We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two days in Hanoi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Calypso Suites Hotel
Ranked #42 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“two days in Hanoi”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Perfect location down a quite side street in the hustle and bustle old town The Hotel is a very pleasant suprise. We arranged for a pick up from the airport and he was there on time, the staff were waiting at the end of the street to take our bags and pour us a welcome drink. The hotel itself is modern and spotless and the staff can't do enough for you. The rooms are a good size and have every thing you could want. breakfast was excelent eggs done to order, friut etc.
Out side there shops places to eat and drink, (look for places with an upstairs balcony with a great view of the street life)
Overall can't fault The Calypso would recomend to anyone, enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraemePartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    112
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
120
457
62
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful two nights here , we had the family room - there was 3 of us . Lovely little room , very clean , tea/coffee , fruit all complimentary . Bathroom is smallish but absolutely fine . The breakfast was wonderful and speedy , really enjoyed the fresh mango juice . The staff here are exceptional and full of knowledge and will explain everything to you about Hanoi. Thanks Calypso Suites , a very pleasant stay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank liebens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Locatws a short walk from the lake and the centre of the old quarter , he hotel is perfectly located . We arrived early morning and were allowed to check in well before the check in time of 12. We were also informed that breakfast will be included for that day as well . My bag was also left behind is sapa and couriered to Hanoi . The hotel made all the arrangements to collect from the courier company . All staff were very fluent in English. We stayed just one night, received a take away packed breakfast for the early flight and were given a gift.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MOandAYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived at hotel at 1am using their transfer and were greeted by several staff despite the late hour. The hotel is down a side street but don't let this put you off. We were given welcome drinks and shown to a spacious room with a ridiculously large bed (perfect having travelled for 24 hours). Very quiet on 6th floor, when we returned for a night after our halong bay trip we were on 4th floor and still couldn't hear anything from outside. Breakfast buffet looked a little limited but supplemented with a whole array of cooked breakfast or sandwiches - you can even have pho if you haven't had your fill yet. Food was excellent. Excellent for a 3 star

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurynAndBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was our lower cost option for our trip but no other hotel compared to the service and homely feel for this hotel. Best location lovely clean rooms, lovely breakfast and the staff basically do anything for you to ensure your stay in hanoi is enjoyable, they make it easy!! Thanks to all the staff, we have recommended to our friends who will be there this week!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngeBroughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My girlfriend and I were collected by a Calypso Suites driver from the airport and met on arrival with some welcome drinks. We arrived early in the morning but the good people at Calypso let us check in anyway. One of the receptionists helped us create an itinerary that suited the length of our stay and our interests which was great as we had not done much research. She then proceeded to call our tour operator to Sapa to check the status of our tickets - nothing was too much trouble :)
We had a great stay in Hanoi, and on leaving, a member of staff gave us a packed lunch for the night train!
Kevin the owner insisted when we returned from Sapa to stop by Calypso and have a complimentary breakfast and arranged a driver to take us to the airport - amazing service.

The location of the hotel is perfect - in the old quarter with little meandering streets outside where locals go about their daily lives preparing and selling produce. It is about a block away from the famous beer corner which I recommend, and, very close to the lake and night market.
The rooms are clean, and while a little basic, the amazing customer service and attention to each individual makes this boutique hotel one of the best experiences we have had. It's superb value too.

Don't bother comparing other hotels in Hanoi, just book this one!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in April of 2014. The staff went above and beyond at every turn.the food was fresh and lovely. The room (double suite) was large, had a fantastic air conditioner, great cable, and was kept spotless the entire visit. They helped arrange a tour to Halong Bay after a change in plans opened up 2 nights, and it was great as well.
I have seen people complain that it is on an alley--the alley is perfectly safe and not creepy at all, in fact it acts as a buffer to the endless noise in Hanoi, making the rooms completely quiet and tranquil any time of day or night.
I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel. For the price, perfect central location, and excellent service, I couldn't imagine going anywhere else

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melibrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.0 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#50 of 591 in Hanoi
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#31 of 591 in Hanoi
505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Calypso Premier Hotel
Calypso Premier Hotel
#22 of 591 in Hanoi
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#24 of 591 in Hanoi
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Suites Hotel

Property: Calypso Suites Hotel
Address: 11E Trung Yen Lane, Dinh Liet Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Calypso Legend Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calypso Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hanoi old quarter, just 3 minutes from Hoan Kiem Lake, night market & Dong Xuan Market. The hotel location is very convenient for its guests with nearby shopping and also sight seeing. There are many restaurants to choose from in the same location too. You will have an enjoyable and great time in Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Calypso Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing