We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calypso Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Calypso Suites Hotel
Ranked #42 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great location and great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Calypso Suites Hotel very much. The hotel has a very nice decor and it has a great location just in the heart of the Old Quarter. The staff is very helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marketka83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    109
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
118
445
61
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

From the moment we ventured down this little side street (too small for a car), we knew that this was Old Town Hanoi in its truest form and there amongst the everyday lives of these hustling, bustling Hanoins, was this beautiful little hotel. As soon as we were escorted through it's doors, we knew that we had chosen a little treasure. There was nothing about it that wasn't perfect in everyway.
The lobby was lovely with a little welcoming drink and flawless checkin. The rooms were beautiful and spotless.
The breakfast choices, the food presentation, the waitstaff (so welcoming every morning, so helpful in every way, the cook (especially his wonderful omelette) could not have been any better.
The manager, front desk staff, bellmen, cleaning staff were all so attentive to every detail of our stay, making sure that everything was perfect for us.
The location was ideal. Because it is located down a little side street, it is quieter than many other hotels, and yet it is right in the middle of all that Old Town Hanoi has to offer - restaurants, shops, markets, bars, sights.
Okay, only one issue - only so that you know that I am not being paid off for this review by this hotel....Many of the hotels in this price range stated that for some of their rooms there was no view with no window. When I finally saw for the same price range, the picture of this lovely room with a huge picture window, I grabbed it. When we entered the room and opened the curtains on the "huge picture window", there was a cement wall literally a foot away. At first we were a little disappointed, but I have to say that it became SO much of a non-issue for us and in fact, has only added to a little of the the "comical charm: of this city. The room was beautiful at a great price. We spent our days all over Hanoi anyways. And everything else this hotel has to offer so out-weighs this little negative. Plus you have the option of choosing a room that does have an actual view, but initially we chose the cheapest option.
I highly reccomend this little jewel to anyone making their way to Hanoi. By the time we left, we truly felt like they were all one big family.

Room Tip: View or no-view, the rooms are all a great find for the prices. We stayed in their rooms at all dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank musicmama8k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Clean, modern and friendly hotel at reasonable price. Staff very accommodating and went out of their way to make us comfortable during our stay, including packing us a complimentary takeaway dinner for our train trip to Sapa and allowing us to return to the hotel after our tour at very early hours of the morning and offering us a shower, breakfast even tho we did not have a room booking due to moving on from Hanoi that day. Buffet breakfast very good as well. Highly recommend stay here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MelGau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at Calypso Suites in February 2014 for four nights and had a great time! The hotel itself is a haven amidst the chaos that is Hanoi, very quiet and perfectly located.

The staff at the hotel are one of the best draws, nothing is too much for them and it is always done with a smile. From the moment you arrive and are offered a drink and shown a map with all the sites you will feel welcomed.

We stayed in a double room which was lovely, very comfortable bed, plasma television, complimentary fruit basket and water (every day!) and hot bath and shower. The only down side was the view of a wall but really in such a built up city you'd be hard pressed to find a view anywhere! The air con/heater is perfect in a city that can get very hot but also quite cold.

Breakfast was great - bread, croissants, cereal, fruit, tea and coffee are there to help yourselves to and the usual hot foods can be ordered at no extra cost. Burgers, tuna sandwiches and noodles are also on the breakfast menu!

The hotel arranged for our trip to Halong Bay with no pressure to go with any specific company, the called us taxis whenever we needed and were always friendly asking about our day. When we got back from Halong Bay, even though we had checked out, we asked if we could store our luggage for a few hours before we had to get the sleeper train. They did it without qualms and were incredibly helpful doing so which was great considering we weren't actually staying there that night!

Overall, a great hotel that deserves to be top on trip advisor!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanna1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Hanoi was the last stop for my wife and I in our Vietnam trip. And though the weather wasn't kind to us, the awesome staff at Calypso made it a memorable few days there. Right from the time we checked in, we were looked after by each member of the staff there. Be it the wonderful birthday cake and card they left for my wife in our room, or the specially packed breakfast they arranged when we left for an early morning flight, everything made us feel special. We recommend it to everyone!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arjsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I was at Hanoi and spent three nights at the Calypso Suites Hotel. My stay there was absolutely awesome. It is located strategically in the Old Quarters. Souvenirs, coffee, food, everything is just within walking distance. The hotel manager, Kevin and the wonderful staffs are all really friendly and they make good breakfast! Despite the small outlook of the hotel, the rooms are kinda spacious and clean. And yes, they have wifi. A really good choice for anyone visiting Hanoi!

P/S: There is also a really good place to eat Pho, just opposite the hotel :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shu245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This hotel is great! The rooms are spacious and clean! The staffs answered all my questions patiently and recommended delicious restaurants near the hotel. Everyone speaks good English. The location is really convenient as well. I will definitely come back to this hotel if I go back to Hanoi.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yukivivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.0 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#37 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Calypso Premier Hotel
Calypso Premier Hotel
#29 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#27 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essence d’Orient Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Suites Hotel

Property: Calypso Suites Hotel
Address: 11E Trung Yen Lane, Dinh Liet Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Calypso Legend Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calypso Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hanoi old quarter, just 3 minutes from Hoan Kiem Lake, night market & Dong Xuan Market. The hotel location is very convenient for its guests with nearby shopping and also sight seeing. There are many restaurants to choose from in the same location too. You will have an enjoyable and great time in Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Calypso Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing