We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Ranked #23 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

After 35 hours of travelling we were exhausted. When we got to the hotel we got a hot cup of tea and a hot towel and felt refreshed. A quick orientation was given and we felt instantly welcomed. The room was fantastic with rose petals lining the bed and basin, a laptop to use and a selection of books including a tour book of Vietnam! Reception was always really friendly and breakfast had an international selection, great vn coffee and dessert! One day we were late for breakfast and it was sent up to our room. This is a gem of a hotel with great customer service

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squashy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    55
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
152
475
62
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Everything is great.

Hotel's location is perfectly places to easily get to everything!

Rooms are super clean, huge and comfortable.
Everything you need in the room, even a laptop to use, which came in handy.

Service is great.
Huge breakfast selection.

The rather unfortunate thing that brings the rating down is the noise problem.

Walls are super thin... so you can hear everything.
Noise from the bathroom, incessant cat meouwing constantly throughout the day.
The noise from the restaurant can be heard, kitchen plates, guests conversations, walking on the stairs...
The worst was the neighbor singing bad Karaoke at the top of his lungs at early hours of the morning.
Even ear plugs doesn't block out the banging and noise.

Terrible:( Otherwise it would be the perfect place to stay in Hanoi.

Room Tip: don't stay in a room close the the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RozanneWhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rungsted, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Excellent! From the moment we stepped in in Mercus 2 we could feel the cosy atmosphere. Very kind and very professíonal staff is always there to help and you are always being met with a smile. Very tastefully decorated rooms with fresh floweers and fruit served every day. We were looking forward to the breakfast, because it is something special at Meracus 2. We would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HungMeracus, Customer Service Manager at Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Our Valued Guests,

It is heartening to learn that your recent and brief experience stay at Meracus hotel 2 has made us your preferred choice of accommodation in Hanoi, Vietnam. Thank you very much for your generous compliments!

It is rewarding for the whole team to realize that our level of care and professionalism contributed well towards your positive experience with us. Truly, our Chefs and F&B staff cannot be happier to know that they brought to you the special and eager feeling for breakfast they served.

We deeply appreciate what you have done for us with your efforts and significantly, your review is very valuable. On behalf of the whole staff, we give you a sincere thankfulness and wish you a New Year 2014 coming with wonderful health, fabulous joys and impressive success.

Yours in service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

An absolute gem of a hotel. Large, clean, nicely decorated rooms. Great location. Excellent service/breakfast. Very helpful staff. Overall, good value for money. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The hotel couldn't be better placed to explore hanoi. In the middle of the city but avoiding the craziness of the old qtr. Fantastic room (601 junior suite) excellent service, superb (4 course! ) breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 55travelpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed in this Hotel in mid December 2013 for 4 nights.

Upon arrival; we were given warm towels and hot tea while the staff is getting ready for our check in. Staff will then brief us when to shop and eat.

We had a family room which is big enough for 4 of us.

The breakfast is great and staff at Cafe is very courteous and the chef who prepares the breakfast takes much effort to decorate the meals. All the food is nicely decorated before serving to us.

Room is clean n everyday fresh flowers and fruits are placed in the room.

This is the best service which we have experienced. I highly recommend this place and food is easily available around the Hotel

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank simson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HungMeracus, Customer Service Manager at Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Our Valued Guests,

We do hope your onwards travels were comfortable and we thank you very much for taking the time to write your overall review following your visit with us at Meracus hotel 2.

It is such a great pleasure for us to achieve your satisfaction about our warm hospitality, useful recommendations, delicious breakfast with nice decoration, elegantly spacious rooms and facilities... Especially, we are thrilled to read your line about the best service rendered by our team members.

Thank you for sharing your insights, we will let our whole team know that they greatly contributed to the overall success of your stay and their hard work has been appreciated and noticed.

Wishing you and your family a very exciting, tremendous and happy 2014 !

Yours in service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This hotel is smack in the middle of the old quarter, close to the Hoan Kiem lake: 8 stories high, with one room in the front and one room in the back on every narrow floor. Both room types are spacious with nice furniture, amazing beds and excellent bathrooms.
Staff here must have earned its excellent online ratings in part by working and trying VERY hard to be excellent; they are extremely motivated and helpful, even up to the point where you sometimes wish them to try a little bit less. They e-mail you with helpful tips (take their offer on the airport private car! It’s cheaper than a taxi). They sit you down for a quick introduction lesson when you arrive; they shower you with tip sheets and warnings (‘how to cross the street in Ha Noi’), they slip a weather forecast under your door daily and will wave you goodbye from the sidewalk when you leave. Their breakfast menu even has dessert!
If they would learn to be a bit more relaxed and less subservient, than they would earn a 5+.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joost-and-Claus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#43 of 586 in Hanoi
1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
#17 of 586 in Hanoi
853 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#21 of 586 in Hanoi
914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
#16 of 586 in Hanoi
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2

Property: Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Address: 32 Hang Trong st, Hoan Kiem Lake | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Hang Trong (Hàng Trống) street, just over 600m from our Meracus 1. Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2 is at lacquer street which is also as convenient as our Meracus 1. From Meracus 2, you can easily explore the Hoan Kiem lake, the wellknown French Quarter, Saint Joseph Cathedral, Silk street (Hang Bong), Hoan Kiem (Return Sword) Lake, the historic places and many other attractions of Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing