go for a more expensive trip (252 US dollars). We arranged to go bak to the hotel following the trip and purchased a open bus ticket through the hotel for onwards travel. There was a mistake on the trip and we were put in a lower quality boat but were advised by staff on the trip that we should speak with the hotel we booked it through n our return. Upon getting back to the hotel we explained the problems we had encountered and the lady was apologetic and assured us she would try to resolve our complaint, and told us to use the room to freshen up whilst she made enquiries on our behalf. 30 mins later we returned to reception to find she had gone home, and the man on reception tried to tell us we had been put on the right boat although this was not true, in an attempt to fob us off. He eventually requested someone from the company to attend to discuss our complaint. This was eventually resolved and we caught the overnight bus to our next destination. Upon receiving the bus tickets we had ordered, there had been yet another mistake and we had asked( and paid for) 5 stops and not 4 as our tickets showed. We were advised by travel company they needed to speak to hotel and we tried to telephone on several occasions but there was no answer. This poor experience at this hotel ruined what had been a great few days in Hanoi, and I would urge travellers considering this hotel to choose elsewhere, as it is likely you will be cheated out of money during your stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

The pictures of this hotel are deceiving. The toilet light was broken so we only had a small plug in night light to shower by. The wifi didn't work in the rooms.

The room was clean and the air con worked but I wouldn't return to this hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We made a reservation in another hostel but the guys told us when we arrived that they bring us to this hotel, the „Oscar Hotel“ (also called ‘luxe’ hotel) for the same price. First we did not get the room type which we originally booked, then the internet access in the room was very bad and there were ants in our bed and later as well in the bags… The main problem was actually the bad language skills of the staff. They spoke so little English that it was nearly impossible to communicate. We asked them if the breakfast was included and they said yes, it was. We also asked for a late check out, they promised us, yes, we can keep our room until 1pm instead of 12am. The next morning, the guy at the breakfast told us that we have to pay extra for the breakfast. After a long time of explaining, we could manage to have the breakfast included as promised the day before. Later on, we were in our room, and just after 12am the reception rang us to leave now. We told them that we asked for the late check out at 1pm. Five minutes later the guy from breakfast (which did not speak English at all) asked us to leave from the room now. Again, explaining, discussing, really annoying! Also the lady at the reception was quite impolite when we checked out even before 1pm. So, you cannot count on any communication in-between the employees… Furthermore, the rooms do not look as they are shown in the internet! Not a hotel which we could recommend, not even with the moderate rate of USD 13 per night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobiasHauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We booked this hotel based on its 'good' rating of 7.3 on booking.com and that its 'deluxe' room looked nice. We only wanted something slightly nicer than the average guesthouse over xmas 2012. They helpfully organised a transfer taxi from Hanoi airport as we flew in late and they happily accepted our late check-in, great.
It went downhill quickly from there. We were put into an ordinary looking room, nothing deluxe about it. We could only get wifi by our door but managed to find booking.com's confirmation email and then went to the front desk to show them what we had booked and everything we were missing. We asked for an upgrade as we were disappointed and had been looking forward to some luxury over xmas, gutted. We were told the hotel was full, even though we had booked. Fuming, we went to bed after telling them that we either had an upgrade tomorrow or we were leaving and not paying the late cancellation fee i.e. the next night's price. They agreed. A downpour in the night led to the discovery of a tin rough right outside our window, minor I know but it purely added to our anger at this point. We had paid for a balcony onto city views.
When we got up at 8 we checked booking.com's website and discovered we had been put into a 'triple room' which was more expensive and explained lack of luxury but incredibly booking.com was stating that there several deluxe rooms available.
We ate a poor breakfast in a dining room that looked nothing like booking.com's photos and was freezing and dirty before meeting the manager. When we presented him with our confirmation email etc he agreed to the upgrade and took us to a similar room that had only a twin bed and a balcony onto the noisy street. It had little noise insulation. At this point we decided to leave but first I asked to see the deluxe room which we had booked and showed him pictures of it on booking.com's website. He immediately confessed to not having a room in his hotel to that standard and description, bingo.
We went downstairs to pay up where he graciously said he would only charge us the deluxe room price even though we had stayed in a triple, I told him that I wouldn't be paying anymore than a standard room price. This meant that we were still down on money but I didn't care by this point and we settled up before a few more choice words and left.
The cherry on the cake has to be an email from booking.com stating that the hotel has told them that we were a 'no show' and consequently we owe money! Pure brilliance considering they organised the taxi from the airport to their hotel for us, ridiculous. I implore anyone thinking of staying at this hotel to give it a wide birth. There are so many other better hotels to go and stay at.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffers04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wiliby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
2 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.1 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#96 of 599 in Hanoi
2,344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Oscar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Oscar Hotel

Address: 23-25a Hang Thiec, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 651 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing