We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Calypso Suites Hotel
Ranked #45 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This laneside Old Quarter hotel in central Hanoi is close to Water Puppet Theatre.

In short, it exceeded my expectations.

But for the hotel losing my freezer ice pack that was in an insulated bag that contained Cadbury chocolate given to the staff for storage, I would have given it a five out of five.

The hotel staff led by manager Mr Kevin Le are super friendly and mostly very efficient.

We stayed on one night and also had day use for one day. The late checkout cost US$50 but 12 hours of day use from 0600 to 1730--due to our arrival on the excellent overnight train from Sapa cost only US$45. That baffled me.

The hotel had an efficient modern elevator to our seventh floor room. The eighth floor has only stair access.

The two rooms that we sampled each had marvellous lacquered local wood, a real quality finish.

The bed linen was first class while the bed was comfortable. The window opened and was protected by a stylish metal grille on its lower half inside the window.

Air conditioning worked very well.

The room had a flat screen television and an in room safe plus a roomy wardrobe. There was a natty kittle alarm clock.

Breakfast was terrific with yoghurt and delicious bread enhanced by warming. There were four different juices available but the pancake was served with the banana nit folded in. They need to send a staff member to Philippines to learn how to do this better.

When we left on the overnight Livitrans train to Da Nang - great trip - the hotel gave us free sandwiches and yoghurt. They also called Ma Linh taxis.

Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

I booked this hotel for our stay in Hanoi based on its then number 1 rating on tripadvisor and definitely wasn't disappointed. We had 3 visits to Calypso Suites during our time in Vietnam and we called it our "Hanoi Home" it definitely felt more like staying with friends than staying in your typical hotel.

Calypso Suites is right in the heart of the Old Quarter and only a 5 minute walk to the lake. The rooms are exceptionally clean, fruit, water, tea and coffee making facilities are provided. We loved the breakfast that was included in the tariff but most of all we loved the friendliness and amazing service provided by ALL of the staff.

When Calypso Suites received my booking they contacted me to see if there was anything else they could arrange for us - good business but the service we received made booking everything from airport transfers, water puppet tickets and train tickets to Sapa oh so easy. Thanks Amy!!

Our first night at Calypso was the day we arrived in Hanoi we were greeted with smiling faces, great english from the staff (which we soon learned was not very common in Hanoi) welcome drinks, an upgraded room and best of all a run down on do's and dont's in Hanoi and instructions on how to cross the road safely. We were shown to our gorgeous upgraded room on the 8th floor with a view over the Hanoi skyline towards the lake.

The following day we were off to Halong Bay and Calypso Suites offered to store any excess baggage that we didn't want to take with us. Upon our return a few days later they gave us a complimentary room to use for the afternoon so that we could freshen up before we headed up to Sapa on the overnight train. We had organised the train tickets through Calypso Suites and were asked to be at reception at 8.45pm for our departure as one of their staff would accompany us to the train - wow, awesome service!! When leaving for the train we were presented with a "care package" of food for the trip - so thoughtful and generous of the staff who now felt more like friends! One of our "friends" came in the taxi with us to Hanoi train station got us through ticketing, to the correct train and even into our cabin. Until we got to Hanoi train station we didn't realise how important this service was. Negotiating Hanoi train station without speaking Vietnamese would be almost impossible. I didn't see a sign in english anywhere.

We had booked Calypso Suites for our third encounter with them for the same night that we were returning from Sapa to ensure that we could get into our room early on the morning that we arrived back in Hanoi. Our "friend" who took us to the train station had given us instructions to hop off the train and remain on the platform in front of our carriage and we would be collected by a Calypso staff member. True to the service that we had know come to expect from our Hanoi "friends" we were greeted on arrival escorted to a taxi and taken back to our "Hanoi Home" we were given the beautiful room on the 8th floor again and when we asked what time we needed to check out of the room Kevin the manager gave us a late check out of 4.45pm at no extra charge (check out is normally 12 noon) that way we didn't have to vacate the room until we needed to leave for our flight to Danang. We were also give a parting gift by Kevin to thank us for staying with them.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning a stay in Hanoi. Our only regret is that we weren't able to stay for longer!

Room Tip: Our upgraded 8th floor room had a really bright and airy feel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iwannaceverything14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Calypso Suites is a really nice hotel in a great location within Hanoi's old quarter. The rooms and food are of a very high standard but what really sets it apart is the staff. During our stay, the staff would go to great lengths to make sure our time in Vietnam was as enjoyable as possible. This included escorting us to the train station for our sleeper train, providing us with packed meals to take with us and making every effort they could to recover a lost phone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have never stayed anywhere that has better service than here. We were treated like family. Nothing was too difficult for the staff. The rooms were lovely. The breakfasts were great. It's location in the Old Quarter is very handy for shopping and to see many of the sights. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A family room together a bit more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wkrawczuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Calypso is excellent value - spotless, well located, and with exceptionally friendly staff and a great breakfast (included). Highly highly recommend and would stay here again on our next trip to Hanoi. The only one thing that they could improve would be the showers -- it was difficult to get the water temp. right at first -- but honestly for the value that is a very small downside. Thank you to the team at Calypso for making our stay in Hanoi so great!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aml01020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Hanoi no problem with our transfer organised by the hotel, and charged to room to save time messing around with money. We have never been to Vietnam so was a real culture shock for us but we recieved a wonderful welcome from the receptionist and manager. At all times the staff used our names, took an interest in us and helped us when we needed it. They also took the time to warn us of scams and dangers, something I have never seen another hotel do and we really appreciated this. That they would be honest enough to tell us what people are up to in their city. They also gave us a map and best places to go for shopping and food etc which we used each day. Very good recommendations.
Our room was perfect with a huge bed, very clean and beautiful rose petals in a heart shape. We also had comp wine and a really sweet card to wish us well on our honeymoon, thankyou for that.
We saw the dining room was being worked on when we got there - no floor and some building work being done. We couldn't hear much noise and were stunned to see it completely re-tiled by the morning! They must have worked very hard. Breakfast was simple but enjoyable with good selection of fresh fruit and breads. They also cook eggs to order which my husband enjoyed.
Not sure if we will return to Hanoi but if we do we will come back to Calypso. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MrsMorgan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The service level was excellent. The bed was comfortable, and the mango juice smoothies were amazing. I would have stayed longer had I had more time. I had several hours between my all day tour of Hanoi and overnight train to Sapa. They suggested the water puppet show and even went to pick up the ticket for me. Before leaving the hotel, they gave me a care package for the train ride (water, fruit, sandwich, etc.) which was totally a surprise. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paige L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.0 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#30 of 597 in Hanoi
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Calypso Premier Hotel
Calypso Premier Hotel
#20 of 597 in Hanoi
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#53 of 597 in Hanoi
1,146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Suites Hotel

Address: 11E Trung Yen Lane, Dinh Liet Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Calypso Legend Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £30 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calypso Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hanoi old quarter, just 3 minutes from Hoan Kiem Lake, night market & Dong Xuan Market. The hotel location is very convenient for its guests with nearby shopping and also sight seeing. There are many restaurants to choose from in the same location too. You will have an enjoyable and great time in Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calypso Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing