We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very moving”

Vietnam Military History Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$529.00*
and up
Dien Bien Phu Past and Present: 2-Night Trip from Hanoi by Air
Ranked #28 of 277 things to do in Hanoi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This repository of Vietnam's military history includes rooms full of war propganda, photographs and documents from wars against China, France, and the United States. The grounds feature several captured aircraft as well as a central structure build from the wreckage of French and American planes. Visitors may climb the flag tower, with great views from the top.
Methven, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very moving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

This is a must visit to remember what hardships war can cause to the innocent children. Horror photos but by viewing we will remember before condoning war.
It's the children that suffer the most. We had wet eyes on leaving here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stolid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    462
    270
    61
    15
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
329 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Contrast between historic citadel tower and war relics”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Situated in the heart of Hanoi in the grounds of the historic Hanoi Citadel Tower, this museum traces the long struggle of the Vietnamese people for independence and freedom. From the ancient battles to the more recent and better known American / Vietnam War, there is a vast assortment of weapons, tanks, aircraft and bombs. It demonstrates just how resilient and resourceful the Vietnamese people were and still are. I notice that a lot of reviewers are critical of the fact that there are few English translations and that few staff speak English. In my opinion these tourists are missing the point. Don't forget that this country was almost bombed out of existence by the USA B52's and then the Americans imposed heavy sanctions for decades after losing the war, killing many more people by starvation. It is only in recent years that Vietnam has started to recover. English tuition is not readily available and the Tourist Industry is still learning. Everything is in Vietnamese ! - How odd - This is Vietnam! Enjoy the experiences this beautiful country and these beautiful people have to offer.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Okay if that is your sort of thing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

The displays of pre 20th century were interesting but few translations made it difficult to follow. The 20th century stuff was better labelled but got very repetitive. If you see this, probably don't need to see Hanoi Hilton as there is quite s bit of repetition.

Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
“Disappointing museum...very little English translations but good displays of aircraft.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The museum was very much up there on my friends to do list. I'm really not into museums so my review may seem negative.
The museum seemed dated and not well set out. The staff did not speak English so when we asked a question they just stared blankly at us?
The displays were nothing special...a tin mug with a description of "Tin mug used to drink water" please!
The entrance fee was minimal...paid,extra to take photos which seems to be the go in Vietnam.

It was raining on the day we were there but it did not dampen our spirit to browse around the aircrafts and tanks outside of the museum. I read a recent review on trip advisor that there was another area of display out the very rear of the museum which we were unaware of.
Got some good photos of the planes and chopper and tank though.
Would have been helpful if they would have handed out a brochure or map of the museum to assist us.
Vietnam has numerous museums....none of them impressed me but still glad I got to see them. The museum closes for a couple of hours around lunchtime so plan you visit carefully. Enquire about the hours or you may be like us and run out of time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank suem56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing inside but vehicles and aircraft outside are impressive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Outside exhibition - planes (Mig-21, Mig-17, Il-14 and others) helicopters (Iroquois, Chinook), tanks and other armored vehicles (T-34, T-54, M113, etc), AA guns, torpedo launchers claimed to be used during Gulf of Tonkin incident - is quite interesting, but the inside disappoints. It's not even that it's mostly blatant propaganda - which is a given and can be quite interesting from historical/political point of view - it just seems to be a disjointed collection of items ("rice tube" used by Mrs X to bring food to help heroic combatants, bowl used by Mr Y to refresh himself before battle by drinking his own urine) without broader context. It would be great to see - for example - a small description of tactic used when fighting with anti-tank Lunge Mines or laying spike traps or short story of fascinating Dien Bien Phu battle or... you get the idea. A lot of opportunities missed.

Tickets were 40K VND.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank beers-and-chillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vietnam Military History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Vietnam Military History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing