We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa(Hanoi)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$35
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$370
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,230)
Filter reviews
1,230 results
Traveller rating
1,168
59
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,168
59
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalong bayold quarterfruit platterfamily roomawesome hotelhotel is locatedthe hotel staffbanana pancakestrain stationhoan kiem lakeclean roomsthe location is perfectnight marketbreakfast was deliciousthe entire staffrose petalspho
Filter
Updating list...
750 - 755 of 1,230 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

To begin with, like many other travellers, we did some research on which hotels we should settle down for our 5D trips to Hanoi. Golden Sun Palace hotel has garnered overwhelming positive responses that we decided to also give it a try and we are so glad that we did!

Please do not expect a huge hotel lobby, dining area nor the room itself. We would say they are all adequately provided. However, what impresses us still (despite having had some expectation on the high level of service after the research) is the personalized services. We arrived early, just after breakfast time but before lunch time. Exhausted and famished, we were ushered to the dining place for fresh juice and soon after, an offer for breakfast. It's cook-to-order style and they were yummy.

As much as we want to have a hassle-free holiday, the weather was not co-operating. It rained a lot; and the hotel provided brollies for the hotel guests. Also, we actually took their package stay that includes a 1N cruise and 1D tour. Well, I must say that they are properly organized. For our own sight seeing, we were briefed on the hotel location on a map and from there we found our ways around the Old Quarters.

We'll definitely go back for another retreat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We arrived in Hanoi very late due to our delayed flight. Good thing our driver and the hotel staff didn't abandon us. We were greeted with smiles even if it was 2 in the morning. The room was spacious and has a lovely design. There's an elevator even if there were only 5 floors, a small one though. There were chocolates on our bed and a goodnight card.

We woke up late the following day and we were greeted at the front desk, the staff helped us locate the places we wanted to go on the maps provided at the hotel. We ate breakfast which is good. You can choose from bread, omelette, rice, fresh fruits etc. but no sausages or bacon.

The hotel is near the Hoan Kiem Lake. Walking distance to the Water puppet theater, night market and souvenir shops along the streets.. There are many restaurants nearby. KFC, vietnamese restaurants, thai restaurants, coffee shops. Closes at 9pm.

The staff are very helpful and always greeted us with a smile. They even helped us with our Halong Bay Tour. We didnt have to pay anything until our checkout which is very convenient.
Most of the must eat in Hanoi are just nearby the hotel which is great :) the famous Pho, egg coffee, one dish fish restaurant, bia hoi and lots more.

The street in which the hotel is located is quiet and the stores nearby closes early weekdays except friday.. The nearby street has high end shops where you can by art, silk and handicrafts.

We stayed in Hanoi for 4 days and it was raining all throughout our stay. After a long day, it was nice to come back to the hotel and relax.

Be careful with small taxis roaming around Hanoi. They switch money and the meter jumps. The taxi driver was shouting at us and people started to look. When we didn't gave in to his scam and when i tried to take a video of the taxi he drove away very fast. Plus the traffic is so bad, drivers would not yield for pedestrians. i thought we would never successfully cross the street!

The con? We can hear the tv from the other room. There's a small window which you really cant open because there's a room right across, thus your neighbor can see you. And there was this one night where the school across the hotel was having a party or something, their karaoke was so loud.it started late in the afternoon until when we got back in the evening. My earplugs didn't stand a chance against the loud karaoke.

Room Tip: We are light sleepers so we requested for a quiet room. they put us on the fifth floor. If you want a quiet room opt for higher floor. The rooms on the first floor isn't a good choice, foot traffic will wake you up specially in the morning, the rooms are right beside the elevator and stairs.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YaneSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

It's my second time i've been in this hotel and everytime is getting better and better, really nice and clean hotel with an excelent staff, you feel like you are at home since the first very moment, they offer you fresh fruits when you arrive (even breakfast if you arrive early morning) and chocolate in the evening, moreover, I want to thanks so much to Bruce, the person in charge because i forgot my shirt in the wardrove and he sent it to me back by courier to my house in Kuala, this is just spectacular!! Thanks so much and see you soon!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a total of four nights recently. We chose the family room as it was the largest option (60sqm) with two queen-sized beds. The room was fantastic - clean with modern furnishings. It was also on the uppermost floor which meant it was away from noise. The bathroom was slightly on the small side, but with a large shower. Daily housekeeping would leave chocolates and rose petals behind.

Customer service was personable and very friendly. Breakfast service was ordered through a menu and efficient. We also booked our Halong Bay overnight cruise with the hotel, and I believe they offer other tours also.

The location is central, only a 5min walk to the water puppet theatre and lake.

The only fault to point out was we had a problem with the towels provided - every night at least one or two would be stained.

But overall this hotel is well worth trying, for an amazing value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syrupmaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

From to moment I first started emailing to organize our stay, the staff could not have been more helpful. They made all our travel arrangements from pickup to drop off including an excellent Hanoi guide (David, in a Man Utd shirt) and our Halong (Bai Tu Long actually) bay trip. Lovely room, with super shower, on the front to watch the street life and exceptional service always with a smile. Great location in a quiet side street in the old quarter. The Gecko restaurant just down the street at no 86 (see separate review) is definitely worth a visit.
Thank you Flower, Julia, Bruce, "Mr Monkey" and everyone else for such a pleasant stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midknightbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews