We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location & Extra Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Calypso Suites Hotel
Ranked #43 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The hotel is located in a quiet lane in the Old Quarter, which means that traffic noise is not an issue. Rooms are superb & ambiance is much better than 3 stars. Bathroom & shower work great, but the hotel's best feature is the staff led by Mr. Kevin. Their English skills are fine & nothing is too much trouble. An example of this was when I put my laundry in I asked if my trousers could be taken up by a couple of centimeters - no problem, got them back laundered with changes made next day at minimal cost.
We stayed 3 nights, other great things about location is it is only a short walk to either the lake, bia hoi corner or the markets.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor & lift only went up to the 5th. If disabled or elderly you would need...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geofft3056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (913)
There are newer reviews for Calypso Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 913 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

The staff speak good English, very warm, accommodating & they're good in organizing our tours and we got free airport transfer coz of staying for 4 nights, thanks to Mr Kevin Le its manager. The rooms & bathroom are clean, large enough for 2 people with free fruits every day. The friendly kitchen staff and waitress were outstanding with great breakfast. Of course all this with smile after smile. Calypso is perfectly located in the Old Quarter which is our favorite area of Hanoi as the locals go about their day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and experienced better service than a 5-star hotel. All arrangements from airport pick-up, hotel check in and out, Halong Bay tour, Water Puppet Show reservations and airport drop-off were seamless. Mai gave us a briefing on the places to see, maps,recommended taxi lines, activities, etc. and we were pleasantly surprised with her English skills. The hotel manager Kevin Le and all his staff were very friendly, cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Calypso detained Odysseus for several years on her hideaway island. Calyspo Suites Hotel is hidden down a lane off Dinh Liet Street in the Old Quarter. I can't recall how Odysseus was treated but the team at this lovely hotel are outstanding. Mr Kevin Le is effusive in a most genuine way. One morning he practically begged guests to eat more breakfast in between serving others with coffee and croissants. The reception staff are exceptional with excellent English skills. Thue with her Degree, excellent English and interest in our home. Tam with her detailed explanations and advice, Mai with her efficiency and Luyen jumping to help with anything and everything. The kitchen staff and head waiter were outstanding with great breakfast. And of course many others 24 hours a day. And all this with smile after smile. The team are chatty, friendly and have fun with each other as well as their guests.
Calypso is perfectly positioned in the Old Quarter which is our favourite area of Hanoi as the locals go about their day.
Kevin and the team organise Taxis, Tours and pickups and we felt totally confident with their advice and judgement. Free breakfast and room to freshen up after returning from Sapa plus gifts of Tea & Coffee before we left was not surprising (but so welcome) given the experiences of our stay.
Although we left the children at home this time this place is suited to families, couples, everyone both old and young.Thoroughly recommend Calypso Suites Hotel for every odyssey even though in the back of our mind, like Homer, we know we must return home sometime.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aarongosper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

staff at calypso suites was very warm and does their best to make our stay at hanoi an enjoyable and stress free one! they a very detailed introduction brief of the city prior to check in!! kudos! room was clean and I enjoyed the free fruits every morning!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights recently at the beginning of our trip to Vietnam. Rooms were good, breakfast was good, location was good too, but stand-out point about this hotel is the service. The manager and all of the team did absolutely everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. We were also very grateful for the way they were able to accommodate us at very short notice for an additional night at the end of our stay in Vietnam when our plans changed unexpectedly. Would strongly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJM1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Very good hotel with excellent service. The staff was always ready to help us with whatever we needed - e.g. booking last minute train tickets and picking us up from the train station in the middle of the night. Rooms were very nice and comfortable. Situated in the middle of the old centre, near the Hoan Kiem Lake - a perfect location for exploring Hanoi. I would certainly recommend this hotel for your stay in Hanoi!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank 85anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.0 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#29 of 598 in Hanoi
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#53 of 598 in Hanoi
1,139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Calypso Premier Hotel
Calypso Premier Hotel
#21 of 598 in Hanoi
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Suites Hotel

Address: 11E Trung Yen Lane, Dinh Liet Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Calypso Legend Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £27 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calypso Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hanoi old quarter, just 3 minutes from Hoan Kiem Lake, night market & Dong Xuan Market. The hotel location is very convenient for its guests with nearby shopping and also sight seeing. There are many restaurants to choose from in the same location too. You will have an enjoyable and great time in Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calypso Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing