We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Ranked #23 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

conveniently located in the heart of old quarter w great choices for local viet food around the corner. this 3 star hotel surprises me with their effort and service and attitude. they took note of our anniversary and cleverly decorated our suite with balloons and cakes. The room is tastefully furnished in teak, cleanliness was top effort and we love the fresh flowers and local fruits that are changed everyday. The suite is also notably bigger than the list of other hotel suites that we were looking through which definitely makes a diff once you are in the old quarter. we stayed at level 6, comes with a bath tub and balcony. noise level didnt bother us even though we were light sleepers as it typically dips around 11+pm and this is part of the flavour living in the old quarter anyway. Wifi was of standard and they have a good selection of travel books and local map for travelers without a plan in mind. receiption staff are responsive and gives good rec for street food with authentic viet flavour instead of safe café/restaurant choices. cafe food was delicious and their staff are always cheerful and willing to help. They have a tie-up with SF spa which provides free 1 way transport to pick u up. Prices were higher than what you would have seen in the street but it’s a decent spa worth paying the extra for (not pushy for tips tts a pt I always look out for, book early for good therapist as they couldn’t provide us w any on one night which we booked on the same day near dinner time, foot massage was not up to our standard, their body massages are better). We booked the halongbay cruise trip with them out of convenience. The only disappointment was the concierge did try to quote us a higher price for the trip without knowing that we have already conversed with the sales manager who has given us a rate. Might be miscommunication on their part or worst case small dishonesty, nonetheless we were lucky to have great travel company which made the trip a lot more entertaining and cosy. couldnt think of how they could do better given that we paid <90usd a night for a suite like this. We will visit again. Stayed dec 2013 as a couple.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgirlsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
There are newer reviews for Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

650 - 656 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Can't wait to write this review to support Meracus II, for the great experience I had staying here. The staff were so nice and helpful. I forgot to print out my flight itinerary, staff just printed for me. I wanted to try some typical local food, staff just recommended a good place. I couldn't find the place I was going, the staff just patiently directed me over the phone. My father had a sudden pulpitis, the staff just marked all the nearest dental clinics on the map for me. Above all, perfct location (20min walk to the Ba Dihn Square, 4min walk to the Hoan Kim Lake); room was clean and quiet; cute little toiletry items; great great breakfast ordered and prepared right from the menu. BTW, we stayed in Room 800, on the top level.

Room Tip: Be sure to take the map provided by Meracus, it makes perfect sense when you find yourself needing d...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I've stayed in many different hotels during my four months Asia trip - and Meracus2 was the best value for money of them all.

Service is excellent. Rooms are spacious and clean. Great selection of breakfast. Location is perfect, with a short walk to the lake and the most interesting parts of Hanoi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HungMeracus, Customer Service Manager at Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Our Valued Guests,

It is such a good luck of us to be the most favourite hotel during your four months Asia trip. We do appreciate you favour and we feel so proud to hear that our efforts in ensuring our guests are looked after in such a friendly and welcoming way have been highlighted.

From the bottom of our hearts, we are sincerely thankful to you for being our distinguished guests in Meracus hotel 2. We also would like to express our heartfelt gratitude for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours in service,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Wow! What a great first experience of Hanoi. The staff truly made us feel welcome. Unlike other hotels the staff were NOT pushy in directing us to certain locations or shops, but genuinely wanted us to have a wonderful time in their city. The beds were comfortable and the shower had endless hot water. The hotel is in a great location and the windows adequately blocked out the street. The free breakfast was delicious and freshly cooked to order. Would recommend this hotel to anyone, family, couples or us; friends traveling. Thank you Meracus 2, we love you!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We had a great three night stay in the triple room here. The staff were exceptional, clearly putting every effort into make our stay a good one. The breakfast is excellent, unlimited a la carte, a good mix of local and international food. This place gets such good reviews for good reason.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doodle186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Amazing surprise we had when we arrived. Our room on the 8th floor was like a much loved room in our own home. Beautifully decorated, free laptop, huge bed with sumptuous bedding. Breakfast was probably the best I have ever had, anywhere. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: 8th floor, can't beat the room!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HungMeracus, Customer Service Manager at Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Our Valued Guests,

Thank you for sharing your most gracious feedback from your stay at Meracus hotel 2. We are delighted to read that you described us to be like much loved room in your own home. Great to note you enjoyed our facilities to its fullest and that the culinary aspect of your stay was so good as well.

We are very grateful for such kind comments following your stay with us. Again, thank you so much for having taken the time to share them through TripAdvisor. We are truly honoured by your compliments.

Please do let us know when your plans bring you back to Hanoi. We would be delighted to assist with the details of your stay to ensure another grand experience.

Yours in service,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

First and foremost, the best thing about the hotel is the staff. I don't remember everyone's name except for Hermes and Anna, but EVERY SINGLE employee provided excellent service. Every day we were treated with the utmost respect. My husband and I have been to hotels where hospitality is great but this is beyond anything we've experienced. Especially for the price we paid. We are not accustomed to being catered to our every need so we felt a little strange. But nonetheless, it was awesome.

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and noted that in our reservation so they decorated our room with balloons, candles and flowers. They even had a cake for us :). It was all very sweet!

This hotel is a gem in a busy and chaotic city. We truly enjoyed our 4 night stay. We had room 601 which was on the top floor and very spacious. Most importantly, super clean!!!

We had a sitting area and a king bed. Water pressure is great in the shower. Bathroom toiletries included shampoo, shower gel, comb, sewing kit, shower cap and toothbrush/toothpaste. I love when hotels provide toothbrush and toothpaste. It always amazes me that some hotels in America don't think to provide this basic necessity. The room also comes equipped with a laptop which can be useful. They provided free wifi and one way private car service from the airport.

The room rate included a la carte breakfast which we had every day. The menu ranged from western style to South East Asian to local flavors.
It was delicious and clean. Service was excellent of course! The best part is that they encouraged us to order more dishes. The coffee with condensed milk is to die for.

The location of the hotel is ideal. We walked everywhere! It's right in the middle of tons of shops and places to eat. The room does face a busy street in the city but the noise level definitely dies down after 11:00 pm so no worries. The reception also provides ear plugs if you need it. Every morning around 7:00 am, the loud speakers in the street announces the news and plays some patriotic song. It didn't bother us and only added to the character of this city.

In conclusion, I would definitely recommend this hotel and will return if I'm ever visiting Hanoi again. Just wanted to add that if you are in the position to tip, please do so. They all work very hard for their money and yes, 1 USD goes a longer way for them than it does to us. Some may say we are being too generous and you can get by with 15 USD a day in Hanoi, but why would we? We are on vacation and want to enjoy ourselves. A day in Hanoi easily costs less than a day in NYC where we live or any other place we've travelled to. Just because the locals don't need much to live doesn't mean we should take advantage of it.

Some tips: We didn't really bargain much when shopping because in the grand scheme of things, if we were overcharged by 2 USD on an item, how much does it matter 1 week down the line? The hotel did encourage us to bargain because the hawkers do expect it. Obviously don't pay 20 USD on a little trinket.

Crossing the street - I'm sure you've heard about this before. Just walk and the bikes and cars will swerve around you. Don't stop suddenly.

Tour guides - we got a free walking tour from a non-profit organization. Just google it. It was nice but not necessary. We paid for her lunch and tipped her 10 USD for a 4 hour tour.

I have many thoughts about Hanoi and our first day in the city was a bit rough but as time went on, I understand the city more now. Love it or not, Hanoi is a place that will leave an impression in your heart. The people, the colors, the smell, everything about it will never be forgotten.

If you have more questions and need insight, feel free to message me!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sarafink525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#53 of 598 in Hanoi
1,140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
#17 of 598 in Hanoi
906 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi E Central Hotel
Hanoi E Central Hotel
#14 of 598 in Hanoi
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
#15 of 598 in Hanoi
1,166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2

Address: 32 Hang Trong st, Hoan Kiem Lake | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £39 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Hang Trong (Hàng Trống) street, just over 600m from our Meracus 1. Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2 is at lacquer street which is also as convenient as our Meracus 1. From Meracus 2, you can easily explore the Hoan Kiem lake, the wellknown French Quarter, Saint Joseph Cathedral, Silk street (Hang Bong), Hoan Kiem (Return Sword) Lake, the historic places and many other attractions of Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing