We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will definitely be back.”
Review of Hong Ngoc Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hong Ngoc Hotel
Ranked #319 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

Absolutely enjoyed our stay here. Our room was clean though small. The staff were attentive, informative and very polite. Our room had a safe and lockable wardrobes Breakfasts were good. They were very accomadating with late checkouts. And also did a great deal on the room for half day. Right in the old town and it's addictive street life Very comforting for us when they arranged a car to drop us at airport. Much cheaper than a taxi. We will definately be back next year with family in tow.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morffydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at Hong Ngoc 3 for 8 nights and had booked a superior room via Agoda. The room was spacious, had clean sheets, a large bathroom with tub and stone floors. However, the window was facing onto the hallway with no natural light. Without the room lights it was completely dark, which I found depressing. The TV was on a dresser which means you can't watch from the bed.

The bathroom was a bit quirky with a pink hairdryer and dolphin shower curtains. The towels smelled a bit damp. The bathroom also has a huge safetybox. Big enough for large cameras.

The breakfast was ok: toast, jam, coffee, tea, fried rice and veggies, some eggs, fruits and a tray with little cakes and croissants.

We paid almost 38 dollars per night via agoda and later haggled down to 33, but I feel that both prices are too high given the standard.

The location is great though. Right in the middle of Hang Bac and five minutes to Hoan Kiem Lake. The hotel provides excellent maps of the city.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berlin-Couple-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The hotel is in the heart of the Old Quarter on Hang Bac (also known as Silver Street), as a result it is very easy to walk around and experience the area without being too far from your Hanoi home. It was clean, comfortable and the staff were friendly. Not all rooms in hotels in Hanoi have windows which can mean that the room can be quite dark, however what they have done in this hotel is quite clever. They have a "window" overlooking the stairwell which allows daylight to stream through. You can close this "window" easily and it has curtains so as to allow privacy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We were desperate for a place to sleep our first night in Hanoi, where we arrived a day early and found the hotel booked where we had reservations the following night (the Hanoi Value Hotel). Trying to find something within walking distance, our guidebook recommended the Hong Ngoc. We looked at a couple other places and were put off by their dirtiness so we were filled with hope when we saw the decent looking room at this place.

As it turned out, the room was pretty clean, but it suffered from some major deficiencies:

1) The toilet clogged at about 9pm, and when we visited the very young front desk receptionist and asked him to send someone up with a plunger, he just woke up some exhausted, non-English speaking teenage guy sleeping on a cot in the lobby and sent him upstairs to help us. The young helper (who we likened to "somebody wake up the gimp") was none too happy to have been woken, and more or less glared at us bleary eyed during the elevator ride while my boyfriend asked him repeatedly if he was going to get a plunger (as if this kid knew the English word "plunger"). Upon arrival to the room, my boyfriend showed him the clogged toilet. After a couple of seconds pondering it, during which my boyfried continued to mime "plunger" over and over again, the kid proceeded to stick his Croc-covered foot in the toilet bowl and jam it up and down over the toilet hole (see photo for evidence -- taken before I collapsed on the bed in fits of disturbed laughter). He splashed dirty toilet water all over our bathroom and after "fixing" the clog, he simply walked out of the room, while my boyfriend chased after him asking if he was going to clean the floor. The apparent answer was no. So we used our towels to wipe up the soaking wet floor. It's worth noting that the toilet was still clogged in the morning, but we were checking out, thankfully.

2) The bed consisted of two twin beds pushed together. One was rock hard, and one was dreamy soft. We crammed together on the dreamy soft side, which made for a crowded night. The sheets were also very pilly.

3) It was $40/night, which cost $5 more than our other hotel, and provided less than half of the service and amenities.

4) The breakfast buffet was pretty terrible.

On the plus side, the hotel gave us a great map of the city, which we used during our three day stay in Hanoi. Otherwise, it was pretty wretched and totally not worth $40.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paquitaladelbarrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My family and I stayed here for a few days before and after doing a Sapa and Halong Bay trip.
The girls at reception were excellent and happy to help us with tours ,laundry or anything you asked them,the boys however were either disinterested or not that helpful.Twice we arranged a pickup or drop off to the train station and no one showed.Lucky the taxis are frequent and cheap.
Breakfasts were very good here and kept our teenage kids very happy.
This is a great location to base yourself.
Unless your a good sleeper , dont get a room at the front of the building.

Room Tip: dont sleep at tthe front of the building.Superior is not always superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jason b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We had a very pleasant stay with them. Breakfast was usual and satisfactory. Staff was very polite and humble. We took a trip to Halong Bay for two days and were not to come back to the hotel. Luggage was becoming a problem... they readily offered us to take care of our luggage. The front desk person was extremely pleasant. Location was very convenient. Every interesting place was at walkable distance.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IndiaTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We had amazing service at this hotel.
The room was a bit small, but very very clean. For the first time in Vietnam, we had a buffet breakfast, and we found it to be great.
The hotel can also book the tour to Halong Bay for you, but before we knew it, we booked it with another agency already. We were paying around 30$/night, and just not to have the trouble of packing and unpacking for a zillion times, we kept the room for the one night we were away.
The hotel also has a salon/spa, and offers to take you there/from by taxi, which was very convenient.
Location - couldn't be better. You're in the middle of the old quarters, so it's all happening there at night.
One excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank worldtraveller201101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
2 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.1 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
0.9 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#98 of 600 in Hanoi
2,336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Ngoc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Ngoc Hotel

Address: Hang Thiec str | Old quarter, Hanoi 1000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £38 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the French protectorate, Hong Ngoc Annam is named after the central territory of Vietnam during the 19th century. Our boutique hotel is situated on ‘Hang Bac - Silver Street’- the busiest and the most famous old street in Hanoi. Dated from the 13th century, this place was famous as a silver ingot factory under the reign of King Le Thanh Tong. Nowadays, experienced craftsmen are still hand-making varieties of jewelry such as ear-rings, bracelets, rings, gold chains for the local market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hong Ngoc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hong Ngoc 3 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing