We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming hotel in old quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hanoi Serendipity Hotel
Ranked #92 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Welcoming hotel in old quarter”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here between trips to Halong Bay and Sapa and were surprised by the helpfulness of the staff in organizing our itineraries. Even when they double booked our room, we were upgraded to a nicer sister hotel around the corner. The reception guys were very eager to help out and made us feel at home immediately. Lovely place, i'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    60
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
68
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights in total at Hanoi Serendipity. It was a bit crazy when we first got there to check in, as the lobby is narrow and there were others checking out and in. We were early anyway so we left our bags and went for a walk around the neighbourhood. Location is very handy, a street down from Hang Bong (so reasonably quiet) and a few streets from Hoan Kiem lake, close to the Cathedral. Quite a few eateries of varying standard in the immediate area with great food. Hotel room itself was more than satisfactory for the price range. Yes, the bed was a bit hard (as we found in all hotels) and the bathroom small, but the room was clean and tidy and functional for a short city stay (and the aircon worked well). Breakfast was quite ok, not a huge selection but certainly enough to get you moving in the morning. Staff were very friendly and personable - Lilly in the mornings and Henry in the evenings. Don't hesitate to ask if you need anything. Tony the manager was very helpful to us when we had a disappointing tour to Halong Bay with a company that were recommended - certainly not the hotel's fault but Tony was quick to make phone calls to sort out the problems and we were very satisfied with the outcome. We would certainly stay here again if we were to visit Hanoi again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor at the front of the building, which had a limited skyline view but ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a complete bargain. Family of 5 in one huge room, including brekkie - 35 GBP. Very clean rooms, cheerful and helpful staff, free wifi (very fast), computers in the rooms. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AlnMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our Vietnam trip. Had arranged picked up from the airport due to arrival time and long journey, although more expensive than taxi or bus, they were there waiting and the door to door service was hassle free and just what we needed. Henry welcomed us on arrival and gave us a local map and information. We had been upgraded for no extra charge and room was spacious with a decent shower and bath. Hotel is just a short 10minute walk to the old quarter but there is also some great little street cafés and vendors close by to get some great food. Organised our halong bay trip through the hotel and managed to barter with the price, we would recommend the Royal Herritage Cruise, 2 day 1 night trip. All in all we would recommend this hotel based on value for money, staff friendliness, great service and the included breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights and it's everything you need - great location, clean and well maintained rooms, excellent breakfast with plenty of options. The staff went above and beyond - always ready to help and give guidance. For the price it's an absolute steal!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank katherineh296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We staid in this hotel for few days. The rooms are basic, but specious and clean ( there is a laptop with an internet connection in each room). The hotel is situated in the Old Quarter, only 5 min walk to the lake. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They arranged our tour to Halong Bay, which was great and cheaper than if you book it via travel agency. Definitely a good value for the money (around 25 $ a night for double room). Breakfast is included.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Sweet and helpful staff - they were awesome, great buy for the money - I doubt you will find better, and central to the city. heck the breakfast was worth the price of the room. They know the city and can't do enough to help you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Serenity Villa Hotel
Serenity Villa Hotel
#54 of 581 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Symphony Hotel
Hanoi Symphony Hotel
#61 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luxury Hotel
Luxury Hotel
#87 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanoi City Palace Hotel
Hanoi City Palace Hotel
#101 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.0 mi away
Blue Hanoi Inn Hotel
Blue Hanoi Inn Hotel
#51 of 581 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Serendipity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Serendipity Hotel

Property: Hanoi Serendipity Hotel
Address: 14A Chan Cam Street - Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Serendipity Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 26 en-suite exclusive guest rooms, the Hanoi Serendipity Hotel offers cosmopolitan elegance and comfort to suit all needs from business to family, to leisure and adventure. Enter a world that is complete in every way. Be looked after by a dedicated and professional team who will be delighted to make your stay in Hanoi, and Vietnam, a truly unforgettable and special one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Serendipity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing