We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Calypso Suites Hotel
Ranked #42 of 579 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in Nov 2013, it was recommended to us by friends who had stayed there. We weren't disappointed. The staff were very friendly and helpful with maps and information on the city, especially Amy. The airport pickup was great as we arrived late after all flights were cancelled because of the typhoon. The room was spacious with a bright decor, very clean and comfortable. The location was right where all the actions is. I would stay there again without a doubt and also recommend Calypso Legend to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    111
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
118
450
61
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

A perfect hotel in the middle of the Old Quarter with everything on your doorstep plus incredible hospitality from Kevin (the manager) and his whole team. Nothing is too much trouble from airport pick up,booking excursions,advice on restaurants and providing a map for sightseeing.
The rooms are clean, airy and spacious with water and fruit provided. Rooms aren't ready for check in until 2pm but I arrived early in the morning and was able to check in with a complimentary upgrade plus an invitation to breakfast.
Upon departure as I was leaving early, a packed breakfast was provided with a smile which I hadn't expected.
Would definitely return if I visit Hanoi!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yesmin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in Nov 2013, the hotel is a brilliant location 2 mins walk to night market, its clean and comfortable, breakfast fantastic, and the staff are probably the best staff we have ever had, and we have travelled a lot. I would certainly not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, it enhanced our great experience of Hanoi.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We booked a room here as a start for our Vietnam trip based on the outstanding reviews on TA.

The experience was exactly as expected: Excellent airport pickup for $20, warm welcome at the frontdesk, small room but nicely decorated and having exactly what you need (very clean, good beds etc), great breakfast (good service again), good assistance during our stay: Weather reports as Typhoon Haiyan went by, great map with sights and restaurants, and a list with tips on how to survive your days in Hanoi old quarter. Checkout was smooth as well, clear bill which was made up correctly at once. The team also arranged traintickets to Da Nang for us, escorted us INTO the right train coupé, and even arranged food boxes and drinks for us as the ones you get in the train might get you sick.

I hope Calypso will open a branche in Hcmc, haven't found anything like this over there.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfp_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here in the Calypso Suites in middle of the Old City a few times while visiting Hanoi and in between travelling to Halong bay and Sapa. We were able to leave luggage whenever we required all with the most unbelievable courtesy and help. The staff is more than amazing and the rooms at the back are quiet, very comfortable and perfectly clean. Breakfasts were not to be missed no matter what time we collapsed for the night. This hotel can compete with 5 star hotels as the personal attention and food was far beyond their rating-whatever it may be. Location is everything and they are in the middle of everything. probably the perfect place and location in Hanoi. If Hong (our travel agent) chose it you know it is the best value for money you can find in Hanoi.

Room Tip: We had a back room an it was perfectly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is well located in the Old Quarter, close to all the main streets.

The rooms are in the mid range price bracket. They were clean and nicely decorated although the bath tub and some of the bathroom fittings felt a tad fragile, perhaps unaccustomed to the weight of larger framed tourists like me! Things like a daily fruit basket and an umbrella in the room were a nice touch.

The main deal was definitely the excellent service we received from the staff. Mr Kevin Le and his team genuinely seemed to do their very best for guests. We appreciated the fact that they did not try to hard sell tours to us.

The hotel is in a small lane inaccessible to all vehicles except motorbikes. This may pose some problems for taxi drivers unfamiliar with the maze of streets in Hanoi's Old Quarter but getting lost is part of the tourist experience!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyceT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

The rooms are very nice and the cleanest we had in vietnam, beautiful furniture is the same as in the calypso grand. The bathrooms are a bit older but clean. The hotel is in a very small alley and 2 blocks from hoan kiem lake. The staff is incredibly helpful and topped our expectations every time.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WLSMKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.0 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Calypso Premier Hotel
Calypso Premier Hotel
#100 of 579 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#41 of 579 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#25 of 579 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Suites Hotel

Property: Calypso Suites Hotel
Address: 11E Trung Yen Lane, Dinh Liet Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Calypso Legend Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 579 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calypso Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hanoi old quarter, just 3 minutes from Hoan Kiem Lake, night market & Dong Xuan Market. The hotel location is very convenient for its guests with nearby shopping and also sight seeing. There are many restaurants to choose from in the same location too. You will have an enjoyable and great time in Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calypso Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing