We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist trap” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thang Long Water Puppet Theater

Thang Long Water Puppet Theater
Book In Advance
More Info
US$11.00*
and up
Water Puppet Entrance Tickets with Hanoi Hotel Ticket Delivery
Ranked #18 of 274 things to do in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Traditional legends and historical tales are among the enchanting puppet plays performed at this popular theatre.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Water puppet show was interesting, but we were pretty ready to get out of there by the end. The show lasts about 50 minutes. We also got ripped off into buying "First Class" tickets, and once we were in the theatre we had no clue as to how our seats could have been "first class." They were right on the aisle in the middle section of the theatre, and the people next to us probably had the normal price tickets.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Evan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,711
    2,912
    1,604
    395
    195
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Didnt mean to go!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We had decided to give it a miss then finding ourselves outside with no plans for the evening purchased 2 first class tickets.
The seats are designed for Vietnamese children and my wife and I had to contort ourselves to get into them and sit down (there are some ordinary chairs you can move to in the side aisles if you are quick enough).
The programme was quite entertaining and overall we enjoyed this unique entertainment. Would I go again? Never!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank steve-norf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“really?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

I know this is a traditional Vietnamese art form but it's really cheesey. At least for those of us in our mid-30's. Probably fun for kids. I did enjoy the live music. Might be worth the $3 entry if you have an afternoon to kill or it's raining out, otherwise skip it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sandiegotraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fun experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Cute performance with wonderful music! Only about $5, so it is cheap entertainment. Theatre is right in the center of town and very easy to find. Go early in the day to get tickets as the shows seem to sell out fairly quick. Musicians are absolutely fantastic! The puppet part of the show is extremely well done. Highly reccomend this excellent look back at early Vietnamese culture!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank rsindelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelson new zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pretty amatureish”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

not too keen on this one. Was a bit amateurish. You could see the puppeteers behind the curtain .Just not our cup of tea.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank janab8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thang Long Water Puppet Theater also viewed

 

Been to Thang Long Water Puppet Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing