We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amicable staff, great single rooms, amazing location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Time Hostel 2
Ranked #30 of 577 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Amicable staff, great single rooms, amazing location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I had a single room that was certainly more I've a hotel than a hostel, big and roomy and clean. Ann (the owner) is just amazing, a beautiful person all around. She helped me book everything from ha long Bay to my future hotels and train tickets and always made sure I was always having the best time possible. Stay here for sure

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesartmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    67
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
134
46
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here before and after our halong bay cruise. The hotel has a great location and it is easy to walk everywhere. The room are modern and spacious, ours had no window though.. the only bad thing is that the hotel is a bit noisy, it has 30 rooms spread across different floors but you can hear people going up/ down the stairs and opening their doors which was a bit annoying when we Wanted to have a lie in on the last day..

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank aurore1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We were moved here from their sister hotel (golden time 1) for our 2 night stay due to a sick person refusing to leave their room. From the outset they were very friendly and helpful, giving us information on tours but not going in for the hard sell. The room we had was large, clean and had a decent bathroom, but no window. We were given coffee and fruit on arrival and breakfast was brilliant both days. We were also offered coffee each time we came in. The manager was a young man called tony who recommended places for us to go and gave us directions. He also remembered our names and asked us about our day/night which was nice. We moved to their other hostel after 2 days and they organised moving our things etc. The 1 day halong tour we booked through them wasn't brilliant but overall the stay was.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

The name is deceiving as it is a 3 star hotel not a hostel. This means it is definitely not the place to meet other travellers. But it far exceeds any hostel I've ever stayed in. It is un-faultable. Fantastic staff who will do anything for guests. Great value. We booked a Halong Bay tour through them that was OK but the process very stress-free. The hotel is in a great location. Rooms really nice if you get one with a window. It doesn't have any shared facilities. I stay here every time I'm in Hanoi and you should too!

Room Tip: Ask for a window otherwise the rooms can be a bit musty and the front ones almost have a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadinabigocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful, the beds are comfortable, and the rooms are elegant. You can likely find similar rooms at other hotels in the area, but what you won't find is this level of service. All the staff are excellent! They greet you with smiles and are eager to make your stay phenomenal. Tony is at the front desk for the majority of the day and is an absolute savior.
We arrived in Hanoi late one evening, and had Tony's taxi driver waiting for us at the arrival gate for an easy transition for the same price as all regular taxi's (15usd). We had our fingers crossed that we would be able to get to Sapa the next evening. When we told Tony we were going to try to search for a travel agent and he offered his assistance instead. He booked the train there and back and also booked us onto a flight we needed and another train, all at the same or lower rates than we had found online and elsewhere. He made some recommendations for our travels but did not pressure as to book anything that we were unsure of. Tony's only real motivation is to make his guests happy.
When we arrived back from Sapa Tony offered us a room to shower and sleep in for a while and a free breakfast despite the fact we were not staying the night.
The hospitality at this hotel goes beyond anything I've ever experienced and I hope to encourage more people to stay and have the same great experience in Hanoi as did myself and my boyfriend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here on two occasions between travels to Halong Bay and Sapa and Ann, Tony and the other staff were really helpful in booking tours and ensuring our stay was pleasant, for example by making a room and shower available to us on our early morning return from Sapa. Thank you! We had a great room looking out to Hoan Kiem Lake. A few minor initial problems with aircon and the fridge were quickly resolved, as well as some confusion over train tickets which we had reserved previously. There is a lift which is helpful when you are on the seventh floor. The location is good for most places tourists are likely to want to visit in Hanoi. Breakfasts are generally a baguette, tea/coffee and some lovely fruit. Certainly a good value place to stay in Hanoi and I would definitely come again.

Room Tip: Consider paying a little extra for a room with a window as it is so much more pleasant. The lift onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were transferred over from the other hostel because they had double booked, as a result of the typhoon i think. At both hostels we were greeted by very friendly staff and given drinks. The room we stayed in was really good for the money. The owners can't do enough for you and were really helpful in booking flights and taxis for us. We got a free breakfast which was unexpected although it really wasn't very nice!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annasmith87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#41 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Focus Boutique Hotel
Hanoi Focus Boutique Hotel
#153 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Merci Hotel
Hanoi Merci Hotel
#159 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Viet View Hotel & Spa
Viet View Hotel & Spa
#107 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Time Hostel
Golden Time Hostel
#29 of 341 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Old Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Time Hostel 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Time Hostel 2

Property: Golden Time Hostel 2
Address: 8 Ly Thai To | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 577 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Time Hostel 2 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golden Time Hotel 2! Our Hostel is located on the large & quiet Ly Thai To street which is very close Hoan Kiem Lake( symbol of Hanoi Capital), ANZ bank, Opera House ( was built in 1911 by the French), shopping area, just next to a bunch of traditional Vietnamese, Indian, Italian and Asian cuisine restaurants. Each room is equipped with facilities such as: antique wood furniture, wood floors, satellite TV, a mini bar, working table, wardrobe, bathtubs, air conditioning, telephone, and ADSL Internet connection for you convenience. We are one of the tallest buildings in the Old Quarter and have installed an elevator connecting the nine floors and 24 guest rooms for convenience during your stay. There is also a restaurant and bar on the 8th floor, offering European and Asian food for breakfast, lunch and dinner and surely, a royal view of Hanoi. With our new look we aim to create a new standard of hotel service in Hanoi that is honest, helpful, friendly, and informative. To make your holiday stress free you can book tours and transportation in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Time Hostel 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing