We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hanoi the Odyssey way”

Indochina Odyssey Day Tours
Ranked #53 of 808 Tours in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vietnam, read about it in books, learnt about it in movies, heard about it from others. But this time, one Vietnam holiday offers the opportunity to experience the real Vietnam and countries around. Vietnam's beauty and diversity are far beyond your imagination during your Vietnam tour. Here, you wouldn't miss the chance to explore the numerous mysterious caves in breath-taking Halong Bay.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hanoi the Odyssey way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Saw most of the temples, museums and attractions in Hanoi. Went to Hanoi Hilton on our own as it wasn't included in the tour.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odyssey-IOT, Public Relations Manager at Indochina Odyssey Day Tours, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Aileen,

Thank you for your words about your recent trip to Hanoi with us. The private tour we arranged for you are flexible. You can have a fully-inclusive tour, or arrange some parts on your own. We always tailor make to meet your requests.

In Hanoi, there are lots of sites to be visited with abundant culture and folk custom. The city best reflects the country’s long history and the specific way of living of the people. With the diverse explanation of our experienced tour guides, I believe you have enjoyed to the full.

Have a wonderful day! Welcome to travel the Odyssey way again!

Warmest regards,

Sherry Zhang

You are not alone with Odyssey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing city!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the sightseeing in Hanoi. The pagoda and Ho Chi Mausoleum were spectacular. The foods were also awesome.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odyssey-IOT, Public Relations Manager at Indochina Odyssey Day Tours, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Lan,

Glad to see that you liked Hanoi very much with its sightseeing and food. As an ancient city for over 1000 years, it has become a must destination for travellers who visit Vietnam. Here the well-remained historical sites and relics mirror the long history and culture of the country.

Thank you for sharing with us your opinion. I’m sure many of others who read your review would want to go to Hanoi also to discover their own favourites about this area. At Odyssey we realize that each journey is special for every client, so we would like to do our best in the hope of providing an enjoyable trip for you. We’re happy to have you be our clients and you’re always welcome to come back again!

Best regards,

Sherry Zhang

You are not alone with Odyssey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Indochina Odyssey Day Tours - Hanoi... Fantastic and highly recomended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I spent the last 3 of our 13 day Indochina Odyssey tour in Hanoi, Vietnam. It was amazing the amount of things we saw and experienced in such a short period of time. Our guide - Ving was terrific and all we had requested - he spoke good English and was very informative with a good sense of humour. Nothing was too much trouble for him.
Our city tour was extensive and informative -given our time frame. Fortunately for us it was not peak tourism time which meant places of interest such as the Ho Chi Minh Complex, where we observed Ho Chi Minh Lying in State, were relatively easy to access with a reasonably short queue. The last "leg" - 24 hours of our Hanoi experience was spent overnighting it on a traditional cruise craft which anchored in Halong Bay. During this time not only were we provided with the opportunity to relax after what had been an exciting and hectic 12 day tour but we experienced the sightseeing highlights and activities associated with this area. Would highly recommend this trip to Halong Bay and having it at the end of an organised tour such as the one we had done was fantastic and couldn't have been better scheduled.
Accommodation throughout our stay in Hanoi was 5 Star, Breakfast and lunches were provided - fabulous food in great settings ( take clothing with "room to grow"!!!) .We have come away with many fond memories and a good overview of this area thanks to the fantastic organization of our tour organizer and tour guide Ving.
PS - further testimony to the awesome personalised job Indochina Odyssey did in organizing our tour, was that on arrival at Hanoi it was my birthday and we were greeted by Ving bearing a large bouquet of yellow orchards and once taken to the car -were presented with a lovely bottle of red wine to help us celebrate my birthday- sincerely touching!. A birthday cake had also been organized for our hotel room.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odyssey-IOT, Public Relations Manager at Indochina Odyssey Day Tours, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Stephanie,

How sweet of you to give us another nice review to us here. Reading your wonderful tour experience is same enjoyable to us. I have shared your warm words with your guide Mr. Vinh in Hanoi, and your travel consultant Allison, and would like to thank you greatly on behalf them for your recognition for our service.

Good to know that you gain fruitful as well as relaxing experience in Hanoi and Halong Bay. It’s always special to have birthday on a trip. We’re glad that you enjoyed the arrangement for your birthday in Hanoi. Hope it will be a memorable day for you.

We do appreciate your high recommendation of us. Welcome to travel with Odyssey Tours again! The world is a book that is always waiting to be read.

Warmest regards,

Sherry Zhang

You are not alone with Odyssey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hanoi Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My boyfriend and I recently completed a 3 week tour of South East Asia which was organised entirely by IOT. We arranged our own international flights, but every other detail - from hotels, internal transfers, some meals, entry to museums, and sights of interest etc was taken care of by IOT. Everything went very smoothly and we would have no hesitation in recommending the group to anyone. Our guides were totally flexible too, so for example if we wanted to change an itinerary to incorporate different sights they were always willing to accommodate us. When weather hampered some of our plans (a cruise on Halong Bay), our guides put together a last minute Plan B for us so we didn't have to worry about a thing. We thought the group provided a hassle free travel experience with excellent value for money.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ClaireLoisAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odyssey-IOT, Public Relations Manager at Indochina Odyssey Day Tours, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Claire,

Greetings from Sherry at Odyssey Tours!

You’re very nice to share such a good review with all of us. How you appreciate our tour service undoubtedly encourage us to keep doing better and better.

What you experienced in Vietnam are pretty much most of the highlights and I’m sure the local folk customs in Hanoi impressed you just like it impressed us.

Please accept our sincerely thanks to your choosing us as your travel agency. We would love to meet you when you come back to Asia for more exciting exploration.

Warmest regards,

Sherry Zhang

You’re not alone with Odyssey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“Vietnam tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

11 Nights from Hanoi to Halong Bay then a flight to Penang Area, then flight to Ho Chi Mihn. WOW. drivers excellent, guides (Mrs Hahn, Mr Duong, Mr Tuan) excellent, tours excellent, cruise excellent, food excellent, hotels excellent, organisation excellent, Vietnam excellent.
What more can I say but WOW. IOT you should pay your employees more because they are worth their weight in gold. We have done many tours all over the world but these guys know how to do it right (and at half the Australian price).
Our highlight - Halong bay Cruise.
The only thing we regret is going in May when the temp was 47 degrees celcius and 100 percent humidity, still, we didn't have to fight the tourists. Amazing tour combined with an amazing company. You cant go wrong.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odyssey-IOT, Public Relations Manager at Indochina Odyssey Day Tours, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Maree,

Greetings from Odyssey Tours! On behalf of the whole team, I’d like to express my sincere thanks to you for sharing all these happy memories with us and speaking so highly of our service! I will let your guides know how much you liked their service and this will surely encourage them greatly in the future work.

As you already experienced in Vietnam, the greatest advantage of private tour is the incomparable flexibility. From the very beginning you start planning the tours, all details will be discussed with your needs fully heard. And during the tour, you are the only one our guides and drivers care about. You never need to compromise with other people.

Kindly let us know if you have any tour plans in Asia. Odyssey Tours will keep working harder to provide you more amazing tour experience!

Warmest regards,

Shirley Huang

You are not alone with Odyssey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indochina Odyssey Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Indochina Odyssey Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing