We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little hotel in Hanoi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Calypso Suites Hotel
Ranked #41 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful little hotel in Hanoi”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast and very attentive staff. There was not a query that they couldn't handle and were even warm and welcoming upon our check in at 530am!! Good location in the middle of the city.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank natdrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    112
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
120
457
62
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Amazing service from the staff in this hotel. They weren't just attentive, they were also very thoughtful in suggesting things for us to do and advice for our days out. The breakfast was excellent as was the room. I highly recommend this hotel and it will be my first choice if I ever go back. Well done Calypso Suites Hotel for making our stay so memorable. And thanks especially for the free room upgrade on the last night! x

Room Tip: As with any city centre hotel, earplugs are recommended although the noise wasn't too bad at thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reiddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is a lovely little place. The staff are great and, at the price, it is great value. We stayed here three times while touring North Viet Nam and Laos and were welcomed like old friends. Staff are knowledgeable and helpful on everything you need to know.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koenraad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Old Quarter of Hanoi is hectic and absolutely interesting. I could walk for days here just exploring. This hotel is right in the centre in an alleyway, and in the early morning you can go outside your door for a bowl of noodles or snack.

The best thing about this place was the staff - absolutely lovely and warm, very friendly. We loved our stay here and it was our favorite place in the 3.5 weeks we travelled in E/SE Asia. Very keen to help, and front desk staff are trustworthy, knowledgable about the city and tours to surrounding areas.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yinchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulahdelah, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Everything about this hotel was exceptional - price, location, cleanliness, staff, breakfast. Couldn't ask for anything better. Hotel organised pick up at the airport, ($AU15) which was great as we would never have found it. It is located down an alley, but surrounded by shops and restaurants and only a short walk to the lake. Stayed here both sides of a trip to Halong Bay. Staff stored our luggage so we didn't have to take it with us, just took an overnight bag. Good internet, excellent English, staff organised taxi's for us and told us how much the fare should be. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. We loved it! We checked out before breakfast on our last day to catch an early flight, but staff packed up a breakfast pack for us to take with us which was great. Great attention to detail at all times. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WendyAnn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The hotel is located at a great location, in the centre of the tourist walking belt of the Old Quarter. But, because it is just off the main road (the short road leading to the hotel is accessible to only bikes) it is also quieter in the night. There's a nice little shop nearby selling pho, so do check that out (patronised by the locals, very affordable).

The service was top notch, the staff were happy to go out of their way to answer my questions and to provide advice. The rooms were clean and the breakfast options were sufficient.

Just a note, the hotel charges 3% extra if you're paying by credit card, so if you wish to save on that bring enough cash along.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington state
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Beautiful hotel, so incredibly clean and in a great location - walking distance to everything you want or need. The staff is top notch - and so friendly and helpful. We arrived exhausted after flight delays with no luggage and the staff took such good care of us. They made me ginger tea and brought it to the room - they stored our luggage safely and without cost when we left for a couple of days to go on a Halong Bay boat - the list just goes on - staff is superb! Also, the breakfast is quite delicious. Just stay here, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sundivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.0 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#51 of 591 in Hanoi
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#31 of 591 in Hanoi
505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Calypso Premier Hotel
Calypso Premier Hotel
#22 of 591 in Hanoi
103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#24 of 591 in Hanoi
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Suites Hotel

Property: Calypso Suites Hotel
Address: 11E Trung Yen Lane, Dinh Liet Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Calypso Legend Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calypso Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hanoi old quarter, just 3 minutes from Hoan Kiem Lake, night market & Dong Xuan Market. The hotel location is very convenient for its guests with nearby shopping and also sight seeing. There are many restaurants to choose from in the same location too. You will have an enjoyable and great time in Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calypso Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing