We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel, missing amenities”

Street Backpackers Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Street Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #148 of 450 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay here. Ads are misleading, as there is no hot tub, book exchange, or bicycle hire. There is AMAZING wifi (all floors), a nice (other than owner, not great with effectively answering questions) family staff, and tour operations available. Breakfast was nice (didn't expect to be served breakfast!) and maps were great. Clean and good value. Blankets being included is always nice! Quiet vibe.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Hostel was very clean and the staff were very friendly, Lio helped us out with a problem even after we had left via Facebook!

We booked a trip to Ha Long Bay at the hostel as well as our open bus ticket - both were made very simple processes.

Would definitely recommend, and the free beer is a nice touch!

Stayed: April 2014
3  Thank Leigh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We were pretty lucky to find this stay in Hanoi. The owner Lio and his little family have been so nice to us..they showed us around, took us to the local market and the zoo...helped us to find a good motorbike and everything else we needed for our motorbike trip.
It was a great experience and we are very happy that we ended up staying at the Street Backpackers Hostel! If you wanna stay in a nice hostel which is not packed with party tourist and have a real Hanoi experience...choose this one.
In addition to that they made my birthday very special! Thank You!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DanielLehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

This is a fine cheap hostel. The accommodations are nothing special but for the price, it was worth it. The staff were friendly and the location was great. Breakfast was also included which was a nice touch. I'd definitely recommend this hostel for budget travelers.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
9  Thank Joey613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Nice place, good location, friendly staff. Lio knows the best places to eat in Hanoi. Free breakfast and one-hour free beer... ;)
In my opinion, the best value for money in Hanoi (after 2 weeks in the city this year and 2 more last year)

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Josebasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay if you are a budget traveler, looking for a fun social place to stay amongst the old quarter. Free beer and rice wine from 8-9 brings everyone together so great for meeting new people.
The family that run the place are very friendly and helpful. Happy to make any bookings for you. Laundry service available.

We stayed in the 3rd floor dorm which was spacious enough with a multi-purpose bathroom like most places in Vietnam.

Would happily stay there again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
10  Thank outback-backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

On our first day in Hanoi, we found this hostel and ended up staying for about a month. The staff here is amazing and extremely helpful. The place has everything you need and can organize tours, transportation, and visa extensions. I will definitely be back to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.7 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#99 of 603 in Hanoi
2,394 reviews
2.3 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Street Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Street Backpackers Hostel

Address: 1 Ngo Huyen | Old Quarter, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 450 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range: £3 - £4 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Street Backpackers Hostel is top hostels run by a Vietnamese family in Hanoi, located in the center of the Old Quarter in Hanoi “Cathedral quarter”. It is just a stone’s throw from St. Joseph’s Church (Cathedral) on a quiet lane. This convenient location allows you to be just a 5 minute walk from Hoan Kiem Lake, Vietnam Airlines booking office & Quang Trung bus stop (for service to Noi Bai International airport). You can get to all the famous travel points, restaurants, craft shops, pubs and art galleries,… as soon as you step onto the main road. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing