We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
Ranked #54 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed for the first 2 days at the hotel. Staff were so accommodating, ensuring we were aware of the location, times to visit Ho Chi Mihn's Mausoleum, arranged taxi's and always went the extra mile to make our time with them so special. Only had breakfast, but it was cooked fresh and it was so good to be able to have Vietnamese and also western food. During our stay we also left our main bag with the twice when we went to Sapa and Halong Bay. On return they gave us complimentary use of a room no charge and then free breakfast. Brilliant location in the Old Quarter and yet really quiet. Would definitely recommend this accommodation and visit again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank alanhelenabex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
There are newer reviews for Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

I was generally quite pleased with my stay in the Splendid Star Boutique Hotel in Hanoi. The hotel is very well located in a central location in the Old Quarter of Hanoi. It makes a great base for exploring all of the local sights of Hanoi, in and around the lake, although more far-flung sights (like the Museum of Ethnology) will require a taxi. The street its located on is relatively quiet for the location, although quiet is not a word I would use to describe Hanoi.

Service: Generally quite satisfactory. The front desk staff were friendly. I always had this weird nagging feeling they wanted to sell me something, although they never pushed anything on me. Some staff have better English than others, as one of the front desk staff gave our taxi driver instructions to take us to the wrong museum. Coming back on the later side one night, I saw a staff member sleeping on a cot by the elevator which was strange. Overall, they generally were helpful and friendly.

Breakfast: Cook to order breakfast was quite nice. They wanted to make sure we were full, and we never left hungry.

Rooms: Again perfectly adequate. Rather firm beds. There's a computer in the room which is nice. Plenty of hot water. The room was clean and reasonably nicely decorated, although in lieu of a couch they have some fancy-looking settee/lounge chair that was not very practical. Internet was slow-ish.

One tip: Arrange an airport pick-up with them. The airport is rather far outside of Hanoi and the price for a taxi is comparable to the price for their pick-up service. Much easier to have someone waiting with a sign outside the terminal.

Overall: 4-4.5 stars. Not quite in the excellent category as nothing was "above and beyond" but perfectly satisfactory for the price.

Just a note about Tripadvisor and Vietnam I'm adding to all my reviews:
Unfortunately, in my research for the trip, I discovered a huge number of fake reviews on TripAdvisor in Vietnam, a much higher fraction than in the west. They're mostly pro, but a few con from competitors. Take your time to read the quality reviews from reviewers with multiple reviews in multiple cities. Be wary of someone from London, England that has trouble with subject-verb agreement or uses the word "staffs".

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CountryPlusPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed at Splendid Star Boutique for four nights over a week, using it as a base to check out the city and for tours to Sapa and Ha Long Bay. It was ideal!
The staff were amazingly helpful. They arranged the tours for us before we arrived, picked us up from the train station at 4:30am and even gave us a free room to have a couple of hours sleep and a shower until our booked room was ready.
The rooms were all clean and comfortable. The breakfast is decent.
The hotel is in the old quarter only a short walk from Hoan Kim lake, restaurants, markets and street food.
Overall, highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here 3 nights and were given a free pick up from the airport (which btw is a good 50 min drive from the old quarter). Upon our arrival, we were offered to choose drinks and snacks from their elaborate breakfast menu, which was a respite after a 2 hour delayed flight from Danang.

The receptionist, Mien, who was forthcoming and helpful made a concerted effort to always call us by our names and recommended restaurants and sights in Hanoi. Daisy, the manager, was prompt in arranging for our Bai Tu Long bay tour and ensured that we had a good time. The remaining staff was super friendly as well and were always ready to bend backwards to help us. For instance, just minutes before our cab to the airport, we asked them if we could by some Trung Guyen coffee around and the staff quickly rushed on a scooter to buy it from a not-so-nearby store.

Last but not the least; they were kind enough to give us a room upgrade for all three nights in addition to a discounted drop at the airport. All in all, it’s the people of this place who made our stay at Hanoi so wonderful!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varnika678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed here for the first 3 nights of our trip to Vietnam; we were greeted at the airport and taken to the hotel where we were served fresh fruit and juices whilst we checked in which was lovely following our delayed flight from Hong Kong.

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel truly welcome by all of the staff, particularly the receptionist (whose name I sadly can't recall) who greeted us by our names every time we came and left the hotel.

Having now been in Vietnam for nearly 2 weeks and have stayed in several other hotels we have not received the same level of friendliness and service that we did at the Splendid Star!

The location is perfect for exploring, we had a street view room and whilst there was noise i didn't consider it a problem. The breakfasts were very good, you pick from a menu and are welcome to make as many choices as you want.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Until this hotel, tripadvisor reviews have provided me somewhat accurate description of hotels.

First off, Daisy - the manager, and the staff, lives up to the excellent reviews she has received. Everyone who we met in this hotel bends over backwards to provide 5-star service to the guests.

However, no matter how great the service, the infrastructure of this hotel is lacking. The room we stayed in was clean enough...but it did not feel sanitized to me. When I checked in, I did find somethings lacking in the cleaning of the room. There was left over hair under the sink from previous guests, for example. The bathroom in our friend's room smelled a bit like there was either an open sewage nearby. This left us feeling a bit like we paid 5-star prices for a 3-star hotel.

Now, I've travelled enough to know that sometimes buildings are built in such a way where these types of things are unavoidable. I do want to tell those who are looking at this hotel to consider this and set your expectations adequately. A travel agent did tell me that there were no 4 or 5 star hotels in the old quarters, only 3-star ones.

We did travel during peak season, and I do know that we paid WAY more than the typical prices. I do think that if we paid much, much less for the room, I would have given better ratings, particularly for value. (To give you an idea, we paid not too much more for the JW Marriott that just opened near the convention center.)

I do think it is worth staying in the old quarter for a few nights. If this hotel has availability and you are considering this hotel - expect wonderful service, but 3-star infrastructure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syl2114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed in the Splendid Star Boutique Hotel upon arrival in Vietnam and following a trip to Halong Bay. We were welcomed by a beaming, friendly Mien who directed us to sights in Hanoi, recommended restaurants and even helped me buy a SIM card at the stall across the street. The rooms were spacious and clean and the beds were comfortable, but the highlight is the friendly staff. The front rooms had a bit of street noise, so if this will bother you request a back room.

Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Front rooms a bit noisy. If this will bother you request a rear room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FJPollock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
Splendora Hotel
Splendora Hotel
#39 of 598 in Hanoi
733 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
#45 of 598 in Hanoi
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
#17 of 598 in Hanoi
906 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Legend Diamond Hotel & Travel
0.5 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Star Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Star Boutique Hotel

Address: No 19 Au Trieu st, Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £27 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Splendid Star Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splendid Star Boutique hotel is where the visitors can stay when they are in Hanoi. It is designed in a modern mixed with classic style, with the motto of golden service, our hotel will certainly bring the tourists the most enjoyable experience.Please come and feel. Your every need and comfort will be cared by our well trained and long experienced staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Splendid Star Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing