We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lives up to the name "friendly"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Friendly Hotel & Travel

Friendly Hotel & Travel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Friendly Hotel & Travel
Ranked #103 of 566 Hanoi B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lives up to the name "friendly"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed two nights at the hotel, before leaving to Halong bay (trough another company). The rooms are fine, big, hot water, tv and everything you need. The bathroom had toothbrushes, shampoo and soap.

When I came back from Halong bay I went back to stay two more nights. I told the receptionist I wanted to buy a motorbike, and he drove me to a company and helped me picked one. The ATM close to the motorbike company did not work, so he lent me money to buy the motorbike. Then he helped me buy a raincoat, a jacket and so on.

I wanted to decorate my bike with stickers, so we bought stickers, then he sat up half the night helping me decorate my bike.

Then he gave me a great route to follow, and so far it's great!

I sprained my foot, so I had to go back to Hanoi. I went back to the hotel, and the receptionist felt my foot, and then he drove to the pharmacy (around midnight) to buy a "blanket" that would help, while I was waiting at the hotel.

Super friendly staff, almost to kind. Really helpful with anything. Just ask them, and they recommend, show or even take you there themselves. Helps you book plain tickets, bus tickets or whatever you need.

If you need to print out anything, feel free to use the computer in the reception.

Helpful, friendly and good value for your money.

Thank you Friendly Hotel for an awesome stay in Hanoi!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    17
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
20
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just spent 2 months in Vietnam on my own, taking photos. I came across the Friendly Hotel & Travel in Hanoi. I had a very complicated itinerary and Tet made it even more difficult for me to plan it out. I was so lucky to meet Mr. Han Do!! I never met someone as helpful as he was to me. I spent over 7 hours with him , as he put together my itinerary in a clear logical order. I also needed a visa extension due to Tet, which he advised me about. He had all the facts in his head, and made me feel relaxed and confident!!! He took care of my #1 priority( Sapa and BacHa) with ease. I never met an agent who worked so hard for his client. All of this was done ,before I even stayed at his nice little Friendly Hotel. Han Do even called me at the various places he booked for me to see how I was doing!!! What a nice gesture. If you are planning a trip to Vietnam in the near future, forget about travel books etc.! Go to see Mr. Han Do and put your mind at ease.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank APL007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at this hotel, room was spacious and clean. The guys at reception were very friendly and welcoming always chatting with us. We booked two tours with Huy to Halong Bay and Sapa and enjoyed them both so much,we came back to Hanoi and stayed at the hotel another few nights.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank emma m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend have had the most relaxing and enjoyable stay at this hotel. The manager is extremely helpful and friendly, he could not do enough for us. We checked in a little early after getting off the sleeper train, the room was lovely (one of the nicest we have stayed in to date in Vietnam), the bathroom was a little dated but the shower was powerful and plentiful. The manager had plenty of information about the area, ha long Bay and Sapa, so much so that our ha long Bay trip was booked through him. Looking online, the trip we have booked has received good reviews and so we await that trip. We will be staying here again on our return to Hanoi, if that doesn't speak volumes, I am not sure what does. A fantastic little budget hotel that I would highly recommend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Chanced upon this hotel on the first night in Hanoi after terrible dinner experience around the same area (Great food but horribly loud and cramped environment). We were scouting for Halong Bay tour and popped into this place to enquire. Han did a great job at helping us find a cruise as many were rushing to get on one too after Typhoon Haiyan passed Vietnam. As we were worrying abt accomodation after coming bck fr Halong, Han offered us room at a much lower price than the place we were at. Han even offered to safekeep our luggages when we go for the Halong trip. Upon coming back we were warmly greeted by Han and his staff and given the key to our room. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The a/c, fan, water heater etc all worked beautifully. The advice and tips given were genuine and without biasness. Han booked a cab to the airport for us at a much cheaper rate compared to other quotations. He had even told off a lady selling sugar donuts on the streets for overcharging me! The warmth and hospitality is genuine and you will feel really comfortable here. Definitely heading back for 2nd rounds! Thanks guys for making our Hanoi experience a positive one! :D

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyDeefyant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and were very happy with the level of service we received. We haggled a bit on the price of the room, so we got quite a good rate. We then booked a trip to Halong bay through the hotel, which was quite good. Ensure to haggle if booking day tours, these guys are nice and friendly, but will overcharge you of they can.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank petergrimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Just spent a night here and we're very happy. Extremely friendly manager and went out of his way to offer any help he could. We paid $10 and in return received a room with double bed, a/c, fan and hot water. It's a couple of blocks walk from the lake. I did enquire about larger rooms and he said they have them for $15-$20. I would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Essence d’Orient Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Elite Hotel
Hanoi Elite Hotel
#3 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Guest House
Hanoi Guest House
#4 of 566 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tu Linh Palace Hotel 2
Tu Linh Palace Hotel 2
#10 of 566 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendly Hotel & Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Hotel & Travel

Property: Friendly Hotel & Travel
Address: No. 68 Ma May, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 566 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-positioned in Hoan Kiem District - Old Quarter, Hanoi Friendly Hotel is the ideal point of departure for your excursions in Hanoi. Only 45 km away, this 2-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. With the city's main attractions such as Museum Of Independence, Old Quarter, Hang Ngang Hang Dao within close reach, visitors to the hotel will just love its location.Hanoi Friendly Hotel also offers many facilities to enrich your stay in Hanoi. A selection of top-class facilities such as bicycle rental, valet parking, laundry service/dry cleaning, concierge, airport transfer can be enjoyed at the hotel.Hotel accommodations have been carefully appointed to the highest degree of comfort and convenience, with shower, separate shower and tub, desk, internet access – LAN (complimentary), hair dryer in each room. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Superb facilities and an excellent location make the Hanoi Friendly Hotel the perfect base from which to enjoy your stay in Hanoi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing