We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky Hotel is our home away from home.”
Review of Lucky Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lucky Hotel
Ranked #231 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We have stayed at the Lucky Hotel many times over the years, which means now when we are in Hanoi we are home. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make sure their guests are made welcome. The rooms are extremely clean and spacious and being a small hotel there is a wonderful intimacy. We try to book room 404 because of the large balcony which means we can sit outside and drink in the sounds and smells of Hanoi. There is a good selection of rooms of varying sizes and prices. Lucky Hotel is wonderfully situated near Hoan Kiem Lake and at the gateway of the exquisite Old Quarter. If you want the older charm of a small hotel - this is for you.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlanJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Lucky Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2011

The hotel is very shabby and needs to be spruced up. Not only is the furniture in the rooms worn and old, I had holes in my bedsheets (which kept me awake as my feet kept getting caught in the holes), the computers in the lobby are very old and the chairs broken. Staff seemed more interested in playing games on the computer than looking after guests. All in all, it's a terrific location and it's okay for a low budget hotel but I paid $30 for one night's accommodation which should have been only $10 or $15 at the very most. I moved to another hotel and for exactly the same price slept somewhere a million times nicer.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

The Lucky Hotel on Ngo Huyen Street in Hanoi, Vietnam was an excellent place to stay. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and attentive. Staff speaks English and German, and were incredibly friendly and eager to help no matter what time of day or night. The hotel was very clean, and a good deal. The hotel is set back in a small alley, off of Ly Quoc Su Street. The location made it ideal for quiet evenings, yet a minutes walk to shopping, eateries, etc. It was only a few minutes walk to the center lake of Hanoi from the hotel on Ngo Huyen Street. The rooms were clean and new inside. Every room has a computer to use for free. It saved us a ton of time trying to find an internet cafe with their usual slow connection. Breakfast was included in the room price also, you could choose from several options. I would definitely recommend the hotel, and would certainly stay again on my next trip to Hanoi. Enjoy your trip!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newengland1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

not special, ok room, clean and well located. Nothing special, but certainly ok for the price you pay

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keppebolletje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 3 September 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 August 2009

I stayed at Lucky Hotel for two nights.
* The rooms had Malaysian Nyonya-like furniture, which added a touch of character to them. Two doors in the room on the first night did not close properly.
* Breakfast is meagre. Don't expect a Melia-like buffet.
* The air-conditioner in two rooms on the second night did not work, but we were quickly given a room with an air-conditioner that worked (third-time lucky)..
* The hotel is clean but because of its proxmity to the street, you can hear the traffic.
* The receptionists were helpful. I asked a woman for the directions to a jazz bar, and she immediately looked it up on the Internet.
* The blanket is thin, so you may freeze if the room is cold.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank humid7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 3 July 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Lucky 3 Hotel
Lucky 3 Hotel
#174 of 598 in Hanoi
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Lakeside Hotel
Golden Lakeside Hotel
#335 of 598 in Hanoi
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Rice Hotel Hanoi
Golden Rice Hotel Hanoi
#120 of 598 in Hanoi
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Merci Hotel
Hanoi Merci Hotel
#158 of 598 in Hanoi
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centre Point Hanoi Hotel
Centre Point Hanoi Hotel
#196 of 598 in Hanoi
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Hotel Hanoi
Golden Hotel Hanoi
#405 of 598 in Hanoi
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky Hotel

Address: 12 Hang Trong Street | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £21 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lucky Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lucky Hotel!Lucky Hotel have opended since 1993 and the one of oldest hotel brand in Hanoi Old and is a recently renovated and well-maintained three – star hotel at 12 Hang Trong Street.With it's great location in the heart of the Old Quarter in Hanoi, guests can easily access the famous Hoan Kiem Lake, Water Puppet theatre, Dong Xuan market........ in just a minute. This delightful hotel comprises 20 spacious and cosy guestrooms, all 20 rooms with windows can open or large balcony offering panoramic city view. All rooms and suites are pleasantly designed in Vietnamese classic and luxury style with artistry wooden furniture and original art crafts which give guests a real touch to Vietnamese ancient royal life. Especially, all the rooms feature windows and private marble bathrooms and our suites have private balconies or large windows offering panoramic views of Hanoi ancient city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lucky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing