We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel I stayed in whilst travelling Vietnam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Calypso Suites Hotel
Ranked #41 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“Best Hotel I stayed in whilst travelling Vietnam”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Couldn’t get a better location, right in the middle of all the hustle and bustle of Vietnam shops and restaurants yet the hotel is relaxing and quite. I slept really well at night as the beds are very comfortable. The hotel is clean and neat and very charming. The staff were so friendly and extremely helpful. We were supplied a map of the area with places of interest highlighted. Taxis, trains, restaurant bookings, even overnight tours were booked on our behalf. They allowed us to keep our luggage in a secure room while we went on overnight tours, all at no additional cost. One of our travelling companions had a birthday and the manager arranged a cake and roses to be scattered on her bed. I would definitely recommend to my friends travelling to Vietnam to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyles12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    112
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
119
452
62
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Aust
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed at the Calypso Legend with the family and found the location to be ideal. It was a very good hotel though small (like most Hanoi hotels) but clean and with wonderful service. They looked after us very well and helped out on tours. Very good value for money and probably the best of its type. Breakfast was simple but good. Its located on a quaint little lane way in the middle of the old quarter. Kevin, the manager, even came in early to help out with a transfer issue.

Room Tip: Try to get a room over looking the alley way with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Impavid_Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalypsoLegendH, Guest Relations Manager at Calypso Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear Warrandytefamily,

How wonderful to read your detailed comments about your recent stay at the Hotel Calypso Legend ! Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the services of the hotel and your room to the Calypso Legend . Our team strives indeed to make every single guest feel like royalty as they deserve and they will be thrilled to hear that they achieved their goal.

We truly hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon and maybe you will be able to stay longer on that occasion. We are all waiting for the opportunity to welcome you back!

Yours sincerely,
Mr. Kevin
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We initially stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and then booked an additional 2 nights as we were so happy with the service.

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. They kindly gave us a complimentary room upgrade which was lovely. The room (junior suite with window) was spacious, clean, nicely decorated, comfortable bed/pillows, modern bathroom with nice towels, lots of natural light, TV with international channels, fast and reliable wifi. The complimentary breakfast had a wide selection of options available and was of a high standard.

The reception staff also kindly printed our e-tickets and booking confirmations for the next leg of our journey for free.

Excellent location down a quiet lane (i.e. no car access), corner shop nearby to purchase snacks and water. Short distance to lake, restaurants, water puppet theatre, night market - very convenient.

We travelled through Vietnam for 3 weeks and this was one of our favourite hotels, we couldn't have asked for anything better, I highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a reasonably priced hotel in the old quarter of Hanoi. Do some research on Google Maps or the hotel's website to check the location before arriving as it could be a little difficult to find (we had already been in Hanoi for 3 days before moving to this hotel so we were vaguely familiar with the area).

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor the first time and then the seventh - we found the seventh floor to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntheaB972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalypsoLegendH, Guest Relations Manager at Calypso Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear AntheaB972,

The entire team joins me to thank you very much for this amazing comment on TripAdvisor following your stay with us during the holidays! Being compared to the top hotels of the world and reading that you enjoyed our services and amenities is definitively a highlight of this Summer !

Our location in the heart of Hanoi Old Quarter is certainly one of our key points and with special services such as the complimentary in room amenities, our various restaurants and bars we hope to ensure that our guests have an exceptional experience.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon to Hanoi and the Hotel Calypso Legend! Again, thank you for having taken the time to give us such wonderful feed-back.

Yours sincerely,
Peter ( CEO )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I can't praise this hotel and the wonderful management and staff enough. From the moment we arrived at the airport (many hours late due to cancelled flight) until we reluctantly left Hanoi we received the most impeccable service possible from Calypso Legend. Despite our incoming flight being about 6 hours behind schedule and not even having rung the hotel to let them know, they were at the airport waiting for us, taking care of our luggage and delivering us speedily and safely to the hotel. A welcome drink awaited us and check in was efficient and friendly, our bags immediately delivered to our rooms. The hotel itself is utterly charming, with touches of French influence and very clean and well maintained. The rooms are just lovely, we had rooms on both the 7th and 8th floors and they were quiet and comfortable (the best beds we had in Vietnam). We had booked for 2 nights originally but we loved the hotel and the staff so much we booked an additional 3 nights. The hotel is in the Old Quarter, down a narrow lane, an easy walk to the lake and the night markets. There is so much to see and do in and around the Old Quarter, great restaurants, bia (beer) corner, shopping, something for everyone. Every morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast at the hotel, everything served was fresh and made to order. The morning we were departing early, they even provided us with a breakfast hamper to take with us. We also booked a couple of tours through the hotel and the prices were reasonable and the tours very enjoyable. A lovely touch is the fresh fruit left in the room daily.

I could go on and on about how wonderful this hotel is but will just finish up saying that whilst this hotel ticked all the boxes for a great location, clean and charming environment, amazing value for money, delicious breakfasts etc, what really made our stay so memorable was the staff. They go out of their way to do all they can for you, they are warm, friendly and efficient from the doorman to the cleaners, the waitresses, the front office girls and Kevin, the manager.

You won't regret booking at this hotel. It is par excellence! Thank you for my birthday cake, what a lovely surprise.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzyfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalypsoLegendH, Owner at Calypso Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear lizzyfromoz,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at Hanoi Calypso Legend Hotel on Trip advisor. Your feedback is extremely important to us.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as we strive each day to provide our guests with the finest hotel experience. Your kind words are most appreciated and have been shared with the whole team. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our team which I immediately shared with Mr. Kevin Le and all staff ! and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon to Calypso Legend Hanoi.

Yours sincerely,
Peter ( CEO )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I stayed in this hotel one week for a business trip. I really enjoyed the stay. The hotel was really clean and the personal is simply adorable. The hotel is just 5 min far from the Hoan Kiem Lake and very close to the night market. I will be back next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 803EricB803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalypsoLegendH, Guest Relations Manager at Calypso Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear 803EricB803,

Thank you very much for the great review written about our hotel. I am particularly happy that you found the service provided by our team members worth mentioning as this is the one factor, I believe that truly makes the difference to a guest. I hope your trip to Hanoi provided you with pleasant memories and I'm glad to hear that you would stay with us again in the future.

I will certainly share your remarks with my team members as they are a great source of encouragement.

Thank you again for your kind words. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the next year.

Yours sincerely,
Kevin Le
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Great little hotel, perfectly located in a quieter side street in Hanoi. Staff service excellent, and rooms very clean. They were unfortunately fully booked when we changed our booking for the last day at short notice, but they booked us into an equivalent sister hotel (the Oriental) on Hang Bac (50m away) and transferred our bags. This hotel was at the back end of a refurbishment so was very quiet, but we experienced the same quality of service there. A very good choice for Hanoi.

At times felt over-attentive at breakfast, but that's it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blue_proof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Calypso Legend is absolutely lovely, charming french boutique style, clean, modern, comfortable, warm and welcoming. The staff are fantastic from the doorman, bellboy, reception girls, restaurant staff to the manager, Kevin. We were welcomed with drinks and information and checked in quickly and efficiently. Breakfast is superb, fresh and delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Calypso Legend and would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Hanoi.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junef597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.0 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Calypso Premier Hotel
Calypso Premier Hotel
#64 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#43 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#25 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Suites Hotel

Property: Calypso Suites Hotel
Address: 11E Trung Yen Lane, Dinh Liet Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Calypso Legend Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calypso Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hanoi old quarter, just 3 minutes from Hoan Kiem Lake, night market & Dong Xuan Market. The hotel location is very convenient for its guests with nearby shopping and also sight seeing. There are many restaurants to choose from in the same location too. You will have an enjoyable and great time in Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calypso Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing