We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, very comfortable ”
Review of Hanoi Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Ranked #70 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Central location, very comfortable ”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of night on either side if Halong bay trip.

Location: perfect. Right off side street in heart of old quarter. Steps from the lake and restaurants, shopping and bars.

Room: spacious, well designed western standards for beds and linens and nice big bathroom with rain shower heads.

Restaurant; great bfast buffet included. Get there before the Halong Bay rush when everyone rushes down for bfast just before their shuttles get there to take them to Halong bay at 8:30am. Dining room is smallish and can't accommodate everyone at once.

Staff: mostly friendly. Managers are great and helpful. One guy we had to keep interacting with was borderline rude and consistently unhelpful, (phillip)and should not be at the front desk. It may be a cultural thing but he should not be in a customer service position at this type of hotel. Other front desk staff were far more helpful and welcoming.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank sdwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chi T, Manager at Hanoi Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear sdwarrior,

Thank you very much for taking time to write your feelings about our hotel.

We are all happy that you enjoy your stay with us and appreciated our location, our facilities, our staff and had a comfortable time at our Hanoi Pearl Hotel. I have sit down with one of our team member which you mentioned that he did not perform well during your stay. Your great comment is very helpful with us as it is the best way for us to look into our performance and the service. I hope that we can welcome you back at your next visit to Hanoi.

Many thanks & Best regards,

Peter Xuan

Hotel Manager – Hanoi Pearl Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    400
    80
    17
    8
See reviews for
194
552
68
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at the Hanoi Pearl for 2 nights, on either side of our Halong Bay trip. Given the excellent location in Hanoi and the lovely rooms, the rate was very well priced! Our first stay was wonderful - altough the construction next door is a touch nosiy.

However, upon returning, we were told that there was no longer space for us (despite the fact that I made the booking 2 months before arriving!) and would we consider moving to the sister hotel down the road. My husband and I agreed to look at it - about the same price as Hanoi Pearl - and flatly refused to stay there as the room was shocking and stunk! Eventually, we were "allowed" to stay at Hanoi Pearl but this time received a room which was clearly a smoking room (although requesting non-smoking in original booking) and had some very loud, shrieky children playing in the corridors.

Having read some recent reviews, it appears Hanoi Pearl treat "one night" stayovers as less important than guests staying for a longer period. This is really a pity as I thought it was a great choice, despite the poor treatement we received.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is probably the best hotel in Vietnam. The staff and service are amazing. The location is also very good. It is in the old quarter and you can pretty much walk to all the sights. It is also really good value for money. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mas1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Considering the price-tag and the 4 stars, the Hanoi Perl just about met our expectations on our recent trip to Vietnam. It welcomed us back from a couple of nights spent on a boat in Cat Ba\ Ha Long Bay and it definitely provided a hint of luxury and much needed comfort on the way back (but then again, we did Ha Long on a private tour and definitely not a 5 star cruise). The location makes this hotel an amazing choice, since it is on a side street that leads nearly directly to the central Ho Guam Lake, right in the heart of the Old District. Everything is at walk-able distance: main sights, street food, shopping. The room was massive and extremely well decorated. It was very well cleaned. The double bed also was probably the biggest we had in Vietnam. The breakfast buffet offered plenty of choice. The hotel had free Wi-Fi, but it was not very strong in our room.

FITNESS: First of all, I need to say that I very much appreciate that the hotel made ANY kind of fitness equipment available. This did not seem to be the case with any other hotel within the same price range and with the same great location, and I had selected this hotel predominantly because they offered any such facility. So, this is not a negative comment, but rather a piece of information for other travellers who also want to exercise while travelling (and possibly a note for the hotel should they like to improve). The fitness room, in the basement, is unfortunately very basically equipped. For cardio it offered 2 treadmills and 2 steps. For weight training it only offered a rudimentary Chinese multi-exercise machine, which basically only allowed you to bench press, lat pulldown, work your biceps and your triceps, with very low weights (I added pics of this). Useless for anyone trying to keep momentum on any serious weight training program while travelling but decent for cardio. An open air, very basic, man-made gym constructed on the border of the nearby lake out of concrete probably offers more by way of possibilities.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wisetravellerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

During a short trip to Hanoi stayed at this hotel which is centrally located in the old quarter part of town. Found the guest room to be a bit above the Asian hotel room standards with larger square footage and larger bathroom space. Front desk staff was relatively helpful yet one (who's name I can't remember) was a bit abrupt and rude but more along the lines of the Hanoi-Vietnamese approach. Seems breakfast rush is between 7-8:30am and the dining room is too small to accommodate everyone if the hotel is full (which it was in my case) so either later your breakfast eating time or be prepared to wait, stalk the tables and diners for one that becomes available.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank FreqTrvl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moro, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We have great stay at the Hanoi Pearl in the Old Quarters.
We stayed in one King size bed. It’s very spacious room ,with big size room , comfortable linen, private balcony and very comfortable bathroom .There are free basket of fresh fruits and complimentary bottle of Vietnamese wine… also safety box. It basically met all our need for my stay .
In the morning the breakfast buffet was huge and very fresh
Thanks Hanoi Capital Travel had recommended us to staying here ,you do it very good job not only make my trip to Halong Bay and Sapa. You also recommending us all the nice service in Vietnam with the best price and good quality tour .
We will strongly Recommend You ( Hanoi Capital Travel ) to all of my friend even any one when we meet on our trips to your agent book your Tour .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank needham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silves, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We booked the room 1 month in advance. My wife was skeptical about the low price and to our delight we found a Gem of a hotel. The room was spacious, well appointed, good size bathroom, comfortable bed, clean, good WiFi signal, complete amenities and good, reasonably priced Food and Beverage.
We did not hear or feel any construction as stated in the other reviews maybe because our room (room *07) was not adjacent to hotel under construction next door.
The location is just perfect, minutes walk to everything in the Old Quarter and being in tucked-away street, no constant noise of horns honking.
We would return to this hotel again for the location, price, and attentiveness of the hoteliers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT adjacent to the construction site next door. Don't worry about being next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel Trendy
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
#75 of 588 in Hanoi
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
MK Premier Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Pearl Hotel

Property: Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Address: Number 6, Bao Khanh Lane | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanoi Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hanoi Old Quarter, Hanoi Pearl Hotel is conveniently a minute's walk to the renowned Hoan Kiem Lake. It features a fitness centre, a 24-hour front desk and free Wi-Fi access throughout the property.The hotel is just a 3-minute walk to St. Joseph's Cathedral, Ngoc Son Temple and Thang Long Water Puppet Theatre. The famous Dong Xuan Market and night Market (in every weekend) are also in short walking distances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing