We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cheap and social”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
Ranked #17 of 352 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean, cheap and social”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for four nights. We shared a double bunk in the dorm which at 250, 000 dong between us each night was great value considering a lovely breakfast of pancakes or eggs is included. Good sized under bed lockers, plenty of sockets and air con plus clean bathrooms, a decent bar with food and loads of drinks offers. Backpackers can't expect much more.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leigh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Hi Leigh, Thanks for your review of our Downtown hostel. We are really pleased you had a great time. Enjoy the rest of your travels. VBH Crew manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    138
    39
    13
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
52
126
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

This hostel is amazing, it's like a nightclub with bedrooms and that's the best way to describe it.

Our party of 3 arrived at the hostel at about 10.30, we were shattered and agreed that when we got there we'd get an early one and crash in bed. Upon walking into the lobby we thought we'd got the wrong place. The whole lobby was buzzing with people and a great atmosphere. We got shown to our room and everything was explained perfectly. Wifi, keys, checkout, breakfast, facilities etc.

We had a crazy first night and decided we'd stay an extra 3. The mixed dorms are like zoos depending what level of party animal you get put with. But it's all good fun if your willing to get stuck in and have no sleep.

Food was really good but portions weren't great and the prices were high compared to other restaurants on the street. Drinks were also over priced. 60,000 dong for a vodka and mixer isn't bad until you realise that you can buy a large bottle of vodka across the road for 70,000 dong. We did this most nights and took the vodka to our rooms.

They are happy to play all of the World Cup games no matter what time they are on which is good because there is a compete mix of nationalities in this hostel.

We'd also recommend a night in the lighthouse which is a club nearby. We got ripped off in a taxi the first night but the walk there is 5 mins so just ask somebody.

All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, they went out of their way to make sure you were happy. They also all seemed to love their jobs which is nice.

The whole place was really clean and the bathrooms were exceptionally clean for such large bathrooms.

Make sure you visit halong bay, a day trip can be booked at the booking office three doors down for half the price the hostel offer it for. However if you have the money make sure you do the castaway trip to halong bay. It looked and sounded amazing when booked through the hostel.

All in all if you're looking to meet loads of new people in a fun, lively hostel then book a few nights here.

All female dorms are a lot cleaner than mixed dorms.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlh_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi, Thanks for your recent review of our hostel. Really pleased you had a great time and all the bet for your future travel plans. VBH Crew manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights. It's the busiest hostel I've ever stayed in-day and night. It's great for a party, but not good in the day when you're hungover and struggling to find a place to sit down amongst the crowds. They organise tours and themed nights in the bar. The party in the hostel shuts down between 11 and 12 and everyone goes to a nearby pub/club, which is good for people who want to sleep in the hostel. You will love it or hate it here depending on what you're looking for. I loved it for partying and meeting people. Only 2 nights needed though as there's not a great deal to see in Hanoi.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Annette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi Annette, Thanks for your review of our hostel and I am pleased you 'loved it' whilst you stayed. All the best for your further travel plans. VBH Crew Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromma, Sweden
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

You want to stay with bunch of drunkard gap yah, young adults that come to travel just to party, drunk, and such, well, this place is perfect for you. 100% guaranteed.

You want to stay in a very generic hostel with no character, just like any other Western hostel or too afraid to stay in a Vietnamese-run hostel because they might probably cheat you (nope, never happened), well, this place is perfect for you. 100% guaranteed.

You want to feel like a posh kids or flashpackers who doesn't really mind pay $2-$4 extra for a dorm room that the a/c runs only in the evening during hot sunny day (compares to cheaper hostel around Hanoi that not stingy on their electricity), well, this place is perfect for you to feel like in a sauna room. 100% satisfying.

You want to stay in a place where the staff ambushed your room and telling you what to do, force you to get out and socialize with others while you just got back from wandering around Hanoi and still soaking sweat (and the a/c still not on), this place is 100% just for you.

You want to stay in a place the food are overpriced and not really that great, yeah, this place is just right for you. But this is not really a main factor as you actually can find better food with better price just outside of this hostel and around Old Quarters area. So yeah, don't bother about the food here.

Hohoho! "Oh I did the castaway HaLong Bay tour". Proud of it? Be proud of it, be proud of being stupid paying 2 to 3 times more. Yes, normally "you get what you pay" but with $100 less, you can get the same tour, same private island from another backpackers hostel. Applies to all of tour provided by this hostel - everything is sooooo expensive. Or if you don't really care about all the hypes, many places offers cheaper price too. But if you are one rich spoilt brat, go one, donate all your money to this hostel.

If you are anti-social, light sleeper, hate all the noise but still wanna be part of this hostel, well, you can. Make sure they put you on the higher floor as the lobby area will turn into "warzone" during happy hour - loud music, so much noise. 2nd floor is not a place to be.

The 3 good things about this hostel for me when I was here last year (yeap, it took me a while to remember which place I have not written a review yet):-

1) Toilet/bathroom - well, nothing much to complaint on this. Pretty clean and good. The water pressure and temperature was alright. Just I feel more like in a fret house. Hahaha!

2) Security. There's no way for non-residents to access to any of the room without the magnetic key.

3) Staffs - while the Vietnamese staffs did not appeared very friendly towards me (been told Vietnamese people doesn't really like dark skin people, heh?!) but the foreigners staffs were cool except the one that ambushed the dorm.

Room Tip: Need a good sleep in this hostel? Go higher than 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AsianEDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi there, Thanks for your recent review of our hostel. We welcome all reviews even if not positive so we can always continue to improve our services. Its a shame you didn't like our atmosphere of the hostel and we still hope you had a chance to enjoy what Hanoi has to offer. If you ever return we would like to suggest staying at our other hostel ''The Original'' which is much smaller and chilled out. All the best for your future travels. VBH Crew Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Very nice place to stay
Good location, good walking tour
Not a cheap backpackers but it is worth the extra
Very helpful staff with booking and extra excursions
Nice young vibe and feel good for partying and drinking
Safe and locker in the room

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank erlusby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi there, Thanks for your great review of our hostel. All the best for your future travels. VBH Crew Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you need a babysitter while arriving for the first time in Asia that's your place. They have plenty of extremely overpriced western meals and tours that will cost FOUR times the price of other tour agencies so it's good if you are too lazy to look for another tour and afraid of vietnamese agencies. The party is good indeed as there are many people and all willing to do it, but the beer even during happy hour cost TWICE as somewhere around on the streets.
Still great if you are just too young and is afraid of dealing with another culture but western but be ready to pay a lot for that and to not get to know the amazing vietnamese culture.
This hostel have nice things as is made for backpackers so it's very well made but it's just too overpriced,
the room cost TWICE as you would pay for every other hostel in Hanoi. You could get a nice hotel room instead.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thanks for your review of our hostel and we hope you enjoyed your stay in Hanoi. We accept that our dorm rooms are $1-$2 more then the really budget beds out there but we hope with all of our extra services, security, comfort and free choice of breakfast this more then makes up the cost. We appreciate this is not what everyone looks for though when on a tight budget. All the best for your future trips. VBH Crew Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Hanoi Backpackers Downtown is without a doubt the best hostel I've stayed in so far. So so many other backpackers here, so very easy to meet people with similar interests. Great party atmosphere every night- it's extremely difficult not to be tempted into drinking, especially with happy hour occurring several times a night and the very cheap and generous drinks.

The showers are great, work at whatever temperature you want them to. Different event happening each night aka beer pong night/pub quiz night etc.

The food is quite over-priced and not particularly that great. Also, we stayed on the 2nd floor and if you decide not to go out or drink, the music downstairs is extremely loud in the dorms. The tours are overpriced and apparently not very good at all, book with a travel agent a few doors down to the left of the hostel- much better & cheaper.

I would definitely recommended this to any sociable backpackers looking for a great night and to meet lots of other great people.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cimmmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
HI there,

Thanks for your recent review and we are really happy you had a great time in our hostel! All the best for your next adventure. VBH Crew Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#10 of 352 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#2 of 352 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Old Quarter
0.5 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#9 of 352 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Pho Hostel
Hanoi Pho Hostel
#7 of 352 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown

Property: Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
Address: 9 Ma May | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 352 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing