We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I always stay at the Lucky Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucky Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lucky Hotel
Ranked #238 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I always stay at the Lucky Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

I have been to Vietnam six times and have stayed at the Lucky 1, Lucky 2, and most recently the Lucky 3. They are within a bock or so of each other and are very similar. The Lucky 3 is the newest one and has a wonderful terrace on the top floor. It is very pleasant for breakfast and for sitting outside in the evening. The rooms are clean and each has a TV, free internet, and a private bathroom. The staff are friendly and helpful. The Lucky Hotels are located in a busy, interesting and safe area of Hanoi, just a few blocks from Hoan Kiem Lake. Be sure to get up early and walk around the lake.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LOFChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    25
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
19
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

I always stay at this hotel.I find the rooms are very good value for the price.The hotel staff have helped me out more times than I can remember.
Nothing is too much trouble.Placed near the old quater of HaNoi everywhere is easy to get to

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingchefEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

This is the second stay at Lucky Hotel. My first was two years ago and it was just as comfortable this time. The staff are lovely but mainly keep to themselves unless asked a specific question. The location is perfect, easy access to all the shops and the Hoan Kiem Lake.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k80travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

We have stayed at the Lucky Hotel many times over the years, which means now when we are in Hanoi we are home. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make sure their guests are made welcome. The rooms are extremely clean and spacious and being a small hotel there is a wonderful intimacy. We try to book room 404 because of the large balcony which means we can sit outside and drink in the sounds and smells of Hanoi. There is a good selection of rooms of varying sizes and prices. Lucky Hotel is wonderfully situated near Hoan Kiem Lake and at the gateway of the exquisite Old Quarter. If you want the older charm of a small hotel - this is for you.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

The hotel is very shabby and needs to be spruced up. Not only is the furniture in the rooms worn and old, I had holes in my bedsheets (which kept me awake as my feet kept getting caught in the holes), the computers in the lobby are very old and the chairs broken. Staff seemed more interested in playing games on the computer than looking after guests. All in all, it's a terrific location and it's okay for a low budget hotel but I paid $30 for one night's accommodation which should have been only $10 or $15 at the very most. I moved to another hotel and for exactly the same price slept somewhere a million times nicer.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2010

The Lucky Hotel on Ngo Huyen Street in Hanoi, Vietnam was an excellent place to stay. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and attentive. Staff speaks English and German, and were incredibly friendly and eager to help no matter what time of day or night. The hotel was very clean, and a good deal. The hotel is set back in a small alley, off of Ly Quoc Su Street. The location made it ideal for quiet evenings, yet a minutes walk to shopping, eateries, etc. It was only a few minutes walk to the center lake of Hanoi from the hotel on Ngo Huyen Street. The rooms were clean and new inside. Every room has a computer to use for free. It saved us a ton of time trying to find an internet cafe with their usual slow connection. Breakfast was included in the room price also, you could choose from several options. I would definitely recommend the hotel, and would certainly stay again on my next trip to Hanoi. Enjoy your trip!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newengland1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
144 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

not special, ok room, clean and well located. Nothing special, but certainly ok for the price you pay

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keppebolletje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Lucky 3 Hotel
Lucky 3 Hotel
#165 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince Hotel
Prince Hotel
#299 of 578 in Hanoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bao Khanh Hotel
Bao Khanh Hotel
#390 of 578 in Hanoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Serendipity Hotel
Hanoi Serendipity Hotel
#92 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gondola Hotel
Gondola Hotel
#91 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Merci Hotel
Hanoi Merci Hotel
#155 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky Hotel

Property: Lucky Hotel
Address: 12 Hang Trong Street | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lucky Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lucky Hotel!Lucky Hotel have opended since 1993 and the one of oldest hotel brand in Hanoi Old and is a recently renovated and well-maintained three – star hotel at 12 Hang Trong Street.With it's great location in the heart of the Old Quarter in Hanoi, guests can easily access the famous Hoan Kiem Lake, Water Puppet theatre, Dong Xuan market........ in just a minute. This delightful hotel comprises 20 spacious and cosy guestrooms, all 20 rooms with windows can open or large balcony offering panoramic city view. All rooms and suites are pleasantly designed in Vietnamese classic and luxury style with artistry wooden furniture and original art crafts which give guests a real touch to Vietnamese ancient royal life. Especially, all the rooms feature windows and private marble bathrooms and our suites have private balconies or large windows offering panoramic views of Hanoi ancient city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Lucky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing