We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
Ranked #10 of 579 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

If you are on a budget, looking for a good position and happy with the basics but also want a touch of comfort- stay here.

Pro:
Excellent service, large room, large shower, clean and staff are accommodating.

con: poor breakfast set up

One evening we had construction works in our next door room, sounded like a drill was going to come through the wall: I called to reception - they quickly made a plan and said they could not stop the noise but they would move us to their hotel next door for some sanctuary or even move us to another sister hotel and would also call us when the noise stopped so we didn't need to move our bags. Their level of accomodating us was exceptional and we appreciated it.

Dinner bookings were made with ease through the staff
and super helpful to help us get around town.

Extra info: on arrival you will probably be upgraded, meaning you will just go I the next door hotel( sister hotel literally next door), this seems a Standard offering when occupancy is low.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank gemine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    899
    69
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
160
412
95
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel is next door to it's sister Hotel (the suites) in the old town of Hanoi - so you are right in the action! The people of Hanoi are early risers and early to bed, so whilst the street is quite busy (this is Hang Quat; which is fan street - each street in the district is named after the goods it sells) it is quiet by 8.00pm each night.

If you want craziness and action after 8.00pm, you don't have to go far as this location is within easy reach of the night markets and main tourist sites (you can walk to the lake and park in 5 minutes or so) and plenty of restaurants.

The staff are super friendly here and ready to help with whatever you need - even supplying a refreshing welcome drink on arrival, they were exceptionally helpful with information on surrounding Hanoi and shopping.

Our room was clean and comfortable, but it didn't have an outside window, which made it feel rather underground; but we were hardly there so this wasn't a problem.

Any of the services we used at the hotel were all reasonably priced (laundry, minibar, taxis etc.) and there was complimentary water and fruit in the room. There is also a safe in each room, so you can leave your valuables while exploring the city.

There is no bar in the hotel; they do serve breakfast however - a selection of fruit and then eggs, yoghurt and some other basics. There is an excellent bar on this street (Green Mango), for food and drinks later in the day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonpham11, Customer Care Team at Golden Sun Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear AndyS100,
Greeting from Golden Sun Palace Hotel, Hanoi.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the GSP. I am glad to hear our location in the city center made your Hanoi exploration more convenient and that your experience on property was an excellent one!

Our staff prides themselves on being personable and helpful in every way possible, so I am delighted to hear they continue to exceed your expectations. It is always appreciated when guests send us positive feedback and I look forward to sharing your compliments with my team.

It has been a pleasure having you as our resident and we are glad to have provided you with a memorable experience. Thank you for choosing to stay with us - we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on another occasion.

Warm regards,

Bruce
Customer Care Team
" We Care About You, We Care About Your Trip"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here and from the very first moment we arrived the staff made us feel more than welcome. We arrive at 10am and were offered breakfast and drinks before we had even checked in. They made our rooms available to us hours before the "standard" check in time and when we left to visit Halong Bay, they were more than happy to look after our luggage for a couple of days.

One of the members of our group had their luggage lost on the flight and the front desk made it their responsibility to chase this up with the airline. They arranged our sleeper train, booked various attractions for us and gave indepth advise on where to go and what to do.

A special mention should be made to Flower and Bruce who were exceptionally helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonNick23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonpham11, Customer Care Team at Golden Sun Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear BrightonNick23,

Greeting from Golden Sun Palace Hotel, Hanoi.

Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your experience at our hotel. I am delighted to hear our service and accommodations made your trip to Hanoi a memorable one. Our staff prides themselves on being personable and helpful in every way possible

It is always appreciated when guests send us positive feedback and I look forward to sharing your compliments with my team.

I would like to thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you and your family in the future if you are in Hanoi.

Warm regards,

Bruce
Customer Care Team
" We Care About You, We Care About Your Trip"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a fantastic stay here. Room was most adequate, clean and comfortable. Service was excellent and there was a good selection at breakfast. Loved being able to walk into the old quarter and around the lake easily. Great location for getting out to the night markets.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We are a family of 4 and stayed 4 nights from 29 May 2014. We got a family suite on the 6th floor. Upon arrival we had a nice welcome drink which was really nice. It was my son's birthday and the hotel surprised us with a chocolate cream cake. We also booked 2 day tours thru the hotel and we were satisfied with the tour which was exactly as described in the hotel website.

Special thanks to Bruce and rest of the hotel staff who made our stay memorable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank win888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Julia and Flower come to greet us. They are so nice and kindful. They upgrade our room to suite without a charge. Unbeliveable. The room is nice and very big. The location also in centre of Hanoi. very near to Hoa Kiem Lake. For sure, would stay here again for the next visit. Worth money , great staff, excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tegar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillston, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

A Fantastic stay at this Hotel, absolutely perfectly clean, great breakfast...you choose of a menu...it's cooked fresh. The Manager Bruce couldn't do any more to accomadate us, he even walked me to a pharmacy as I caught a allergic reaction from a place I just visited. It's very close to everything. You can even request a half or full day tour with motel. A great home away from home.

Room Tip: We had a different room on two occasions the one with balcony was perfect. (No swimming pool)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shazlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
0.1 mi away
Serene Premier Hotel
Serene Premier Hotel
#3 of 579 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
#13 of 579 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Trendy Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi E Central Hotel
Hanoi E Central Hotel
#11 of 579 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sun Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sun Palace Hotel

Property: Golden Sun Palace Hotel
Address: 33 Hang Quat Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 579 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sun Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golden Sun Palace !The brand new Golden Sun Palace just opened on 30th Dec, 2012Hanoi’s newest boutique hotel combine’s modern architecture and features with traditional Vietnamesestyle in 29 well appointed rooms. Located in the heart of the Hanoi Old Quarter on historic Hang QuatStreet, it is a short walk to the Night Market Hoan Kiem Lake, the Water Puppet Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Sun Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing