We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect first days in Vietnam” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Ranked #20 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect first days in Vietnam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived after a trip from 16 hours and received wet towels and drinks at the reception. When they showed us our room I had a big smile on my face. Very large, with a beautiful bathroom. Free wifi and laptop, fruit and water. Breakfast was very divers. They offered around 20 different breakfast meals. Everything homemade and fresh. Perfect hotel with very friendly staff (feels more like 5 stars - superior room but paid very good price)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlijn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    50
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
144
440
59
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had booked two rooms here for one night, and right after we stepped in we wished we had more time to spend in this lovely hotel. It is beautifully appointed and everyone you interact with from the bell boy to the reception to the restaurant staff are warm and friendly. You feel like you are being invited into somebody's house rather than a hotel. We had an issue with our air conditioning in our room at night and they graciously allowed us to move into another room just to sleep and let us have the other room to keep our luggage as we had unpacked there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Girish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I hate saying a bad thing about this hotel. The staff take nice a new level, when I cancelled our third night (which i'll get to in a minute) I felt like I was breaking up with a girlfriend because they were so ridiculously nice and that's obviously reflected in all the other reviews.

So why did we cancel? The hotel is in the heart of the old quarter and there is a lot of street noise from scooters beeping, and oddly enough the police on a megaphone. Both mornings we were woken up at 5:30am because of the street noise. When your on holidays you really don't want to be woken up that early and so that's why we cancelled the 3rd night and I haven't given the hotel 5/5. It is otherwise pretty faultless for a 3* hotel. We were in a room that faced the street and so it may be quieter if you have a room that faces the other way. If the hotel upgraded the glass to double glazing the problem would probably go away.

The hotel is well located if you want to be in the old quarter. We were advised by friends when planning the trip that we wanted to be close to the centre of action and find a hotel in the old quarter. My advice to some one visiting hanoi is that you are much better off being in a nicer quieter hotel out of the action and just get a cab in when you want to experience it. When you can travel for 15mins in a cab for $2 you may as well retreat from the craziness when you want to.

Unlike most hotels in Vietnam the key staff at Meracus 2 all have excellent english skills. They are well set up for tourists with helpful custom maps showing you where to walk through the old quarter etc. All the other staff couldn't be more attentive and out to provide the best possible service.

In terms of the rooms, they are very nice for a 3 star price. The breakfast was also very good, and I appreciated the effort the waitress went to just to make conversation and make us feel welcome.

One final thing to note which irritated me a little is that they work in $US but then convert to $VND to charge you, so what happens in effect if your paying in $AUD is that they use a bad conversation rate they set to go from USD to VND and then you get hit with the conversion back to AUD. The little mathematical exercise added about $10 to $70 bill.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get rooms facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrrplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

stayed 5 nights in may , great location short walk to lake and sights in the old quarter, all staff were very helpful and welcoming, lovely breakfasts good selection to eat. balcony with the room was very nice. highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Excellence service, the room is nice and worth the value. They even gave a birthday cake and lit candles in the room for my blated birthday it was a pleasant surprise. Breakfast at the hotel was amazing! Buffet Alacarte
Will definitely come back to Meracus :)

Stayed June 2557, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Aom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeracusHotels, Customer Service Manager at Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Our Valued Guest,

It is our pleasure to have you with us on a special occasion. We are glad that our team has done a good job and created a pleasant suprise for you.

Our team is filled with service champions who enjoy delighting and assisting our guests with all our hearts. Your kind words just brightened up our days and motivate us to improve further. Nothing is more rewarding than knowing that you will come back to stay with us again and spread all the wonderful compliments about our excellent service. Rest assured we will keep up what we have done well and make further improvement on our products.

Again, we wish you a new age with full of happiness and luck !

Yours in service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Was recommended this hotel by a friend and wasn't disappointed. All the staff were so friendly and helpful. The room was very big with king bed and laptop to use. Location was fantastic. Highlight of the hotel was the a la carte breakfast and all dishes were simply amazing! Would recommend in a heart beat and stay there again next time we visit Hanoi.
Special thanks to Soo Chi :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catryn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed here during May 2014 and it was by far the best hotel I've stayed at during my time in South East Asia. The hotel exceeded all my expectations in every way possible from the amazing breakfast to the level of service from the receptionist.

The breakfast choices ranges from traditional Vietnamese dishes such as beef pho to Western dishes such as banana pancakes and french toast (best french toast I've ever had by the way!).

Service was unparalleled, the receptionist knew all the sights by heart and even recommended good places that locals would eat. I asked for a spa and a place to have snake wine and they would call the places up and help us make a reservation.

The location was great, situated in the heart of the Old Quarter and in close proximity to main sites such as the lake, the puppet theatre and local shops.

For the price of the hotel you'd be silly to pick anywhere else to stay in Hanoi!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wing L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#37 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
#11 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serene Premier Hotel
Serene Premier Hotel
#2 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2

Property: Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Address: 32 Hang Trong st, Hoan Kiem Lake | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Hang Trong (Hàng Trống) street, just over 600m from our Meracus 1. Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2 is at lacquer street which is also as convenient as our Meracus 1. From Meracus 2, you can easily explore the Hoan Kiem lake, the wellknown French Quarter, Saint Joseph Cathedral, Silk street (Hang Bong), Hoan Kiem (Return Sword) Lake, the historic places and many other attractions of Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing